We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Bell Hotel(Faringdon)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sudbury House(Faringdon)
US$132
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Inn(Wantage)
US$196
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Hotel(Wantage)
US$126
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crown Inn(Swindon)
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Fairford)
US$196
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
77
72
54
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
72
54
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourt roomold buildingfull englishroast potatoesopen fireseparate showerspacious roomgood nights sleepspecial occasioncharacterpubcorridortlclandlordalesrear
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were overall a little disappointed with our stay here.
It seemed to be seriously lacking the potential of this strategically placed historic coaching inn, in Faringdon.
The dinner menu was very underwhelming... and very basic. The starter fish cakes were tastily fishy so we upped our opinion a little at this point. Then, the cod and chips @ £5.95 was basic, ok but very small fish and underwhelming overall.
The gammon steak @ £10.95 was served with tinned mushrooms, for goodness sake and was a poor value, dull dish. As for the white wine... that is best avoided.
The courtyard is pleasant if the weather is but the furniture is hardly comfortable for lingering over dinner and drinks. There is silly signage - somewhat unnecessary - about 'no smoking' under a small roofed portion of the courtyard because it is illegal to smoke indoors; somewhat petty! We found the staff to be very friendly and efficient though and we could hardly blame them for any of the inadequacies we came across during our stay. With the courtyard terrace open until midnight and with our room overlooking it... which seemed nice enough at first sight, we were less happy to discover that through our single glazed window we had to endure a group of screaming, high pitched women drinking and whooping it up below us when we wanted an early night in preparation for our onward journey the next day. Then we found that our walls were paper-thin and that the hotel's plumbing is very noisy yet we were very impressed with the amazingly good and powerful shower that couldn't be bettered. Oh... but the toilet seat..... it just would not stay up! The beds are very narrow which is yet another serious minus point.
The breakfast is likewise underwhelming, with very basic ingredients used. The coffee is unspectacular too but the juices - orange and apple were ok.
So, overall there is a lot of room for improvement as the negatives take the edge off the good features.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid views over the courtyard unless double-glazing has been fitted!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I am very surprised at some of your comments, considering the reviews either side of it. The £5.95 cod and chips is a lunchtime meal and is NOT on our dinner menu so you would not have ordered it during the evening. In the evening we offer an 8oz fresh code fillet at £9.95. I can assure you that we NEVER serve tinned mushrooms! Not sure what was basic about the breakfast - you didn't say. We use quality Lavazza coffee and receive high praise for it - but coffee is a matter of personal taste. Our house wine is basic and priced at only £7.45. We also stock a wide range of superior wines at higher prices.
As the building is 500 years old and is a coaching inn the rooms are arranged around a courtyard and there is inevitably noise from customers. However as we close at 11pm during the week and midnight at the weekend we don't normally receive adverse comments about this. As to smoking in a designated 'no smoking' area - No comment -it's the law!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Myself and my husband went away for a short break for a surprise 50th birthday treat for my husband and stayed in the Court Room. Only downfall for this break was that it wasn't long enough. Best night sleep in years. Very friendly staff, plenty of character in this 16th century Inn. Absolutely loved the huge spa bath with the inbuilt light. Had a nice lunch when we arrived and a lovely evening meal and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. Would definately recommend and hope to stay again soon. Ask for the information on the tarot reading of the Inn and local history. Very interesting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debchall4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Didn't experience any other part of the hotel but the rooms as I travel on business and after a busy day I like to relax watching telly.

The chap on reception was charming and help carry my bags to my room - thank you...

My room was very average. A cheap bedside lamp and a dirty digital alarm clock adorned the pine bedside cabinet. The mattresses are low quality and 'ping' when you move around on them. The carpet is very dated and not in keeping with a smart bedroom. My room needed refurbishing to remove the many scratches and chips and some of the light bulbs in the ceiling light didn't work.

I understand that this is an old coaching inn but peoples expectations are so much higher these days and all rooms should be smartly decorated and finished.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Sir
Would you please contact me directly oldcrown@relaxinnz.co.uk letting me know the date of your stay and room number so that I can look into your comments and take necessary action.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed recently on a midweek break .The staff are very friendly and helpful the food is very good and the beer kept very well ! Our room was very large and very comfortable and did not lack anything .I would stay here again as the location is perfect and not to far from London.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Faringdon" a larger room overlooking the square but recommended.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our second visit here and The Old Crown is still a great place to stay. The place is steeped with old charm as you would expect for a building with its history.
The rooms are clean and a nice size with comfy beds.
We ate in the bar and although a limited menu the food was excellent and generous. Would love to return when the weather is warmer and make full use of the lovely courtyard.
The staff all were fantastic, great personalities throughout.
We will be back (especially if Tyla does another gig there)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanB1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews