We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$87
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sudbury House(Faringdon)
US$134
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Inn(Wantage)
US$136
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Swindon)
US$112
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Fairford)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Hotel(Wantage)
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
49
60
23
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
60
23
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuneven floorsthe pubold buildingmarket squarebangerscar park at the backfull english breakfastfriendly localsgreat night's sleepwifi signalsteep stairsbooked nightscooked perfectlyenglish hotelcomfy roomlovely old hotellovely lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

While staying at another hotel in the area we wandered into The Bell for a drink, we were greeted by Mark (the manager) and after a cheerful chat with him we decided to eat there later that evening. Upon entry there were tables to choose from we chose one that had a view over the market place,we ordered and had a drink, my wife had Risotto and I chose the D cut Gammon. Mark came over to ask how things were and I said that after eating in many different places on our travels this was if not the best then very close (why is it so hard to get good food).
The visit inspired us to book to stay on the 29th of June (2014) taking our Jack Russel with us, we drove into the car park to be greeted by a cheerful Mark who signed us in and showed us to our room overlooking the market square, everything was good with the bed giving us an excellent nights sleep. The food again was good and over drinks afterwards we got talking to some locals, a good evening. The breakfast was very good, the full English using local produce filled me up and it was with regret that I had to leave a slice of toast.
Bear in mind that The Bell is very, very old and with there being a recent change of ownership updates/refurbishment are planned. The place has character in spades, love it, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ring and they will help you
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Muggins B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I turned off into Faringdon to stop off for lunch somewhere. This small town has a number of venues which were all very disappointing so went to the hotel.
It is not very big and dark inside from the wooden decor but it is not pretentious and has an olde worlde feel about it. You can imagine a big old grandfather clock ticking away somewhere.
So we are in what is the pub area sat at old fashioned tables. The menu was good and we decided to have baguettes and sandwiches. What arrived was a real treat. Huge chunks of bread and french stick very genourously filled with salad and a few chunky chips to go with it. Better than most chain outlets serving the same and at a very reasonable price.
Smarten the place , give it a bit of zing without modernising it and it would be a little treasure.
Did not see the accommodation so cannot comment there but the tariffs seemed reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I am currently staying at the bell hotel for about six weeks. The hotel is very old and it does need a lot of T.L.C. The management are planning on improvements in the near future. I have seen inside many of the rooms and they all have their individual charm. The first thing you will notice are the twisted floors and the squeaky boards. You just have to be a little careful on your feet. Some rooms do not have showers and the plumbing can be a little temperamental. The rooms have sky TV but the telly's are old and small. Wi-Fi can be a little patchy.
On the positive the staff are very friendly and will move you to another room if you do encounter any problems., the full English breakfast is fantastic , meals are very tasty. Families and dogs are welcome. You may even get to meet the resident ghosts. Do not expect five star rooms but this is more then made up by five star service.

Room Tip: If you are unsteady on your feet make sure you do not have one of the rooms on the third floor ,as the stairs are narrow and steep.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salty6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Did not reach expectations set by recent reviews. Decor was tired, room overheated by CH pipes, sash window would not stay open, curtain rail hanging off wall so curtains would not fully draw closed,excessive noise from street up to midnight. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjstewart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a Beautiful Hotel with bundles of charm.
From the Bar with the amazing art work where you can try and find the 9 hidden mice on the walls to the bowing floors on the landing, this hotel is full of history
We felt so welcomed from the moment we walked in from the Landlord to the locals; it is a very easy going hotel
The Hotel is situated within the Market square which has lovely little boutiques and the best bakery I have ever had.
There are lots to do and see in this town and surrounding arrears, we stayed from Friday through to Sunday and there are still things I would like to see and visit
The Saturday night we were there they had an fantastic Jazz band in the court yard with a BBQ, The atmosphere was great.

As in previous reviews, the Youths in the street after a night out are a pain and noisy at night, but this would not put me off staying again
The rooms do need a little attention, but as stated the new Landlord is working on this.
The best part of our stay I have to say is the breakfast, AMAZING !!!!! I am missing the Sausages already

Overall, we really loved our stay and Mark and Sarah were such friendly hosts. I would recommend to anyone wanting a friendly couple of nights in a good pub.
Thank you :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovely2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews