We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dinning”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine Dinning”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in the country. The warm welcome was exceptional in fact the whole of the staff are there to please. The food at all meals was fine dinning with top quality ingredients, presentation and taste. A good wine selection. We were a party of 13 and everyone enjoyed their stay. The only down side was that some of the bedrooms needed to be improved (which is on their schedule).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millhousesales, Reception at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad your party enjoyed the stay and hope you will visit us again. As you say we are updating our rooms and have already refurbished quite a lot of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    128
    48
    27
    26
See reviews for
79
241
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for a reunion weekend my room was on the ground floor with views of the surrounding parkland it was a pleasant double and vey clean. The meals were very good and pleasantly served. the ownwers were welcoming and nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have problems with stairs as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurySusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millhousesales, Reception at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter bank holiday weekend and had a wonderful time from start to finish. The hotel is situated in lovely grounds and is ideally located for travelling in and around the Cotswolds. The hotel was extremely clean throughout, our room (number 6) was a good size with a brand new bathroom. The family running the hotel were excellent and the food was exceptional. We enjoyed a delicious cream tea on arrival, the three course dinner was superb and the cooked breakfasts were served to order, which was a nice change from the usual buffet style. My boyfriend was particularly impressed with the breakfast, and he's usually fussy.
The hotel bar is well decorated and reasonably priced and we would like to say a special thank you to James for being especially accommodating.
Whilst Kingham itself is a very small village it served as a perfect base from which to travel around and we hope to return to the Mill House soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHals123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millhousesales, Reception at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Mill House Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your refurbished room. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I have just arrived home from a 3 day break at the Mill house Hotel. We have had an amazing time. The room was spotless with a garden view, the food was out of this world, even though the chefs had been under pressure because of staff shortage, we heard afterwards ,and, when my husband was unwell I was given the number of the local GP for advice. All members of staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, tending to our every need, in fact SIMPLY THE BEST, Thank you all. Mary and Arthur Jarvis.

Room Tip: I believe some of the rooms have recently been refurbished, ours hadn't been but was perfectly c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millhousesales, Reception at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Jarvis

Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you staying in the hotel and we hope it won't be too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and a group of friends dropped into the bar at this hotel for drinks and a snack. We were only there briefly, but the place looked extremely well-kept, in lovely settings, and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. This is the sort of place that would probably be great for a romantic weekend getaway to the Cotswolds and based on this one impression alone, I'd choose it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EsJayonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millhousesales, Reception at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely write up - we hope we may welcome you back for a "romantic weekend break" in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I have to say, I was somewhat disappointed . As most reviews say, this is a lovely place, super setting etc. however, there had been a wedding the day before we arrived and that meant rooms were not ready for us till late in the afternoon. At dinner time that evening, the wine we chose was not available.Also as reviews have said, the staff were very courteous and helpful, but we became a little tired of hearing them saying " sorry" constantly and not just to our group. The food do service were good as were the rooms. Hopefully, we were just unlucky that they were not organized for a big event.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christineb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We originally went to the Mill House Hotel about 10 yrs ago and whilst we had a good time the hotel looked jaded and everything was a little quirky.

We have just returned from a cracking 2 day easter break and this is now (under new ownership) developing into a first class hotel and restaurant. The new owners, John and Maria are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We greatly enjoyed two dinners and the breakfasts are as good as anything I have had in the last 5 yrs. The staff are so friendly and the location is ideal for exploring the Cotswolds.

The rooms are being refurbished asart of a longer term cycle which will take time. The priority has been to greatly improve the bar area (a new bar area where a sitting room used to be) and the immediate outside area. The latter should be a delight in the summer.

We cannot wait to go back and are looking for offers in the summer and Xmas. We cannot think of a better place to stay for the money and many thanks for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodiesHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millhousesales, Reception at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,072 reviews
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Property: Mill House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham
Mill House Hotel Kingham, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing