We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but not in the city of Oxford” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good value but not in the city of Oxford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights to explore the area. Although there were weddings and company "dos" on the hotel was big enough to absorb these functions without any impact on the other guests. They seemed to be in separate parts of the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and the meals were excellent. Superb value. You do need to be fit and to have a good sense of direction to locate your bedroom........the hotel is very big and spread out with lots of stairs and corridors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Martinside,
Thanks for your review and especially for your comments regarding the team - glad to hear they were their usual friendly selves! As you discovered, we're in the countryside near to Oxford so we have great views and that's why we're spread out, as you say, no high rise buildings here! Hope you can join us again some day.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    568
    231
    100
    60
See reviews for
228
629
36
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Have stayed in much better Q Hotels. The check-in process was time consuming. The rooms are lovely but the hot water in the basin is scalding hot and the taps leak over the counter. The shower was very poor - no power behind it. Ate in the restaurant one night: the waitress forgot one of our drinks, we never got offered bread rolls and when we asked for rolls we never actually got them (even though other people did). We ordered tea in the lounge and they never brought it over as they forgot! Overall the staff were very pleasant but just not quite on the ball!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be well positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicashrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear jessicashrewsbury,
I'm sorry to hear that you felt that we didn't match up to other QHotels and that you experienced a few service issues during your stay. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers. I hope that you will try us again sometime so we can show you that that we can, and do, get it right on the whole. Do drop me an email if you do book again and we'll make sure we look after you better.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the oxford belfry from the reception staff to barr staff they were excellent ny husband sent banners to the hotel and when I got into my room all the banners were up In the room with a bottle of bubbly could not of asked for anymore. When we went to dinner we had a glass of bubbly on the table made my birthday celebrations a day to remember and alice was a credit to the company

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tracey Louise S,
I'm delighted that your husband's plans worked out and that we were able to help! Thanks so much for your kind comments and we hope you'll come back, perhaps for your next birthday?
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We drove to the Hotel and found it easily. It is in a quiet location so you do need the car to get around. Finding the room in the hotel was very difficult, I sat on a seat in a corridor while my daughters found the room, it seemed quite funny a day or so later but not at the time. Once found the room was a good size and very clean. We found the tea tray and a fridge which had some bottled water in. The bathroom was a good size, very clean and warm with soft towels. The room overlooked a courtyard and was nice and quiet.We had no problems with the Wifi or the TV. The staff were friendly and efficient. Swimming pool was clean, a little chilly but there was a problem with the boiler during our stay. Restaurant food was lovely but we had a meal there as it was included in my booking. The other nights we went elsewhere to eat as there wasn't a good choice for more simple dining. Breakfast buffet was excellent, so much choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Teresa C,
Thank you for your comments; I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry the directions to your room weren't clearer - I'll remind the reception team that they need to explain more fully.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A convienently located hotel will easy routes to Oxford, M40, or Bicester village. The hotel is com fortable, we stayed in what we believe were refurbished rooms. The resturant, food, service was good, and good value for money. The breakfast was also good and as a large party we were given a side room, which enabled us to sit together and the service was very good. The Spa facilities are good but small. The staff in the spa were very good. All in all a hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gareth E,
Thanks for your recommendation; glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tyrone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Arrived on the Friday stayed until Sunday morning food was excellent as were hotel staff. Rooms were very clean, but were a trek to find, wouldn't suit if u had a disability.
Hotel is bit far from town, and taxis can be expensive..
Good hotel if you have your car with u
Wi-fi was hit or miss, one time I had it then I lost connection

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to courtyard or reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbrennan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Cbrennan777,
Thanks for your review; I'm pleased that your stay with us for a family wedding was a success. As you mention in your room tips, we have some rooms closer to the public areas and on the ground floor for those that require them; we find that some guests prefer the quieter areas away from the event rooms and public areas so if you have a preference, please do ask and we'll do our best to help.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friend and I booked an over night spa break. Arrived at 10:00, had full use of the facilities e.g. Pool, sauna and steam room, and had booked a back, neck and shoulder massage and manicure. Spa rooms were very relaxing and well laid out with friendly professional therapists. The break also included lunch, dinner and breakfast.
Lunch was a buffet with choice of salads, hot food and dessert. Dinner was chosen from the menu and breakfast was buffet with cereals, toast, fruit and full breakfast. No complaints about the food at all, it was simple but well cooked and tasty with plenty of choice.
The rooms were generally clean and comfortable, only complaint was there was some rubbish left from the previous occupant and the bath soaps etc had not been replaced.
Every member of staff encountered were smart, friendly, polite and helpful which for me makes a hotel.
All in all, excellent value for money and highly recommended for a short spa break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tiger1054,
Glad you enjoyed your spa break and were looked after well by the team. Thanks for your kind comments and for your recommendation!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
22.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing