We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid lunch for 30 people”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Eddie and Shirley took over the pub on Tuesday, and despite this managed to make sure that the lunch we had arranged with the previous managers went off without a hitch. We had a wonderful roast ham with a lovely selection of vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding served on hot plates. Good service, and a pleasant room.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I didn't actually stay at the hotel, but we were looking for somewhere to go for a pleasant drink in faringdon.
The service was incredibly slow. We tried to find somewhere to sit, but one room had lots of chairs piled on tables so we went outside. Had to walk through a cloud of smoke to find a table in the garden, then had to sit on a slope which meant we slid down from one end of the bench to the other.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinejmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights 15th to 17th July 2013 and ate in each night. The hotel could do with a lot of money spent on it but that said, it met all our needs and the position in this lovely town/ village couldn't be better being on the square in the middle of town. The food was good and very reasonably priced. The staff however were just fabulous. Our praise in particular went to the husband and wife team managing the hotel whilst the owners were away. They were terrific and kept their spark and humour despite the very very hot weather experienced in the UK at the time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank speakjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked this hotel last minute, travelling on 13 July 2013 with a family and our dog. Mel & Eddie were lovely, from taking our booking over the phone to the minute we left. Our room was very light and spacious, having a double bed and two twin beds. The bathroom was a very good size which was spotlessly clean with lovely white towels. We ate in the restaurant, food lovely and breakfast very filling. Eddie was very helpful regarding places to go and Mel was brilliant with my children and our dog (cooking extra sausages so he could be spoilt!!). It showed they obviously work very hard to acheive a good standard hotel which we found to be very clean and accommadating. There was live music on, you could very faintly hear it from our room but wouldn't say it caused us a problem one little bit. We enjoyed listening to it while having a drink outside on what was a lovely summers evening. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WILSON11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked a family room in this hotel this week. The welcome from the manageress was friendly enough. However, the room was very old and dilapidated, smelled musty, and was clearly only superficially clean - only the obvious things had been cleaned, and other things had clearly not been cleaned for a long time, such as around the shower tray, the wall tiles, etc. The bathroom floor was carpeted with an ancient, threadbare red carpet which looked frankly disgusting. Worst of all, on returning to the room at around 9.30 pm to put our young children to bed, we discovered there was very loud live music immediately below our room, and were told that the band would not be finishing before 11.30 pm. With no hope of any of us getting any sleep before then, we requested a room change. We were subsequently offered a room on the second floor which we accepted as it was much quieter. However, once we were in the room, we saw that it was in an appalling state - holes in the walls, cobwebs, a really strong smell of cat urine, and generally very dirty as once again, it had only been superficially cleaned and there was a lot of accumulated dirt on many surfaces. The shower and bathroom were particularly dirty and unhygienic. The shower (no bath) produced only stone-cold water, and the ventilation available was minimal - small windows and no air-con, and the room was very hot and stuffy. Most disturbing of all was that the only access to the room was via a single steep, narrow staircase back down to the first floor. The prospect of a fire in the hotel in the middle of the night with two small children did not bear thinking about - we were amazed that it could possibly pass a fire-safety inspection. All in all, with the dirty, the terrible smell, the heat and stuffiness, and the fire risk, we decided that we could not spend the night there, and left the hotel at 10:30 pm. The manageress gave us a partial refund, keeping 25% of the money we had paid, telling us that the website through which we had booked made a charge for each booking, and so she could not give us all our money back.

I can honestly say that this is the dirtiest, smelliest hotel I have stayed in - and I have travelled a lot in many countries around the world - definitely a hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If anyone has visited this part of the world before then you know it is practically impossible to get bed and breakfast for under £100.00. The Bell costs £70.00 for a double room and you will not get better value for money this side of the Cotswolds. Spotlessly clean rooms, towels, tea and coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, lashings of hot water and a great wifi reception. A superb breakfast and the Scottish chef will even give you his recipe for his home made potato scones. Mel and Eddie who manage this hotel will go out of their way to help in any way they can. Nothing is too much trouble you only have to ask. Mel even helped me up the stairs as I was on crutches. Will certainly return when down that way again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Christineboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at The Bell Hotel for one night on 29.06.13 We received a warm welcome on our arrival. The room was clean and comfortable, the courtyard is a very pleasant place to have a meal,if the sun is shinning but pleanty of room inside if the weather is more British.
The hotel Staff were very helpful even to the extent of driving us to a camp site near by when a taxi could not be booked for the journey.
Overall a good stay at The Bell Hotel.
A & K

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilyf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faringdon
0.0 mi away
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Old Crown Coaching Inn
#3 of 4 in Faringdon
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
348 reviews
6.0 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,672 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
259 reviews
9.0 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 13 Market Place, Faringdon SN7 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Faringdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Faringdon
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Faringdon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing