We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel great beds fantastic staff”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last couple of months for business and can now see why the comments differ so much on the reviews.My last stay was for several days last week. The reception staff are always very good and attentive as are the bar staff and dining staff no complaints at all there and they should all be highly praised for the good work they do. I must admit I was not so impressed with the bar food as I was with the restaurant and the private dining we had which was excellent and breakfast was very good with real mushrooms and very good bacon. The main difference I found was the bedrooms which have tended to differ a lot some really good and some not . I have had a great bathroom with fantastic shower but the last room and bathroom I had was not so good and the shower was so bad I had to run around the bath to try and get wet, but all the beds have been excellent and after a hards days work you need a good sleep to carry on the next day and everywhere was very clean with a good supply of complementary toiletries.and it does have an excellent courtyard garden to chill out in and have a vino or two. At the end of the day. I would recommend this hotel and am going back here by choice very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Barbara S,
Thanks for your great comments; I'm pleased to read that overall you've enjoyed your visits and most importantly, have slept well. Do let my PA know when you've made your next booking and we'll make sure we look after you once again: tbravey@QHotels.co.uk. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for The Oxford Belfry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed a friday and saturday night at hotel as had booked lunch at Le Manoir on saturday. the rooms were excellent, clean roomy with sufficient wardrobe and drawers and a modern bathroom. We dined Friday in hotel and were very pleased with meal although menu was not the longest but clearly food was freshly cooked. Breakfast had wide choice of cooked, cereals, fruit and cakes, but aagh my pet hate having to cook your own toast !!! Overall a good hotel for price but I did wonder if it would be a different experience during the week when busy with conferences and meetings. Incidentally a taxi to Le Manoir cost £10, a bit cheaper than a room at £500 at Le Manoir.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnowen2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear johnowen2004,
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We often have guests of Le Manoir coming to stay here as their special treat does not always stetch to staying there too! I hope you enjoyed your lunch there and that you'll come and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Here's a very simple review...

1. Rooms decorated very nicely, but no aircon in rooms so very hot and uncomfortable at night.

2. The standard of breakfast was just average.

3. Feels like a 3 star and not a 4 star.

4. Room tariff too high for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Stefanski,
Thanks for your feed back and I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. The price of accommodation, like trains and flights, is a reflection of the the demand for rooms at any particular time, coupled with the influence of the local econony.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Having requested a quiet room with a nice view we were given a room overlooking a patch of grass and a stone road/path which is a surprise considering the beautiful courtyards the hotel is set around, a fact the porter was proud to point out to us.
The room was stiflingly hot so we had to open both windows fully which then let in all the noise from the M40 but because the noise was constant it soon faded into the background. Having read a previous review it seems there was a problem with the aircon but we weren't informed of this which would have been courteous if it was a whole hotel issue.
Breakfast was good, full range of breakfasts available and nicely cooked although one day the beans were cold & the next the sausage was cold. We ate in the bar both evenings as we were told the restaurant had big parties in & would be busy, the staff were friendly enough although we gave up waiting for the waitress to take our order on the first evening even after she had told us she would come over. The food was good on both evenings - we ate from the bar menu but were told we could order from the restaurant menu or even ask for something of our own choosing if there was nothing we liked.
Bed was comfortable, bathroom adequate, toiletries, tea & coffee replenished after first night. No mini fridge in the room which was a shame as we wanted to chill drinks & food ready for lunch for the following day as we were making an early start.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Wendy C,
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to read that certain aspects of your stay didn't meet your expectations. I think from what you have said that you would have preferred to have a room overlooking one of the courtyards; I think that the views overlooking the fields outwards from the hotel are equally stunning, and most likely quieter than the others. There was no fault with the air conditioning as you can see in my response to the other reviewer. I'm sorry the waitress took a while to take your order; I'll make sure the Restaurant Manager is made aware. Thanks again for your feed back.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Aircon broken in whole hotel, i wouldnt expect to have to use and electric fan at this price per night. First class prices, cattle class experience, its not even near Oxford. £40 taxi into the centre. Better off at a premier inn

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor3457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Victor3457,
Thanks for your comments, but if you don't mind, I'd like to clarify a couple of points for other readers? We don't currently have air conditioning fitted in the bedrooms, but all the hotel public areas and function rooms have fully functioning air conditioning. We are situated near Thame in Oxfordshire, with great access from the M40, and we recommend that our guests use the park and ride, about 10-15 minutes from the hotel, as a more cost effective way (if required) of getting to the city centre. We are proud of our team and the professional, individual attention they give to our guests and I'm sorry that you did not experience this on the occasion of your stay. Thanks again for your feed back.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A solid 4* hotel.

Room
More than adequate

Staff
Extremely attentive, paid excellent attention to the finer detail - Mary in the Restaurant was fantastic.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to any guests wishes to stay in the Oxford area.

Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel over viewing the tennis courts
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacRich24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear JacRich24,
Thanks for your comments; I'm delighted that the team looked after you well and that you enjoyed your stay!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we stayed 3 rooms on the way to North jst to pass the m25 congestion in the morning. ıt was a good decision as there were many roadworks.
the room was ok, nothing special. tv was nice size, shower was good.
breakfast buffet was rich, hot and continental selections.
overall we stayed without problem , it i by the m40 and convenient for a roadside sleep

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank mugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear mugan,
Thanks for your comments. As you say, we are ideally situated for those needing a stopover when travelling north or south and I'm glad that we fitted the bill.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range: £104 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing