We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Stafford
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for wife's 50th birthday. Staff were very obliging and helpful with decorating bedroom etc. We stayed for weekend in an upgraded room which was huge and comfortable. Location to thornhill park and ride excellent as 10minutes up the road. No hot water one morning and no heating at times were a little irritation but overall would have no hesitation in staying again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Philybabes,
Thank you for your review; I'm glad to hear the team looked after you and that you enjoyed your wife's birthday weekend. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    584
    235
    102
    61
See reviews for
236
639
37
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southamptop UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked The Oxford Belfry as my Hen Weekend and got a very good deal of £135pp of 'use of the spa, one spa treatment (either a 1 x hour treatment or 2 x 30 minute treatment), lunch, 2 x Coctails per person, canapes, dinner, bed and breakfast! For the money we paid, it was amazing!

We went as a group of 16 people, before we went the spa emailed me and we booked in everyones treatments for the day, there was a large list of treatments that the hen party could choose from, the reservations team also emailed me before the arrival and booked in our table for dinner, table for breakfast, room list and also reserved an area for our cocktails and canapes.

On arrival (10.30am) we weren't expecting to be able to check-in to the normal time of 3.00pm but all of our rooms were ready for us and we were quickly checked in, I was given a free upgrade to a lovely huge room and the rest of the party were in rooms next to each other which made things easy.

We made our way to the spa where we were given, Towels, Robes and Slippers. They showed us the facilities and where to wait when it was time for our treatment (as we were a large party we had treatments booked throughout the day). When it was time for peoples treatment they waiting in the treatment waiting room, where a member of staff arrived and knew exactaly who they were and what treatment they were having.

The lunch provided was massive, it was a buffet lunch which was hot meals, like pie, fish or a veggie dish, jacket potatoes, beans, salads. There was also a large range of desserts which included chocolate cake, waffles, pancakes, fruit. At lunch we were asked to order or evening meal and could spend £26pp which was a 3 course meal.

In the evening we had a reserved area away from everyone else that we used before our dinner and after our dinner, we had a lovely server called Robi who looked after us all evening and worked his socks off! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff working here.
At dinner our table was in an enclosed room at the back of the resturant so we didn't distrub the other guests staying at the hotel, our food arrived Hot and to order as several of us had steaks all cooked to how we requested. Robi our server had even arranged a drinking game for myself being the 'Hen'. We were also given a bottle of wine by the hotel during dinner

Again in the morning we had tables ready waiting for us at breakfast.

I will be returning to the hotel again,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mrs_0709,
I am so delighted that your hen party was such a success. Thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Went here on a spa break. Amazing value, 1hr spa treatment, lunch, 3 course dinner and breakfast for £99!

The hotel room was great, nice big rooms. The spa facilities were nothing special but did the job. The treatments were fab though. Lunch was superb! A buffet with a great selection of food, hot and cold and desserts. Dinner was lovely and our waitress Mary was brilliant and made us feel really welcome, in fact all the staff were very good. Breakfast was also good with another large selection to choose from.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brumbrum33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Chakataka,
Thanks for your review; I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spabreak and were looked after well by the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights at the end of March and felt slightly disappointed upon arrival as the hotel felt a little dated and not quite what I was expecting.

I ate lunch in the bar area and found the service and food pretty poor, I ordered a dish and when it arrived the waitress informed me that they didn't have any baba ganoush which was why I had ordered this in the first place. I pointed out that maybe they should have told me before they brought the dish out, as I may have ordered something else. The service was hit and miss and the bar area felt a little grubby including dirty menus, not what you would expect.

My room was very large and spacious but again felt a bit worn and wasn't quite clean enough, I was surprised however to find a silverfish in the bathroom. When I mentioned this at reception the lady didn't seem that bothered. Not a great response. The worst aspect of the stay was being woken at 08.00am by the Gardner running machinery on Sunday morning, again when I complained I was told that the work was being carried out on the opposite side of the hotel so it shouldn't bother me. The weekend I stayed it was boiling hot so all my windows were open as were all the hotel windows in the corridor so I think it was inevitable that you would hear the noise. Regardless of where the work was, why would you arrange landscaping for that time in the morning?

I ate dinner in the hotel on the first night, and it was okay but nothing special.

This is my first experience of a Q hotel and unfortunately I don't think I'll be using the chain again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear MysteryGuestRochdale,
Thank you for your review; I'm sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed by certain aspects of your stay. As you can see from some of our recent reviews here, we do our utmost to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us, so I am disappointed that we didn't achieve this for you. If you do book to stay at a QHotel again, please do mention your experience and we'll do our best to make your next stay a better one.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

6 of us girls went here for a relaxing night and got a package for £99 including room, wine, lunch, treatment 3 course meal and breakfast.
Amazing!!!! Could not fault anything and the food was amazing. Everyone bent over backwards for us and the grounds were well kept. I'm already planning another stay with them.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinabean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Tinabean007,
Fantastic! Thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Travelling from the North of England we decided that we would break our journey by finding accommodation about 50 minutes or so to London. Just off the M40 so ideal! Everything about the hotel was lovely. The staff were friendly and efficient, the concierge were very helpful. There were three weddings going on during the time we were staying therefore we expected that there may be some noise late into the night. This was not a problem, we slept peacefully in a lovely, comfortable room with a great bathroom. Breakfast was as you would expect in this type of hotel (buffet style) and there was something for everybody's taste. We would highly recommend this hotel as a stop off point or for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear AliGCumbria,
I'm glad you found a restful place to break your journey to London; as you mention we are ideally situated for this. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope to welcome you back the next time you're travelling.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just got back from this hotel and all I can say is WOW!
My husband booked the Christopher suite room 353 for my birthday we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly staff on reception who insured us if we had any problems let him know but as soon as we got in to our room we was very impressed separate living room and bedroom and bathroom was so spacious and clean! As a cleaner myself i could tell this was cleaned to a very high standard.
Bed was so big and comfy
We had a table booked for 8.10 staff were nice and friendly food was lovely and enjoyable, I ordered the rump steak only to be told they had run out of rump and offered me fillet and it was so lovely and soft.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay here it really is lovely and up to standard wish I could return again soon!

only down side is that its quite a way to oxford town itself but having the room we had we didn't need to go anywhere!

We had room service and the cooked breakfast was like amazing so much food I couldn't finish it.

Room Tip: room 353 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Diane R,
Thanks so much for your amazing comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay wtih us and that the team looked after you so well. We also hope you're able to come and see us again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing