We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a wedding at nearby Notley Abbey.

I've given it 4 out of 5, which is probably a tad harsh, as it certainly ranks as one of the more finer places we've stayed. It loses a mark however, harshly perhaps - but with some justification, for making us change in the gym changing rooms when we arrived at midday - check-in was at 2pm, the wedding was at 2.

Having driven from London that morning we were still to get ready, some other guests who did the same as us were allocated their rooms, we weren't however. I get that our room 'wasn't ready' but it's marginally annoying being made to dress in a changing room. And yes, I also get it could be our fault for not stating this when booking. But you like adaptability too!

The staff were accommodating in agreeing to take our heavy bags up to our room in advance of our weary return some 12 hours later..!! Fair play.

Rooms were spacious, bed was huge - and comfortable. Bathroom excellent and lovely view on the balcony overlooking the golf course. A shame I didn't get to use the golf course- looked immense. Breakfast also of good quality and a worthy mention. Staff polite and helpful.

Didn't do the spa either - as you can't rate 'didn't do', I've unhelpfully guessed (based on pics and general hotel ambiance)!

All in all, very pleasant - and a well presented place. Would reconsider staying here again if I'm on a lads golfing trip or back in the area for a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    253
    104
    30
    38
See reviews for
81
325
12
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell Englan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay to meet family and have dinner very much. Lovely big room overlooking golf course. Excellent staff and good food too. The only minor thing was in the afternoon we could only get coffee and tea not afternoon tea, not even a scone. Apparently this is only for those on a golf package. A bit disappointing and coffee bar closed too. We had a sandwich instead of afternoon tea which was nice but not exactly what we expected. We will definitely come again because it is such a lovely new hotel and very peaceful. A bit difficult to find our way round.

Room Tip: They are probably all good! Nice to overlook the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rencat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The drive into the grounds of the hotel is very pretty; ruined only by the golfers! (I am not a golfer).
The staff were courteous and helpful, the room was large with a huge king size bed. We had dinner in the room, very good food. We did not hear noise from any other rooms so we had a blissful nights' sleep.
Breakfast was really good in the morning, albeit they took their time with the coffee but it was worth it - good and strong.
I was delivering a half day seminar and the events staff were also great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a haven this lovely hotel truly is. Set in peaceful countryside not too far from Oxford with wonderful views,its somewhere you can go to really relax and "get away from it all". We stayed in a suite which was really stunning, with a separate lounge area,bedroom and bathroom all beautifully furnished and decorated. The food in both the lounge bar and restaurant was really good and tasty, and all the staff, from the lovely helpful Beth on reception to the cheerful and very efficient ladies who oversee housekeeping, deserve commendation for customer care. We had a problem with our shower which was resolved in less than fifteen minutes of us reporting it!! Excellent hotel, excellent staff, we would definitely recommend and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveysprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alveston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We had a Nice room but the hotel Is a bit dated now in the main bar areas. Didn't help being locked out at 1am for half an hour as there was no night porter to let us in as we had been assured there would be! Lovely views - this hotel could and should be amazing. But sadly it's not.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkPed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I selected this hotel due to it's proximity to Chinnor RFC where my local team was playing. I'm not a golfer so cannot comment on the quality of the course but the hotel was excellent. The staff were really welcoming. The quality of the rooms was amazing, the room was large and I would liked to take the bathroom home with me. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and I was happy with the selection of food available and it's quality. The service in the restaurant was fantastic. The self service breakfast was good with great views over the golf course. The gym was well equipped and the only slight critisism I have is that the pool was overly chlorined. I'd certainly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a deal with groupon for this hotel so I took my husband for his birthday.
Included in the package was wine in our room on arrival, afternoon tea, breakfast and 20% of any spa treatments.
What a deal it was!
The hotel was beautiful, our room was stunning. Massive bed, large bathroom with separate bath and shower and private balcony.It was spotlessly clean and comfy. I often struggle to sleep in unfamiliar places but there was no trouble of this here as the Bed was sooooo comfortable!
We had a bottle of wine in our room which was lovely and then made our way for afternoon tea.
It was in the lounge which had beautiful views of the golf course and beyond with floor to ceiling windows and the afternoon tea was lovely. A selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes with a glass of prosecco and ice cream. Yummy!
We had booked to have full body massages in the spa so made our way down the the spa area. The massage was lovely and relaxing and afterwards we chilled out by the pool making use of the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, lovely! Again spotlessly clean everywhere and not too busy so very relaxing.
We had booked the restaurant for 9pm and service was quick and efficient and the food was AMAZING! Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
Breakfast was buffet style but again cannot fault it at all. It was hot and delicious with orders taken for toast and tea or coffee.
All in all a really lovely hotel which I would recommend to anyone and wish we had booked for more than one night!
Would I return, DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisamarieHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,678 reviews
9.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
24.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Property: The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing