We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moat End B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crown and Cushion Hotel(Chipping Norton)
US$119
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$175
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
US$767
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
51
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hostsfeel very welcomebeautiful roomstay there againmikeponiesbreakfastcotswoldsdogoxford
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed here over the August bank holiday weekend with a couple of friends.

The B&B is in Kingham - walking distance from the Kingham Plough and a short drive to the Fox Inn at Lower Oddington which is why we chose it. Kingham is a great base for accessing the Cotswold villages and a number of walks as well. Daylesford Organic Farm  is also nearby if you happen to be going to a yoga class, the spa or a cooking lesson there.

Moat End is a nice B&B. The rooms are traditional in style, and very clean. Breakfast was fine too - plenty of options to choose from (putting your request in the night before).  

We were the only guests at the time so we had the living room to ourselves in the evening when we got back from dinner which was fortunate.

The hosts were helpful in providing maps and guides for different country walks when we mentioned our plans for the day.

It's worth noting that guests are not encouraged to linger or relax in the B&B during the day so might not be the best option for some visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Could not fault this place on anything. Super welcome, we were made to feel home immediately. The rooms are spacious, super clean and the breakfast was to die for. Nothing seems to much of a problem for any of our requests. I don t believe even the most critical amongst us won t be dissapointed here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polar7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have rated this B&B excellent in every category - what more to say. What stood out for me was how friendly and welcoming the owners are and the attention to detail which takes a rating from very good to excellent.

I would have no hesitation in either recommending it or staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My friend booked the Moat End b&b because we wanted to stay locally overnight before doing a cookery and spa day at Daylesford shop, cafe and spa.

As soon as we arrived Mike came out to greet us and took our baggage upstairs. It was the kind of greeting and personal service you often don't get from 4 star hotels. His wife Gwyn was equally welcoming and showed me to my comfortable room, a double for single occupancy. It was nicely furnished in a contemporary style and very clean. It has a good shower, plenty of hot water, in built wardrobe, tea and coffee making facilities and a television. In addtion, a fabulous view over the fields.

The b&b has only 3 guest rooms (2 doubles, 1 twin) and it feels as if you are visiting the house of friends, it is warm and intimate without being intrusive. It's a family home with lots of lovely family pictures everywhere.

There was a form in the room on which to choose your breakfast, with every possible option including smoked salmon and scrambled egg, at no extra cost.

Mike and Gwyn went out and left us to it, giving us a front door key in case we came in late.

We went out for dinner (to the excellent Tollgate Inn in the village) came back by 10.00 for an early night. We all slept very well, it was so quiet because the house is not on a road, it's down a cul de sac. Breakfast the next morning was perfectly cooked. I had two excellent softly boiled eggs from their own chickens, they were utterly delicious.

You felt that Mike and Gwyn really wanted to make sure your stay was exactly as you wanted it and they couldn't do enough to please us. Mike even came upstairs to take our bags to the car.

We would definitely stay there again and wholeheartedly recommend the Moat End b&b to everyone.

Room Tip: Double or twin, equally good, One of the doubles is bigger than the other.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesPardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Amazing breakfast with local produce, owners are very welcoming,friendly and.helpful, rooms are lovely and bed is comfy, would highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceysargeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews