We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for a spa treat with a friend. Even before we arrived, the staff were helpful by obtaining the cost of a taxi from the station to the hotel and booking a car to collect us. We were able to check in and use the spa facilities as soon as we arrived and for as long as we wanted the day after (on a previous spa break at another hotel we could only use the facilities between 3pm on the day of arrival until 11am - the check out time - the following day). The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous food and service in the restaurant. Only one thing was a let down and that was the condition of the changing room - when we arrived to use the spa around 2pm there were used slippers all over the floor (and I'm talking a dozen or more pairs!) and the towel bin was overflowing - it was several hours before I saw a member of staff emptying the towel bin. More regular checks of the changing rooms should be made to keep it tidy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teabags157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear teabags157,
Thanks for your feed back; I'm pleased to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your spa break. Please be assured your comments regarding the pool changing rooms has been passed to the club manager. We hope to see you here again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

896 - 902 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked a spa day package for two for my girlfriends birthday at the oxford belfry. I contacted them asking what they offered and was given some brilliant advice on what to book. On the day we arrived in the morning to make a day of it and was shown around the facilities by a very happy spa receptionist. We played tennis on some very quiet courts (if I was being picky they could have been of a better quality, but they did the job!), before having lunch, where there was a huge selection of foods and was spoilt for choice. After lunch we enjoyed our massages and used the spa facilities, which again you couldn't fault. Overall it was a brilliant day, great value for money and we would definitely visit again, maybe next time book a room too! Have to say a big thank you to the manager Peter, who I spoke to on the phone and on the day, was a big help!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Nathan B,
Glad to hear you were looked after so well by Pete and the team and enjoyed your day in the spa. Do keep an eye on the website for the latest spa offers and hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was out first weekend away for some time and were thoroughly looking forward to our trip away. We weren't disappointed. The hotel was very easy to find off the motorway. We received a warm welcome which is always nice. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating.

We had a standard double room, but were very impressed with the space that we had in the room. A bath and shower, which is impressive.

The grounds were beautiful.

One thing that was disappointing was that after rooms were cleaned, glasses from the rooms seemed to be left in the corridors by the cleaners. Not a big deal, but a shame.

We really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Only down side, was how far it was from Oxford itself, but that's not the fault of the hotel. £30 by taxi. I recommend you Google taxi companies as they are cheaper than the ones that the hotel recommends. Just an idea.

Breakfast was very good too, plenty of choice and very tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daillew60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear daillew60,
Thanks for your comments; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary break with us. Just a note re transport to Oxford; it can be done more cost effectively if you get a taxi to the park and ride and then use the bus which takes you right into the heart of Oxford. If you've got a car with you, we'd always recommend using the park and ride into Oxford anyway.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a long weekend break with 11 friends. Rooms spacious, food excellent, spa treatments were great. Restaurant and bar staff very helpful and friendly - we were a noisy bunch! Christian, Robi and James were wonderful. The only slight niggle was the price of some of the food on the bar menu, we felt the sandwiches were very overpriced and the jacket potatoes were tiny.
If I owned the hotel I would alter the swimming pool area to allow outside access so sunbeds and chairs could be used by the spa patrons without having to go through the main hotel.

Room Tip: I assume they are all good, the hotel has lots of corridors so it's easy to get lost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Kath E,
Thanks for your review; I'm delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your spa break with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Dear AylesburyDiver_Girl, (previous review)
Sorry, hit the submit button in error before posting a reply! Thanks for your lovely comments too; glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A wonderful relaxing weekend of pampering, food and wine. The hotel is excellent, the restaurant is lovely, the staff are wonderful.
We booked through Spa Breaks for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast plus one 1/2 hour treatment (a facial) and one Q Ritual (a back scrub and back, leg and foot massage. Utter bliss!! And only 15 minutes' drive from home.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back away from the constant hum of the M40.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AylesburyDiver_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear AylesburyDiver_Girl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My friend and I booked the spa break which included a treatment, lunch, dinner, breakfast and a nights stay at the hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly and helpful check in staff. We arrived around lunch time and were told our room was ready, which was a bonus.

Our room was very clean, spacious and had everything you need. The buffet lunch and breakfast was very good value for money. Dinner wasn't as good as we were expecting but the waiters were very friendly and attentive.

Our massage was very relaxing and the spa facilities were good. Luckily every time we used the spa facilities (pool, steam room and sauna) there were only a couple of other people using it, which made it a lot more enjoyable!

We would definitely recommend the spa break at the Oxford Belfry and we will be returning in the future!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gemma_B45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Gemma_B45,
Thanks for your review; I'm delighted that you and your friend enjoyed your spa break with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

A nice room, great beds, good amenity's such as tea coffee fancy biscuits and a tv. Not much more to ask for.
The bathroom is big with a bath in one corner and a shower in the other.
The hotel has a pool and gym, a decent bar and the restaurant seems fairly standard. I found that portions from the restaurant seemed fairly large and was delighted that the meat was fresh. Breakfast was a buffet but there was plenty of it and plenty of space to serve yourself. Coffee could have been a bit nicer at this point though as it did not seem to be filter.
The service was quick and bar staff were very attentive.
If i had to pick fault its that my room was a good walk down a convoluted set of corridors so you may want to raise that if you have issues walking. Also internet really needs to be faster in places like this!

All in all a comfy and enjoyable stay and i will chose this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank benfuller321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear benfuller321,
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; thank you for your comments and we hope that you'll come back and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,850 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range: £92 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing