We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, though a little pricey”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here on a deal that was given as a gift by our children. Very nice room, big and pleasantly decorated. We decided not to have outer evening meal ere as we felt it was rather pricey, but I guess that is to expected when the venue is right on the Thames!
Overall a pleasant stay, and would like to visit again if the funds allow

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NP-Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, such a shame you did not make it for dinner. Please note we offer a set menu which is £15 for 2 courses & £19.50 for 3 courses which we feel is fantastic value for money, this menu is available Monday to Thursday. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were here 16 years ago, and the restaurant was great again. Tasty food, well-presented in a fun place. If you are in it for the ambiance of the old stone boathouse, book a table specifically for that; if watching the Thames glide by, book for the new part along the windows. Our 5-star rating is for the restaurant; we also stayed in the small guest house ("Ferryman's Cottage") next door, which was fine but nothing special - all of the noisy, creaking floors, etc. that you expect from an old building. If you are staying here, don't miss the walk along the Thames down to the Cleeve lock. Alas, the picturesque big house - home of Kenneth Grahame, author of "Wind in the Willows" - is now private and no longer open to guests.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your descriptive review, it is lovely to read such kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, and apart from the poor nights sleep which we both experienced, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
This very small hotel is perfectly situated on the banks of the Thames, with beautiful views of the river and surrounding countryside. The quality and presentation of the food in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service, both for our evening meal and at breakfast. (There is nothing like having breakfast and watching the river flow past)
Our room (No. 3) was spacious, perfectly appointed and very clean, with a large very comfortable bed. The room had lots of very nice touches too like fresh leaf tea with a tea pot and cups and saucers, ground filter coffee and a well stocked biscuit barrel. There were also nice toiletries, and cotton buds, cotton wool balls etc. all provided. The room also had books to read, board games to play and a pack of playing cards. The only problems we have to report are, there is only a very small TV in the room which was not very easy to watch due to its location (a relatively minor problem for one night I'm sure you will agree). However there were two significant problems which would prevent us from staying overnight again until they are addressed. The first was despite turning the radiators off they continued to make loud creaking and pinging noises every few minutes throughout the night, and the second problem was that the curtains were very see-through and there were no black out blinds fitted. Given that the main bedroom windows face due east, we were awoken at 5am by very bright sunshine beaming through the windows. There was also a window directly above the bed which had no curtain on at all, and it looked directly into next doors garden at ground level !!!!
We must say that as we checked out the following morning we reported our poor nights sleep to the Manageress, who was very apologetic and insisted on removing the cost of our evening drinks from the bill.
In summary, we love this hotel and restaurant and think its perfectly located and provides excellent food and great service in very pleasant and comfortable surroundings, Unfortunately however we would not be willing to return for an overnight stay until both the heating noises and night blinds at the windows are addressed.

Room Tip: Until the heating system and night blinds are addressed I suggest you take ear plugs and an eye mask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysonholiday53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor, I am please that overall you had an enjoyable time. The little window behind/above the bed is in a recess making it a little difficult to fit & blind to, hence the reason for a netted curtain which I can understand may not be sufficient enough to completely block out light. The cottage itself is a very old building which naturally 'creaks', we are working on this at the moment!Thanks again for your feedback, points will be discussed & taken 'on board'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Our voucher was given as a Xmas present and proved to be a lovely experience. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. No shower but the large roll top bath only took 5minutes to run and it made a change to lie back and relax. Following a pleasant walk along the river we had a superb meal in the restaurant which overlooked the river. Breakfast the next morning was equally good and served at a time to suit us. Everyone was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We also took advantage of the LivingSocial deal and we’re so pleased that we did.

Room 1 in the Ferryman’s cottage looking out over the small car park in front of the Boathouse and down to the river beyond is a very good size with triple aspect windows and has a real nice feel to it. We guess rooms 2 & 3 probably have their own charms too. The super-kingsize double bed was exceptionally supportive and comfortable and it was actually quite nice to have a bed with sheets and a blanket for a change. Room 1 doesn’t have a shower but it does have a huge roll top bath. You see these posh baths in many of the best places and they’re great for a long leisurely soak, but realistically, it’s not practical at all in the morning when all you need is a really nice shower, which is not possible here. There is a hand held shower attachment but that’s it, unfortunately – trying to clean up in the morning sitting uncomfortably and feeling cold in the empty bath was a bit unpleasant. It’s a shame really because the bathroom is quite large and we’re sure it could have been designed to allow for a proper shower cubicle as well as a bath. The TV in the corner jostling for space with the tea tray on top of a chest of drawers was smaller than you often get for PC monitors nowadays. Given the size of the room and the low price of LCD TV’s nowadays, we think the owners should install a much bigger TV in the room and fix it to the wall opposite the bed.

We had a really good evening meal and with only 3 rooms, you get personal attention and a superb hot breakfast made to order in the morning. As mentioned by other reviewers, you get freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh berries, and you don’t get things like that in very many places.

We only have one real criticism about the Beetle & Wedge, and it has nothing to do with our room or our food. If you visit, you may see a white corrugated plastic pipe coming out of a window to the left of the boathouse entrance, which continually disgorges water to the side of the building. The water then runs off down the slope towards the waterside in a nasty spreading rivulet with algae forming on the concrete. There’s obviously some need for this pipe (although it doesn’t appear in the pictures on the website) so it would be a huge improvement if it was changed to a much longer one that discharged water much nearer to the riverbank or directly into a drain or soakaway. Just a thought.

Our views about the bath, TV and the pipe don’t alter our belief that this is an exceptionally nice place to stay in a great location. It definitely deserves 5 out of 5 on what it delivers at the discounted price we paid, but we would have given it 4 out of 5 at full price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I had high hopes for my overnight stay using a Living Social voucher on a Sunday. We checked in with the minimum of fuss, dumped bags in room (2) and then returned to the bar area. However, having sat down to enjoy a Sunday afternoon drink we were asked to move upstairs to the restaurant overlooking the river as a bridge party of 14 were expected. No problem in this as the view was lovely. Our room was lovely, with some nice touches, the games compendium, Rombouts coffee, biscuits etc. There was no provision for standing to have a shower in the otherwise pretty roll-top bath. The toiletries were good quality too. TV a tad too small for room and position not great, but that's not what we went for I guess. Dinner was fabulous, the food amazing and tip-top quality. Restaurant staff v. charming and polite. The restaurant policy of NO MOBILE PHONES is one I wholeheartedly agree with. However, the quiet and peaceful night's sleep I was looking forwarded to sadly eluded me. Extremely noisy plumbing from another room which went on all night, car doors slamming open/shut, engines running etc until very late. Then to top it all, at 06.38 a.m. (I looked at the time on my mobile) the fish delivery arrived, complete with diesel engine running and radio playing quite loudly. My husband had not been too well the night before and I was too tired to make it to breakfast, so we left the B&W at about 10 a.m. and came home. I would definitely go back to eat there but not to stay as the noise levels were just too intrusive to make a 'sleepover' enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyHoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Lovely location at Moulsford beside the Thames in Oxfordshire. It has an oldy worldy feel to it while still providing all mod cons. One can walk along the river for at least an hour - very picturesque. Birdwatchers will be entertained by the abundance of red kites circling and diving, and by swans, coots, mallard, and the rather unusual Egyptian geese. The large free-standing bath was a real luxury after a long walk. The restaurant serves excellent food. Everyone from the proprietors to the waiting staff were relaxed, friendly and hospitible. All in all, we would thoroughly recommend it - wonderful place for a weekend getaway. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Glad to hear you enjoyed it....perhaps see you soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.8 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
637 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
641 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
375 reviews
11.8 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
11.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range: £99 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing