We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, location and room - would love to go back.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, location and room - would love to go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We visited the Beetle and Wedge for a wedding reception and then stayed the night. The location and stay was excellent, as was the food. The menu was varied, cooked to perfection and very enjoyable. We had an great selection of desserts - the chocolate cheesecake being a highlight.

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was really very good and nothing seemed too much trouble.

As a location for a wedding or for a quiet night away for two the venue is really good. It's right by the river and is idyllic. The restaurant is not huge but for our friends' intimate wedding was perfect.

We would happily go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for your review via Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves, most of the wedding guests seemed too! We hope to see you at The Boathouse in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    58
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
138
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Tried to visit for lunch on a Sunday during a walking weekend along the Thames National Trail. Whilst the chef (I think ) was perfectly amiable, all they were prepared to offer two walkers was a drink, and simply suggested we headed back a mile or two back to Cholsey to a pub there.
We certainly didn't get the impression of a "unique, buzzy and informal" dining experience, and assume that our attire was not in keeping with the'look' they wanted for their premises (the restaurant was not full, and the outdoor tables were empty); but even that wasn't clear.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pipmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
The Boathouse is on the Thames path & we certainly welcome walkers along with any other guests but as we did explain, all tables were fully booked on Sunday. We do not double book tables as we can not guarantee that guests will depart at a certain time, we pride ourselves on the fact that we only do one sitting allowing our guests to enjoy a long leisurely lunch/dinner.
We always try to suggest alternative options when we are unable to accommodate guest.
Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to reinstate your confidence in The Boathouse in the near future.
C. Whitelock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Just had lunch with my teenage son - not cheap for lunchtime but partly because we were tempted by excellent puddings. Lovely friendly staff, good food, especially rostis which come with everything, crisp and freshly cooked, lemon posset was special, if bad for the figure

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardengirl4913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. The lemon posset is indeed a very special pudding which is very popular! We hope to see you at The Boathouse again soon.
C. Whitelock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Took my partner to the restaurant (we did not stay in the hotel) for Sunday lunch for his birthday. We both found the food extremely disappointing. My crispy duck starter with ginger risotto cake was neither crispy nor tasted of ginger and the large lump of grissle did not really add to the experience. The mains were OK but at best were average. For a restaurant which advertises they are recommended in the current Michellin guide this is far from what we expected. We have eaten in much nicer restaurants with no Michellin asperations. We were also sat downstairs on the corner and it was very dark and gloomy. Some additional lighting during summer days in the lovely boathouse section would really improve the experience no end. Service was friendly but we were rather forgotten in the corner where we were sat.

Perhaps the chef was having a bad day as was recommended the restaurant by friends but unfortunately he picked a special celebration to have his bad day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cholmeley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback through Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you found your meal "disappointing" on your recent visit. We always appreciate customers' comments as we constantly seek to improve our standards. I can assure you that your experience does not reflect our normal levels of service or quality of food.
You are correct that we are recommended in the Michelin guide, however, we have no aspirations to develop into the Michelin 'Star' Category.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review.
C.Whitelock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We arrived at the restaurant for a lunch on Good Friday lunch time, beautiful weather, and not too crowded. We had a drink, three adults 2 teenage boys who were starving after having cycled, and we then decided to order some food, to be told that they had run out of all food and they were fully booked .... there were several tables free, and in fact not as busy as we would have expected. They had also ran out of beer. We were very disappointed, and cross, as the time was getting late and it would prove difficult to find another facility in the area that would be still serving food. The boys were very hungry after a long cycle ride, and a long ride back.

Not at all impressed, they did not come up to their website promises, why had they not got enough food in to deal with a busy Bank Holidy weekend. Also the staff were not very helpful or friendly. Will not be visiting there again.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

My partner and I had booked dinner and an overnight stay at the Beetle and Wedge, having much enjoyed summer lunches and cosy dinners there in the past. We arrived and were shown to our room. Unfortunately after an hour, I started to feel quite ill and so we decided that we would cancel dinner, pay for the room and drive back to London. (We had both had baths, used towels, put things in the bin etc so were definitely expecting to pay for the room.) We were surprised and delighted when the nice staff said that of course we would not be charged for the room. Incredible! This has definitely reinforced the positive feeling we have about the Beetle and Wedge and we will certainly go back!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahbainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed here for a night of rest and relaxation on a Sunday at the end of January and it was an incredibly peaceful spot. We were in room 1, upstairs in the Ferryman’s Cottage (see pics). The room was warm and cosy and we enjoyed the large roll top bath and a good night’s sleep. Tea and coffee and kettle were provided in the room, along with decent biscuits in a sealed jar and a large bottle of mineral water. Quality toiletries were available in the bathroom.
Before dinner we took a walk from the front of the hotel along the river bank towards Goring. It was beautiful as the sun went down, with flocks of geese flying over and various other wildlife on the water to watch.
We had a lovely meal in the evening in the restaurant. We ate in the old boathouse with open grill which was nice and welcoming on a cold evening, despite only one other table dining that Sunday night. The food was excellent – in particular the duck starter, lemon sole with squid main and a sirloin steak fresh from the grill. Fresh bread and olives were on the table. Service was friendly and attentive.
In the morning, breakfast was taken in the light and airy conservatory side of the restaurant, which was great for viewing the activities of the ducks and swans on the river. We were impressed by a top quality full English breakfast with toast, cereal and a plate of fresh fruit and fresh orange juice also on offer.
Overall we couldn’t fault the experience which cost £90 for the room including breakfast and £70 for the dinner including bottle of wine. We will remember this place when in need of future short breaks to refuel the batteries, though on a sunny summer’s day we imagine it must be very busy, given its idyllic location!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.7 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
7.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing