We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at the Oxford Belfry. The room was fantastic with a huge bathroom and the most amazing jacuzzi bath. All clean and comfortable as you would expect. The spa was excellent, a bit busy at times as this is a fairly big hotel and my wife was unable to get a locker in the changing rooms due to the number of people. There were 2 or 3 hen nights at the hotel and it was Saturday afternoon so not surprising. The Gym was good, nicely air conditioned and a good selection of modern exercise equipment. Food in the restaurant was excellent.
On the downside, this is a big busy hotel, there was a wedding on the Saturday and several hen events going on. The wedding was fine but one of the hen groups was very rowdy in the bar and restaurant, not the Hotel's fault but you might want to be aware if you are expecting a quiet time.
Also, check your bill in the restaurant - we had a number of items we didn't recognise, not a problem, they were immediately removed, but make sure you check - we had the next table's wine on our bill, it was taken off our bill and not added to theirs! This actually can work to your advantage, the hotel must be losing a fortune over this basic incompetence.

Room Tip: We were in 171 - it is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Rimigo,
Thanks for your great comments; glad you enjoyed your short break.As you say, we are a large hotel with many events going on - August is a popular month for such events - but we're big enough with several functions rooms to ensure that on the whole our guests, whether with a large or small party, are able to enjoy their stay in their own space.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    590
    238
    103
    62
See reviews for
239
645
38
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The family stayed in this hotel to attend a wedding. The facilities were excellent, we throughly enjoyed the Spa. A large family party enjoyed a beautiful meal on the evening prior to the wedding and the food for the Wedding breakfast and evening buffet was delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In all, a great weekend!

Room Tip: Our room looked over open countryside, beatiful views and very peaceful. The Bride and Groom had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Iadrova,
Thanks for your review; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us celebrating your family wedding and I'm especially pleased that you enjoyed the food and found the team to be friendly and helpful. Congratulations to the bride/groom!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had booked a deal through Groupon for a spa weekend, dinner, B&B and spa treatments for 8 girls on a hen party. We phoned up before hand and spoke to Liam who arranged a room upgrade for the bride to be, private dining etc, very helpful and friendly. When we arrived (about 4 pm) we wanted to head straight to the spa to relax, when we got there, there were a few people at the desk- no one said hello, 5 of us stood waiting whilst a lady (no idea of name, she was in a purple dress) finished texting before she eventually got up. We explained we had booked in for treatments the next day- although we had already emailed in advance with our choice of treatments we had to go over it all again so that she could make a hand written list- a large sigh each time we said a name she couldn't spell.

We had been told that the spa would provide robes and slippers for our stay so we had all turned up in our normal clothes. The lady told us we weren't allowed robes until the day of our treatments- A little disgruntled we headed to the spa. Unfortunately there is no jacuzzi, a little disappointing especially when it was sold as a 'spa break' and there were lots of children in the pool, seating around the edge was completely full so it wasn't exactly the relaxing time we had hoped for. The changing rooms are fine but locker tokens may be a good idea as none of us had brought our money along with us. As the other girls in the party arrived they were given robes and slippers and towels without question by a different member of staff, so, sopping wet I went to the reception and asked for 5 robes which the helpful chap (Spencer I think) gave to me and helped me carry them all to the changing rooms. What a shame one member of staff ruined our first impressions of the spa.

As part of the deal we had nibbles and cocktails at 7, before dinner. All great, lovely food and they adapted the menu to suit the 6 vegetarians in our party. 3 big jugs of cocktails so plenty for everyone and they were delicious. We then went through to the private fining room for a three course meal, all of which was really nice, good vegetarian selection and good sized portions.

As part of the package we also had a DVD and (more) nibbles after dinner. Staff were helpful with setting up DVD- unfortunately some of the nibbles seemed to be a bit stale, the chocolates were solid and bitter and the popcorn was stale and sticky- a shame after such great food from dinner (thankfully we were stuffed so didn't mind so much)

The rooms were spacious, well appointed and clean, the bathroom was also large for a hotel and had nice toiletries. It was quite hot in the rooms and the windows only open a small amount- A/C would have been appreciated.

Breakfast was nice, friendly restaurant staff, lots of space and a good selection of breakfast food. We then went to the spa for out treatments which were absolutely amazing, all of us would highly recommend the ESPA massages and facials, the therapists were friendly, knowledgeable and skilled. Unfortunately we were ignored AGAIN by purple dress on our way in to the spa lounge- so no one knew we had arrived.

We then had lunch, again, a really good selection, loads of food and friendly staff. Vegetarians would have no problems eating here.

Overall really impressed with the hotel and (most) staff, a shame that the spa was a bit under par and that our welcome there was non-existent!

Room Tip: We were pleased with the 4 rooms we had, all spacious and clean (floors 2 and 3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Athen W,
Thanks for your review of your stay; I'm delighed that overall you and your friends had a great stay wtih us and that your Espa treatments were "amazing" - praise indeed. Sorry you experienced a couple of service issues; I'll have a look into these. Thanks again for your feed back and we hope you'll come back and stay again soon - perhaps for the next hen party....
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was pleasant but not worth the £315 for two nights. We opted to upgrade but the room was still very basic. The sofa in the room was very worn and the cushions were all out of shape.

The food was average and very expensive.

If you like peace and quiet it's a good place to stay but that's about all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sarah P,
Thanks for your comments; sorry we didn't 'wow' you. As you mention, we can offer peace and quiet for those that prefer it, with leisure and spa facilities and a tennis court in 17 acres of grounds, but we are also an excellent location for visiting the many attractions that Oxfordshire and the surrounding counties offer including Blenheim Palace, Legoland, Waddesdon Manor, the gorgeous City of Oxford itself and so on. We're also great for overnight business guests as we're near to the M40 and we have extensive conference facilities for businesses all over the South East and the M4 corridor. We are also popular for weddings and other family and social events as we have fantastic event suites and plenty of bedrooms so that those attending can stay over. Plus, we have a great team here whose sole aim is to ensure that our guests have a great stay with us. Apologies for going on, but I think we offer a great deal more than just a peaceful location! Thanks again for your feed back.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton on trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on the 2nd August 2014, good hotel and good food but found the the drinks at the bar to be expensive. A few problems at check in but all sorted out. Room was good but very warm even with fan. Yes I would stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dave0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear dave0007,
Thanks for your review and for your kind comments regarding the hotel and food. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I spent 2 nights at the hotel for a business function and found the rooms extremely comfortable and clean with a good shower, the food at all meals was excellent, even for a large group, and the staff were very efficient and friendly without being too familiar. The staff were helpful and very quickly returned by post something I'd left in the room without any hassle at all. For me the only downside was the pool - too small and too warm to do anything more than a few lengths. Even that wasn't possible one evening as the pool was full of parents trying to occupy their youngsters on a scorching day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear MarkPerthshire,
Thank you for your comments; I'm glad to read that your business trip was a success and that you especially enjoyed our food and service. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday on the 5th and 6th August 2013 and It was amazing. Despite the hotel being in the middle of no where.
The food was brilliant...
The service was top notch like I was staying in a 5 star hotel.
Liam the bar manager was great and helpful and really needs a promotion. As he sorted out every problem
I had VERY quickly and efficiently. An outstanding bloke, more managers need to be like him.
Jessica who worked at the bar was extremely pleasant and professional
And I think she should get a promotion as well, as she does such a great job And adds to the joy of the place.
Last but not least Chloe she was a star and was really good at doing my nails.
This spa was the best spa i have been to..I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Melissa j,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind praise of members of the team; I'm delighted that they looked after you so well. Do come back and see us again some time.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,736 reviews
10.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing