We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed at the beetle and wedge for the night.
Lovely room with a king size bed and roll top bath.
Breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked and very tasty.
There is a beautiful view of the thames from the dining room.
I cant wait to go back what a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    65
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
39
150
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We took advantage of another LivingSocial deal for our second stop-over at the Beetle & Wedge. Solely for washing convenience in the morning, this time we stayed in room 3 on the ground floor, which in the only one of the 3 rooms with a shower cubicle. Room 3 is a good size, well-appointed for an old cottage, and the king size bed is very comfortable. As on our last visit, our evening meal and breakfast were both excellent. The Beetle & Wedge deserves to be rated 5/5 but this time we’re only giving 4/5 because of a lack of attention to detail in room maintenance. When we stayed, one of the lamps by the bed wouldn’t work even though the bulb was fine when we swapped them, the towel rail radiator in the bathroom wouldn’t get hot and the shower drain pipe was obviously clogged up as the tray filled up with water while the shower was in use and it took some while to drain away. Hopefully, the owners have sorted out these things by now. Despite the maintenance issues, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are upstairs, 3 is ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Sorry to hear that we did not live up to your previous experience due to a few issues, hopefully we have now addressed these. We hope to see you for a 3rd visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed between Xmas and new year and it was a well deserved break. We had a great day in Henley and then made the 10 mile journey to Moulsford. We were greeted and made welcome, shown to room 1 (only 3 rooms in delightful cottage). Room was cosy, lovely big bed, plenty of storage for clothing the decor is traditional so don't expect modern, it all is in keeping with the property. This room had deep roll top bath which was very restful to bathe in. Dinner was a delight, spoiled for choice, both eating areas are terrific and in the day time right on the river. I thoroughly recommend you try this place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We used a living social voucher on this hotel as we were in Oxford for an event. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The boat house has been lovingly refurbished to an extremely high standard. The bed was big and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with a deep, luxurious roll top bath, heaven. We had a set price lunch which was delicious and excellent value.............and the breakfast was stunning, we were the only people staying ( there is only 3/4 bedrooms) but this did not deter the staff from treating us like royalty. The setting is so peaceful with ducks and mallards wandering around. There is also a small pub attached but we had no problem with noise, it was just so peaceful. This is a place to stay you will remember long afterwards and I have no problem recommending it. Well done to the staff, I kinda wished we had missed out the Oxford visit as it was a night mare to park and all the peaceful feelings the hotel created disappeared as we tried to park the car for more then 2 hours! Thank you Beetle for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 and it was beautiful with the roll top bath, very quite, good mattress. Plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamarie_keane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
What a lovely review, so glad you found us, please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for one night break after seeing the sights in Oxford.
Rooms were comforrtable, tea/coffee in the room with plenty of biscuits to go with these.
Booked a meal for the evening knowing this was down by the riverside so thinking there would not be much around the area to walk to a night. The meal was lovely and good value and the staff very friendly. We had a lovely stay and would go again.
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliec1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasT Hampton, NY, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The location was the first reason I chose this place but it turned out to be a place I would revisit. The location was great, the river Thames was exciting, and the restaurant was just right for what we were looking for. We would reccommend this place highly. Peaceful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whall52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After staying here and dining way back in 1993 on a work trip from Australia I had long hope that I would get the opportunity to return one day with my wife. The opportunity presented itself this year, 20 years later, and as a bonus we were able to also bring our daughter. We were not disappointed! We had a delightful lunch. Of course the setting is magnificent, but the food and service were even better than I had remembered. The dining room had been extended and we managed to get a table looking over the river where we could watch the boats on the river. All in all the lunch was a real highlight of our 2 month long holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NauticalDreamer3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Many thanks, glad you had a lovely time, please don't leave it another 20 years before the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
3.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
247 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
357 reviews
5.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
702 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
611 reviews
11.8 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing