We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cotswolds Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Clanfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cotswolds Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay at The Plough. The staff made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms are very well equipped with water, squash, tea, coffee and biscuits. For once we didn't have to ask for an extra towel, robe, cup etc as our son was sharing with us. In fact we had triples of everything including shampoo. I would say that the roll away bed was really only suitable for a child not a third adult.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot dishes including Eggs Benedict, kippers and smoked salmon. The evening meal was also good, only the rather bland bread failing to make the mark.
The village is picture perfect and close to Burford and Witney, there is lots to do in the vicinity.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    83
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
38
184
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We unfortunately only stayed one night - would quite happily have stayed longer, from the moment we stepped out of the car and were speechless at the sheer beauty to walking in to be greeted and welcomed - it was all a pleasure. We were expertly signed in and shown our room, which was smartly decorated with every possible thing that we could have needed and I am sure that if we had needed anything that was not already in the room then the superbly helpful staff would have gone out of their way to find it for us - fortunately this was not necessary. Wonderfully comfortable bed, several types of tea and coffee, bottled water. Large room and amazingly clean bathroom with shower over the bath that felt like a warm waterfall. Towels that were large and fluffy - what more could a girl ask for.
We freshened up and then went down to the restaurant for our meal, the menu was carefully planned and the food was beautifully executed. Scallops with beetroot puree to start, lamb rump and sea bream were just so wonderfully cooked and presented with care and attention. Desserts were out of this world, and the coffee to finish was some of the best we have tasted. The staff were helpful and caring. We chose carefully from the extensive wine list - which was just like the food menu - clever and fabulous.
Would definitely love to revisit this charming hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as the hotel is in a quiet village setting with its own car park at the front, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PloughClanfield, Manager at The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Lindy Bow,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you appreciated every element and noticed all the finer touches that we do here at The Cotswold Plough to make peoples experience all the more special. We look forward to welcoming any one you recommend and yourselves one day soon.

Best wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely stay, enjoyed everything about this hotel. Perfect location, visually stunning. Stayed there for a wedding nearby. Our room was on the very top of the hotel, not recommended if you are disabled or unable to do stairs. Everything available as needed in our room. The hotel was full of rustic personality, quirky, quaint and full of antiquities. Great manager Ben, nothing was too small for him to deal with. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Enjoyed our evening meal, bit pricey but what you'd expect in a hotel of this caliber. Good selections of wine. Great selections gin and brandy, not that we had the time to try them. Don't expect a modern up to date hotel, but if you want great old world charm, full of history and intrigue this is the hotel to stay in. Loved it all

Room Tip: Don't stay in 11 or 12 if stairs are a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDLEIGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile


Stayed 2 nights Thursday 31st July and Friday 1st August. We stayed as a couple with long standing friends for 2 nights for a wedding at this charming beautiful hotel .

We would definitely return to this hotel. However, I really hope Ben will still be working his magic upon the place. What a fantastic guy, charm , efficiency, nothing too much trouble , all with a smile. We had a minor incident at 1 am as we returned from the wedding and Ben appeared and took it all in his stride with a smile. Night 2 we had a meal in the hotel which wAs very pleasant, although, as per previous review,the lady who took our order was not particularly suited to customer services as a little brusque . Ben took our wine order with his usual relaxed charm and efficiency.

As we were very tired we did not use the bar which looked wonderful with so much character. The Gin Pantry looked so interesting(especially as a Gin Drinker) and we had a brief look in the morning and met Martin the owner who gave us a very informative chat re some of the wonderful gins (and brandys) along with Ben.

To sum up, if u want a relaxing Cotswolds break in an interesting hotel with character with very clean rooms, a very pleasant restaurant and bar The Cotswold Plough is a good choice .
We will return sometime to sample some more of the hospitality .

Thanks again MArtin and Ben, delightful.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

From the welcome when I pulled up in the car park, to being escorted to my room, not just having an arm wafted in the general direction, it was perfect. The food was beautiful home cooked imaginative fare, not the usual 'pub grub' rubbish that I have to endure when away on business. The staff could not do enough to help and this is one of the nicest business stay aways that I've had. Thank you all

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank karenslater50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PloughClanfield, Manager at The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that your stay with us was one of the nicest business stays you have had. It is always great to get feedback and especially nice to read that you enjoyed the food, that you found the staff attentive and your room was sound. We look forward to welcoming you back should it be for business or a personal trip.

Best wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My parents very kindly paid for us to stay at The Plough on the evening after our wedding. The room was clean and tidy, the bed neatly made and very comfortable with dressing gowns laid nicely on the bed. We had a bottle of champagne to greet us in the room when we arrived, which was lovely.

In the morning the breakfast was delicious, well cooked and very tasty.

The staff were all very friendly and courteous.

The only slight negative (which is quite a petty point, and personal preference really) was that the shower heads were quite old and not particularly powerful.

We will be looking to book in for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbear1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PloughClanfield, Manager at The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you in a year’s time, if not before. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband & I have known this inn/hotel for many, many years but had not been in for some time - living further away now. We were staying in the Cotswolds with our children & were on our way back to our rental cottage, starving hungry & frantically trying to think where would be good for us all to eat.
I am so glad I remembered The Plough. What a delight to be back. The staff were all so friendly. Were very happy for us to dine in the restaurant with our children. And the food was excellent. As I write I'm trying to think why we didn't just go back every evening. A really good variety on the menu. My children were thrilled to see whitebait as a starter! Food was very high quality. Nicely presented. It's rare that we have 3 courses but as you could do a sharing plate starter we just felt it deserved us trying all courses.
There is the added bonus of the huge gin selection they stock. This might be best for those that are staying in the hotel.
I cannot comment on the rooms but would definitely come back to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabbie_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PloughClanfield, Manager at The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Cabbie
Thank you for taking the time to write. It was a delight to welcome you back to The Cotswold Plough and wonderful to hear that you selected one of our new sharing platter dishes. Hope to see you again soon?
Best wishes,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
4.1 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.1 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
15.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Plough at Kelmscott
The Plough at Kelmscott
#2 of 10 in Lechlade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bourton Road, Clanfield OX18 2RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Clanfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clanfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswold Plough is a perfect example of a 16th Century, stylish yet informal hotel. The hotel is perfectly located to explore landmark Cotswold towns, the rolling countryside and the Dreaming Spires of Oxford. Bampton, home to Downton Abbey, is right on the doorstep, Burford only 15 mins away and is the nearest hotel to Kelmscott Manor home to William Morris in 1878. The Cotswold Plough has 11 elegant, confortable and spacious en-suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar serving local ales, quality everyday dining options, open fires and a sunshine terrace for Al fresco dining. The hotel offers something for everyone all year round, with an idyllic charm that allows guests to relax in comfort and there is free Wifi throughout. The restaurant serves an a la cate menu of seasonal mouth-watering dishes. Whereas the bar offers a more traditional British menu and the hotel's most unique offering: a Gin Pantry with over 150 individual gins and an incomparable knowledge of these drinks and their accompaniments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cotswold Plough Hotel & Restaurant Clanfield, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing