We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Our voucher was given as a Xmas present and proved to be a lovely experience. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. No shower but the large roll top bath only took 5minutes to run and it made a change to lie back and relax. Following a pleasant walk along the river we had a superb meal in the restaurant which overlooked the river. Breakfast the next morning was equally good and served at a time to suit us. Everyone was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    65
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
39
149
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We also took advantage of the LivingSocial deal and we’re so pleased that we did.

Room 1 in the Ferryman’s cottage looking out over the small car park in front of the Boathouse and down to the river beyond is a very good size with triple aspect windows and has a real nice feel to it. We guess rooms 2 & 3 probably have their own charms too. The super-kingsize double bed was exceptionally supportive and comfortable and it was actually quite nice to have a bed with sheets and a blanket for a change. Room 1 doesn’t have a shower but it does have a huge roll top bath. You see these posh baths in many of the best places and they’re great for a long leisurely soak, but realistically, it’s not practical at all in the morning when all you need is a really nice shower, which is not possible here. There is a hand held shower attachment but that’s it, unfortunately – trying to clean up in the morning sitting uncomfortably and feeling cold in the empty bath was a bit unpleasant. It’s a shame really because the bathroom is quite large and we’re sure it could have been designed to allow for a proper shower cubicle as well as a bath. The TV in the corner jostling for space with the tea tray on top of a chest of drawers was smaller than you often get for PC monitors nowadays. Given the size of the room and the low price of LCD TV’s nowadays, we think the owners should install a much bigger TV in the room and fix it to the wall opposite the bed.

We had a really good evening meal and with only 3 rooms, you get personal attention and a superb hot breakfast made to order in the morning. As mentioned by other reviewers, you get freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh berries, and you don’t get things like that in very many places.

We only have one real criticism about the Beetle & Wedge, and it has nothing to do with our room or our food. If you visit, you may see a white corrugated plastic pipe coming out of a window to the left of the boathouse entrance, which continually disgorges water to the side of the building. The water then runs off down the slope towards the waterside in a nasty spreading rivulet with algae forming on the concrete. There’s obviously some need for this pipe (although it doesn’t appear in the pictures on the website) so it would be a huge improvement if it was changed to a much longer one that discharged water much nearer to the riverbank or directly into a drain or soakaway. Just a thought.

Our views about the bath, TV and the pipe don’t alter our belief that this is an exceptionally nice place to stay in a great location. It definitely deserves 5 out of 5 on what it delivers at the discounted price we paid, but we would have given it 4 out of 5 at full price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I had high hopes for my overnight stay using a Living Social voucher on a Sunday. We checked in with the minimum of fuss, dumped bags in room (2) and then returned to the bar area. However, having sat down to enjoy a Sunday afternoon drink we were asked to move upstairs to the restaurant overlooking the river as a bridge party of 14 were expected. No problem in this as the view was lovely. Our room was lovely, with some nice touches, the games compendium, Rombouts coffee, biscuits etc. There was no provision for standing to have a shower in the otherwise pretty roll-top bath. The toiletries were good quality too. TV a tad too small for room and position not great, but that's not what we went for I guess. Dinner was fabulous, the food amazing and tip-top quality. Restaurant staff v. charming and polite. The restaurant policy of NO MOBILE PHONES is one I wholeheartedly agree with. However, the quiet and peaceful night's sleep I was looking forwarded to sadly eluded me. Extremely noisy plumbing from another room which went on all night, car doors slamming open/shut, engines running etc until very late. Then to top it all, at 06.38 a.m. (I looked at the time on my mobile) the fish delivery arrived, complete with diesel engine running and radio playing quite loudly. My husband had not been too well the night before and I was too tired to make it to breakfast, so we left the B&W at about 10 a.m. and came home. I would definitely go back to eat there but not to stay as the noise levels were just too intrusive to make a 'sleepover' enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyHoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Lovely location at Moulsford beside the Thames in Oxfordshire. It has an oldy worldy feel to it while still providing all mod cons. One can walk along the river for at least an hour - very picturesque. Birdwatchers will be entertained by the abundance of red kites circling and diving, and by swans, coots, mallard, and the rather unusual Egyptian geese. The large free-standing bath was a real luxury after a long walk. The restaurant serves excellent food. Everyone from the proprietors to the waiting staff were relaxed, friendly and hospitible. All in all, we would thoroughly recommend it - wonderful place for a weekend getaway. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Glad to hear you enjoyed it....perhaps see you soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Lovely warm rooms, fantastic surroundings by the Thames with a riverside walk (even a boat to hire for drinks on the river), amazing restaurant and really lovely staff, exceptionally friendly. Hard to find fault with the Beetle and Wedge (well maybe the t.v. is a bit on the small side and poorly positioned in the room to make viewing difficult)! Yes, there are only three rooms but all that means is you should book early! We ate in the restaurant - the food was really good, and we didn’t think very expensive, particularly for the quality. Breakfasts were also excellent, real fresh fruit, excellent cooked food; to sit and eat breakfast with a view of the Thames was particularly special. For us, hard to find fault and we shall be back, hopefully when the weathers better and we can dine outside along the banks of the river.

Yes, like many others, we were here on a Living Social deal, but we were so pleased with our stay that we thought even their ‘normal’ rates good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 - ground floor. Lovely shower room, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

What a lovely little place just off the beaten track right next to the Thames, only has 3 rooms. Room 2 is best light and airy with a view of the Thames when the sun comes up in the morning and the sunset on the river at night. Real tea in bed, what a treat, and time to chill.

Lovely romantic walk to Streatley / Goring and back, stopping at the café just over the bridge by the lock, just go easy on the goats cheese rarebit!!

Staff very helpful and not intrusive. The restaurant is good too. Leave the cheaper set meals and spoil yourself with the a la cart - not expensive, but is well worth it and the wine list is not bad too.

Just the sort of place to stay and get away from all the hubbub and just cill out for a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear you had such a lovely time & we hope to see you again soon now that the sun is shining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely couple of days dad and princess time with my daughter at the beetle and wedge, cant really fault it, staff were friendly, food was gorgeous, room was fine and the location was stunning....thankyou.
Im pretty sure ill be back and maybe next time the weather wont let me down

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baffum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.8 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
3.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
246 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
696 reviews
5.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
84 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing