We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We found this small hotel by accident and it has become one of our pleasures in life. You have the treble whammy of a superb location alongside the beautiful River Thames, probably the friendliest staff you could wish to meet (Stephanie and Charlotte) who always come and chat, plus importantly, sublime food. We go their often to their Moulsford Mondays which are a delight and tantalise your taste buds, and just last week we had our Wedding Reception there. What a day, the sun shone, the river sparkled and we were allowed to select from four different choices for each course on their menu. Amazing food, brilliantly cooked. Plus there was the added bonus of using their electric boat for two hours as part of the package. It was a magical day which can be summed up from one of our guests who had never been to the Beetle and Wedge before, Quote "I can honestly say that it was the happiest and best 'do' (of any sort) that we have ever had the pleasure of attending. Venue,food, company, weather all magic". Says it all really. If you get the chance visit, there are three comfortable hotel rooms, the breakfast is again wonderful (This is how we found them on a mini break). We intend to try one of their special steak nights very soon. Already excited at the thought. From the above you will gather we are great fans. Go yourself and you will find out why! Thank you Beetle and Wedge Team for making our special day so very special!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Nigel, Thank you for taking the time to write a very pleasant review here on Tripadvisor! It has been lovely to get to know you both as well as your family & friends! It really means a lot to us to read fantastic reviews & this has certainly improved staff morale! We look forward to seeing you next time & many congratulations on getting married!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    58
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
139
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Week day lunch the restaurant was full. Beautiful views across the river from the spotlessly clean dining room. Service very pleasant. Good menu choice with option of fixed price or a la carte. Food was beautifully presented, well prepared and plentiful. The only slight criticism was that sitting by the window the dining room became a little warm in the sunshine otherwise a perfect lunch. We have been occasional diners there for over 25 years including some special family and friends occasions, rarely disappointed. Not many venues that can live up to that consistency in my opinion!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time top write a review, I am glad that you enjoyed your meal. I can understand that the conservatory does get hot in the warm weather we have been having recently, guests are more than welcome to ask a member of staff to open a window which lets in a lovely gentle breeze. We are glad that you had a lovely lunch & hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were given a meal voucher at Christmas and decided to use it at the Beetle and Wedge, also staying the night. We had a lovely meal with excellent food with a lovely view of the river and very attentive staff. Our room(no1) was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We especially liked the free standing bath and the real tea provided. An extra touch was the games compendium in the room.
If we are in the area again we would certainly eat and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your review, happy to hear you have a lovely time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have just had a short break (two nights) at the Beetle & Wedge and had a lovely time. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the food was great. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
And yes, there was that lovely view.
We would recommend it to anyone who wanted a quiet break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Four of us had dinner here on a Saturday evening. We had a great location by the window, with a wonderful view over the River Thames. We ordered a wine labelled as from "St. Emilion" from the wine list. It was really from Lussac St. Emilion, which is a different (and not as good) region. When we asked for the sommelier all we got was a blank stare - there was obviously no one there who had a clue about wine. This is supposed to be a Michelin recommended restaurant, so we expected better. Maybe this should not matter, but it was a rather mediocre bottle of wine. Not a good start.

Service was rather slow, with long waits between each course. Having a great view and good company, and being in no hurry meant we did not really mind. However, when the food finally arrived it was of mixed quality. The fish was very good (if rather small), and the steak got a great review, but the lamb was rather tasteless. The deserts were generally good, especially the cheese plate chosen by the still hungry fish eater, but again we had to wonder does it really take half an hour to cut a few slices of cheese?

We have been here twice before, and given the lovely setting may try again, but distinctly have an impression of uneven quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macher, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

1st class hotel. We moored our River Cruiser for free at the hotel mooring on the River Thames. The owners made sure our every need was fully matched. Restaurant delivers european food which is well presente and sensibly priced. Good wine list.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincenteFamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Beetle and Wedge as a result of receiving a voucher from someone who couldn’t use it. This is a very nice restaurant with bar area that has rooms for guests. The rooms are very nice and well appointed. Our room no2 was very nice with views over the river. Previous reports had commented on the noisy plumbing and we too found this to be the case. This should have been solved by now as the plumber was due in the day of our departure. Caused by an overflow cistern and easy to fix so I am not sure why it took so long. Despite this it wasn’t too much of a problem. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very good value for the quality of food. The crevette were delicious and the sole with scallop was very nice albeit the batter could have been a little lighter. They offer a good selection of wines as reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tontotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we very much appreciate your kind words. May I take this opportunity to say that the plumbing issue is an on-going task which unfortunately is not as simple as repairing the cistern. We have had several different plumbers in to have a look at our system & this is proving too be tricky as the cottage is such an old building. We had the problem fixed & then (much to our annoyance) it returned. We have seen improvements recently so hopefully this issue is on the mend. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.8 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing