We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 7 friends as part of a spa break package for my hen weekend. The package included D,B&B for two nights with lunch on Saturday and 2 spa treatments. Excellent value for money. The rooms were of a good size and clean. There was a calm atmosphere in the hotel and all public areas were clean and tidy. The food was excellent. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the service exceptional. The staff allowed some of my friends to decorate my bedroom (as the bride to be) which was a very pleasant surprise and they didn't mind clearing up all the confetti! The spa treatments were excellent. Everything about the weekend went according to plan. All the staff certainly made sure we had a great experience and in particular Liam, the Restaurant Manager, Mary, our waitress for both evening meals, and Kristian, a bar waiter, stood out for us. Nothing was too much bother and they gave that little bit extra. Thank you very much for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Chasda,
Fantastic comments, thank you so much. I'm delighted that your hen weekend was such a success and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    568
    231
    100
    60
See reviews for
228
629
36
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

When we arrived in a "disabled" room we found a shower above the bath an inadequate rails for support. However the staff quickly moved us to a more suitable room. This one has a good wet room but the main room was very basic, no proper wardrobe, just a cupboard with a curtain and too narrow for the hangers. There was little other storage and so we had to live out of the suitcase. The room was bare of wall decorations and appeared very tired. The hotel have no superior rooms for the disabled so once again it is take it or leave it. However the staff were incredible helpful and accommodating and did all they could to make the stay as good as possible. Again there were no toppers and our son brought one down to us when he came for a family celebration the next day. The access around the hotel was good with plenty of ramps and disabled friendly doors and the gym and pool were carefully thought out with a good changing room and access. The restaurant staff were very helpful and catered for my food allergies and the food was good. For a four star hotel the room was very poor but the rest of the hotel was good.

Room Tip: we were moved to room 191 with a good wet room but poor storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a problem when shown the room a laterooms advisor had arranged, which although it had some grab rails only had a shower over the bath. We were pleased that we were quickly provided with another room with a wet room shower, which was very good.
However we felt that a 4* star hotel should have provided a proper wardrobe rather than a small hanging rail with curtain not deep enough for the hangers to sit straight. We were obliged to leave some clothes in the suitcase due to very limited drawer space. I was also disappointed that there was not one picture in the room.

Pro points
Lots of ramps around the hotel enabling access to the leisure facilities, bar etc
At least 4 disabled parking spaces, 1 right next to the entrance ramp.
High quality restaurant and bar food, including breakfast - good seats with arms
Friendly, helpful staff. - ready to offer help with breakfast buffet for elderly or disabled.
Warm swimming pool and hot sauna.

Con
Expensive spa treatments
No air conditioning in the rooms and couldn't work out how to turn off the heated towel rail when the room was too hot!
No toppers available in the hotel if mattress was too firm.

Room Tip: Room 191 is accessible but has a shower only in the bath on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paralimni_CyprusAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Paralimni,
Thanks for your comments regarding your stay. To confirm, we have accessible rooms with different levels of accessibility, so it is always helpful if specific requirements can be discussed with our guests prior to arrival so that appropriate rooms can be allocated. However, I'm pleased to hear that we were able to resolve this for you on arrival and arrange a bedroom that was most appropriate for what you needed.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Reception were lovely- upgrade to a huge room with a jacuzzi bath, which we did try (took 25mins to fill so don't get carried away and sit in too early you will get chilly :-)
Meal both evenings was good (service on the first was quicker as it was quiet) Took our deserts to our room as could finish at the time, bless the waiter who desperately tried to get someone to take them to our room for us but we were fine carrying them ourselves.
the treatments were lovely and the spa lounge was a really good idea and a nice atmosphere!!! If you are booking a spa day to sit by the pool for hours the pool area is not quite suited to that- i'm not complaining but that was not the particular strength of this hotel. (i work at a spa hotel that has a lovely pool area but the treatment facilities are lacking compared to the oxford belfry)
We were going to take our dog but found a sitter but looks like she would have been happy enough there- couple of outside spaces for her to wander and i imagine if it wasn't busy they wouldn't have minded her in the garden bits maybe not if there were weddings/functions

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear sophie f,
I'm glad you enjoyed your short break with us; thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just come back from a two night stay at the belfry,although we don't usually stay at this type of hotel we prefer smaller more personal accommodation we were very impressed . On checking in we received a free upgrade (first time ever) and found all the staff very polite and helpful , the room was large and had a nice view (room 350) the bathroom had a bath and shower and the water pressure although a little low was hardly a problem.We did not have a evening meal here but the choice at breakfast was superb. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear paulgreer,
Thanks for your feed back; I'm pleased to hear that your new experience worked out well for you. We hope you'll come back and stay again or try one of our other QHotels.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheam, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is my second visit but this time it was totally for pleasure. I spent Sunday afternoon and almost the whole day on the Monday in this very comfortable hotel. My friend and I treated ourselves to the Spa package and were not disappointed at all. Everything was made available to us immediately we arrived, despite being there at least 2 hours before the regular check in time. The staff throughout the hotel are exceptional and have totally embraced the service culture. Absolutely not one thing was too much trouble and the management should be very proud of the way their training is adhered to by every single member of staff with whom we came into contact. We weren't questioned at all when we wanted to spend time in the spa on the day of our departure, unlike a lot of other places we've visited on this type of break. Great value for money in a beautiful part of Great Britain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Tiggsy,
Great feed back, thank you so much. Your experience is exactly what we try and achieve here and it looks like we got it right! I'm delighted you enjoyed your spa break and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend, staff were friendly at check in. Our standard room was big and the bathroom really big (which I was pleased about). Shame that the shower had hardly any power - but it was clean and that is a minor point.

We were going to have dinner at the restaurant but they were fully booked which was a shame - so we ate in the bar instead.

Breakfast was included in the rate we paid and plentiful :-)

Check out had a little wait and we requested the VIP discount booklet for Bicester as we were going shopping afterwards which was provided.

All in all, good stay :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bathroom :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveandsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear loveandsmiles,
Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Oxford Belfry and I hope that you had a successful shopping trip to Bicester Designer Shopping Village!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
22.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing