We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

6 of us girls went here for a relaxing night and got a package for £99 including room, wine, lunch, treatment 3 course meal and breakfast.
Amazing!!!! Could not fault anything and the food was amazing. Everyone bent over backwards for us and the grounds were well kept. I'm already planning another stay with them.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinabean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Tinabean007,
Fantastic! Thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    577
    232
    100
    60
See reviews for
229
636
36
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Travelling from the North of England we decided that we would break our journey by finding accommodation about 50 minutes or so to London. Just off the M40 so ideal! Everything about the hotel was lovely. The staff were friendly and efficient, the concierge were very helpful. There were three weddings going on during the time we were staying therefore we expected that there may be some noise late into the night. This was not a problem, we slept peacefully in a lovely, comfortable room with a great bathroom. Breakfast was as you would expect in this type of hotel (buffet style) and there was something for everybody's taste. We would highly recommend this hotel as a stop off point or for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear AliGCumbria,
I'm glad you found a restful place to break your journey to London; as you mention we are ideally situated for this. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope to welcome you back the next time you're travelling.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just got back from this hotel and all I can say is WOW!
My husband booked the Christopher suite room 353 for my birthday we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly staff on reception who insured us if we had any problems let him know but as soon as we got in to our room we was very impressed separate living room and bedroom and bathroom was so spacious and clean! As a cleaner myself i could tell this was cleaned to a very high standard.
Bed was so big and comfy
We had a table booked for 8.10 staff were nice and friendly food was lovely and enjoyable, I ordered the rump steak only to be told they had run out of rump and offered me fillet and it was so lovely and soft.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay here it really is lovely and up to standard wish I could return again soon!

only down side is that its quite a way to oxford town itself but having the room we had we didn't need to go anywhere!

We had room service and the cooked breakfast was like amazing so much food I couldn't finish it.

Room Tip: room 353 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Diane R,
Thanks so much for your amazing comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay wtih us and that the team looked after you so well. We also hope you're able to come and see us again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We chose this hotel for our short break to Oxford having stayed in the sister hotel in Stratford and we were not disappointed. The room allocated was spacious and the beds extremely comfortable despite staying during the a conference for veteran car enthusiasts and a wedding we never felt the hotel was crowded or that the staff were too busy to look after us.

The room at the rear of the hotel had a wonderful countryside outlook and was extremely quiet. We were lucky in that we were allocated a very large room was a spacious seating area which made the visit even more enjoyable.

We ate each evening in the restaurant and the meals were extremely good with a varied choice and a good wine selection. We were particularly impressed with Mary a young waitress who was friendly and extremely efficient as was Robi who served us on the final evening.

The hotel us extremely well position being close to the A40 and M40 and we used the Tornhill Park and Ride only a few minutes away for the visit to Oxford where in addition to the colleges the Botanic Gardens are a must see attraction.

This is our second visit to a QHotel and will definitely not be our last.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfg7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear jfg7111,
Thanks for your review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us and took advantage of the park and ride into Oxford; it is so easy isn't it? Thanks for staying with QHotels and we hope to welcome you back again soon, perhaps in a different part of the country next time?
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswood United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel before and can say that each time we have stayed it has been excellent. Lovely bedrooms,very nice staff. Excellent food. It is a great hotel for visiting Oxford as it is not far from the park and ride. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel it is quieter and for a room that opens on to a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Sarah B,
Delighted to welcome you back again; thank you so much for your comments and hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

If this was a formal examination marking process, I would assign the Belfry 40%.
The bedroom was reasonably comfortable with a few rough edges - it was clear that the carpet had not been vacuumed since the prior occupant had checked out.
The bathroom was the major disappointment - low water pressure for the bath (which took 45 minutes to fill) and the shower too (no power at all in the cubicle).
The upside? Friendly and professional staff on the front desk during check-in and check-out. Also, the M40 is very nearby - if you require a motorway stopover.

Room Tip: The rooms are on two levels and can be a fairly long walk from Reception. Follow the frequently plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear JimBlandings,
Thanks for your score. I'm sorry it's not more, but, so that you know, we are currently working on a system to improve the water pressure. Hopefully, once this is sorted, our score from you will improve.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here many times and have always been more than happy. From reception to bar/ waiting staff, cleaners to managers everyone has a friendly smile and are always happy to help should you need it. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzieq4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Suzieq4115,
Fantastic! Thanks for your comments and see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing