We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Night away”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Four of us stayed here for one night on a living social deal as a belated Christmas present.
Nice quite location friendly owners.
We booked for dinner as we did not want to drive. Food was lovely I had the chicken which I would recommend. It was a shame that there was only us four and one table of two in the
restaurant as there was not much of a atmosphere. We also felt that we could not linger as felt we were keeping everyone up.
Rooms where nice and big and the roll top bath was lovely.
Good night sleep although my brother said the light outside his window did keep him awake.
Breakfast was the highlight fruit, yogurt and full cooked breakfast.
Overall nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelovestotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor! I am glad that you all enjoyed your visit & we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    65
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
39
149
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 the food cannot be faulted it was excellent. Overlooking the river even in winter if was a beautiful scene with very entertaining wildlife. We could not manage all of the options for breakfast as it is quite a lot to eat - amazing fresh berries. We awoke the next day to a white world it having snowed overnight, unfortunately we had to cut our stay short and travelled back to the Midlands mid morning. When returning to our car we found Chef clearing a pathway for us and clearing our windscreen and side windows. In a nutshell excellent hosts and very helpful staff, excellent food and nothing was too much trouble. We will definately be returning for a further visit.

Room Tip: Stay in room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieD323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves & experienced that we like to go that extra mile here at The Boathouse. We hope to see you on another occasion soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed on a Sunday night in January (Living Social deal incl a glass of Prosecco).

Upon arrival the owner came out to greet us whilst unpacking the car. We were taken straight across the car park to the rooms which was fine (apart from a spooky lady who kept staring at us from the window - we later realised this was the one, other, nosey guest who was staying!!).

We were given room 2 - a big size with 3 widows and a view of the river. We were asked whether we wanted our drink in the room or over in the restaurant which was a nice touch.

We ate at the restaurant as we had no other plans and wanted a drink (it's in the middle of a small village so someone would have to drive if you plan to head out elsewhere).

The only thing which was a bit of a shame was the fact that we were the only people dining for the majority of our meal (not the owner's fault at all - just circumstances). It just meant we felt like we had to talk quietly and were a bit less relaxed.

The food is not cheap but it is excellent and there is a good sized wine list with grapes and prices to suit all. The service from the owner and a young foreign chap was very good.

After dinner we just went back to out room to watch TV in bed with a nightcap which was a nice way to spend a Sunday evening. The TV was a little small for the size of the room and could do with being on a bracket on the wall, but it had all the Freeview channels so that was fine.

The only issue we really had was that the pipes in the building are VERY loud and tend to make noises fairly frequently - all through the night too. I appreciate that this is an old building but perhaps some insulating material could be put around them to try and reduce the noise...

The bed was very comfy and the biscuit tin and loose tea leaves were a lovely addition. The breakfast was also excellent - home made bread, fresh berries, and hot items cooked to perfection (using local produce which is always nice). Service with a smile and the staff were happy to let us leave the car there for an hour whilst we had a short walk up the river.

Very sweet place with excellent food and great service - thanks for the stay :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had a roll top bath (lovely to look at but had to shower on our knees :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parton30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Only one night in a very cold January but made most welcome. Situation exceptional, room great, food even better.

Beautiful setting on the river, particularly pleasant watching the wildlife (and rowing) on the river while enjoying a leisurely breakfast.

Faultless service and great food.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sept_2010_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves! We hope to see you when the sun is shinning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Lovely spot on the river. We had room no 2 which was lovely with a nice roll top bath. Nice glass of bubbles on arrival. Bottle of mineral water in the room. Fresh leaf teas in the room as well as herbal teas and filter coffee. Butter biscuits as well. We even got some nice olives with our champagne which we enjoyed before heading out to dinner in nearby Wallingford. The breakfast the next day was amazing. Best BnB breakfast I've ever had - freshly squeezed OJ, fresh set yoghurts, fresh berries and a lovely cooked breakfast. I'd go again. The only annoyance was a slight noise from the pipes. Nothing to really worry about. Thanks!

Room Tip: 3 has a shower. 2 has a roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Never had a bad visit yet. Always awesome food and the staff are super friendly and not snooty. The Rosti is to die for! Also stayed in one of the rooms last year and had a fantastic time.
I now never take my other half anywhere else on her birthday as she loves it too much. She is a vegetarian and not a fan of risotto but somehow the risotto at the Beetle and Wedge is just awesome!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawshogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it! I am so glad that your 'other half' enjoyed her birthday visit & we hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We ate here recently and really enjoyed the experience. We were greeted at the door and shown to the bar area where we had drinks and a good natter and were never pressured into sitting down even though 8 of us filled the area. The wines were excellent and the service matched, however the food was not quite as good as expected. 3 of our group had the sirloin and they couldn't eat them as they were tough and chewy. To their credit the staff took them off the bill and apologised but it shouldn't have happened in the first place. Would I go back ? Yes !

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NickAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your feedback via Tripadvisor. I am glad that overall you all enjoyed your visit, I am sorry to hear that the sirloins were not to our normal standards, we really appreciate that you advised us there & then so that we could rectify this matter immediately. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.8 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
353 reviews
3.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
698 reviews
5.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
84 reviews
11.8 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing