We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night away!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect night away!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here mid-week with a Living Social voucher for one nights B&B.
The location on the Thames is superb,and we even took our Mountain bikes and did a quick circuit of the villages around Wallingford.A great place for a pootle around and will do again in the summer when i'm sure it's even more picturesque.(Great deli for a post ride coffee and cake in Wallingford centre!!)
On returning to our very comfortable room it was great to be able to relax in a decent sized bath with plentiful hot(very!) water.Note there is no shower(not an issue for us).
The bed was huge and very comfortable.The tv worked fine and there were tea and coffee available in the room also.A perfect peaceful nights sleep was had;so i would say pretty much faultless as far as the room was concerned(no.2 for info).
We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and the decor and setting again is pretty much faultless.I had two courses,the wife had a starter and dessert;plus we had 3 glasses of wine and a dessert wine;all for £50.We thought that it was good value considering the quality of the food we ate.The choice available was really good also.
Basically,couldn't fault the place;so much so we are definitely going to head back there in the summer when the Thames has subsidied a little.
I must quickly mention that we also found the staff very helpful and polite.
Thanks for a great nights stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    63
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
38
148
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Not clearly signposted that you will be staying in the Ferryman's cottage but once in all the rooms have large comfy beds and all the bathrooms have big claw feet baths. Look out the window and you see the Boathouse at the Beetle and Wedge and a great view of the river Thames. Excellent meal at the restaurant with good service and choice and as you are staying overnight you are asked what time you would like breakfast next morning. Plenty of parking spaces. Great venue for an event in the summer. Would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I spent a one night mid-week break at the hotel thanks to Living Social at a cost of £50 for B&B. Upon arriving we did have a problem to find reception; a sign would have been useful. A young man showed us to our room, but did not offer to carry our bag upstairs, his loss, as no tip was given. The room (1) was very nice and clean and comfortable. We booked a table for dinner at 20.00 which was charged as extra. What a fantastic meal it was, Michelin Star quality at very reasonable cost in a lovely atmosphere. Two courses each (plus £17.75 for a bottle or wine) total cost £47.75, a bargain. Dinner staffs were great and same at breakfast, which was also excellent. One word of warning however, the hot water is very hot so be careful………A hidden gem not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186361Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte B, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have had a chat with our 'young men' with regards to helping with luggage, this is standard practice so thank you for pointing this out. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Spent three nights here with my wife on the night of and a few days after our wedding. We stayed in the cottage behind the restaurant.

The room was very tastefully decorated with all the amenities we needed. We thought there was a problem with the hot water but just needed to wait 5 minutes for the old pipe system to let the hot water run through.

The breakfasts were delicious: full english was on offer, plus all the Mediterranean style options: toast, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fresh juice and freshly brewed coffee.

The staff were also great throughout our stay: always warm, friendly and willing to help out.

A great 3 day stay, the perfect 'mini-moon'. Will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed at the beetle and wedge for the night.
Lovely room with a king size bed and roll top bath.
Breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked and very tasty.
There is a beautiful view of the thames from the dining room.
I cant wait to go back what a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
521 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We took advantage of another LivingSocial deal for our second stop-over at the Beetle & Wedge. Solely for washing convenience in the morning, this time we stayed in room 3 on the ground floor, which in the only one of the 3 rooms with a shower cubicle. Room 3 is a good size, well-appointed for an old cottage, and the king size bed is very comfortable. As on our last visit, our evening meal and breakfast were both excellent. The Beetle & Wedge deserves to be rated 5/5 but this time we’re only giving 4/5 because of a lack of attention to detail in room maintenance. When we stayed, one of the lamps by the bed wouldn’t work even though the bulb was fine when we swapped them, the towel rail radiator in the bathroom wouldn’t get hot and the shower drain pipe was obviously clogged up as the tray filled up with water while the shower was in use and it took some while to drain away. Hopefully, the owners have sorted out these things by now. Despite the maintenance issues, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are upstairs, 3 is ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWhitelock, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Sorry to hear that we did not live up to your previous experience due to a few issues, hopefully we have now addressed these. We hope to see you for a 3rd visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed between Xmas and new year and it was a well deserved break. We had a great day in Henley and then made the 10 mile journey to Moulsford. We were greeted and made welcome, shown to room 1 (only 3 rooms in delightful cottage). Room was cosy, lovely big bed, plenty of storage for clothing the decor is traditional so don't expect modern, it all is in keeping with the property. This room had deep roll top bath which was very restful to bathe in. Dinner was a delight, spoiled for choice, both eating areas are terrific and in the day time right on the river. I thoroughly recommend you try this place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.8 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
609 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
87 reviews
3.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
344 reviews
5.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
79 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing