We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant with rooms is a joy!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This restaurant with rooms is a joy!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It was a return visit, and totally lived up to expectations.
Lovely room, delicious food, friendly staff, and of course a stunning location on the banks of the Thames.
The owners are spot on and rightly confident in the choices they offer to their guests.
The cooked breakfast was perfect!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    65
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
39
149
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in June. The staff were overwhelmingly excellent with our every request. It was a very nice location on the Thames River and very quiet despite the many patrons dining as they rooms are across the parking lot. Room #1 was delightful with a King sized bed and large bathroom and tub. The other evening we were in Room #2 which we did not find as luxurious - smaller bed, smaller tub, toilet had trouble flushing so choosing the right room made a difference. We had dined here about 9 years ago and were blown away with the food at dinner, but did not find the dinner this time as fabulous and choose not to dine the second night. The staff were not as attentive to the table of 8 diners next to us as they all chose their desserts and then no staff came to take their orders and they dispersed back to their hotels (missed opportunity). The breakfast was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagoehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte B, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have taken on board your comments & will discuss with all members of staff. Naturally, there have been a few changes in the last 9 years, not that these should make a difference to our standards. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one night only, a couple of weeks ago and could not fault any aspect of our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal in the restaurant and a relaxing night in a very comfortable room with all amenities. With a delicious full English breakfast to send us on our way, this made for a perfect place to stay. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again if visiting the local area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Warning: this review will not be useful to most visitors to the Beetle & Wedge, but anyway … arrived on an antique boat (1938 Brooks launch from the Norfolk Broads) complete with 6 adults and 6 small children. Moored outside hoping to come in for a quick pint.

Then realized it had turned in recent years into a posh ‘destination’ restaurant … so decided to pile back into the boat. We had not a blazer between us, and the rowdy kids would have disrupted many a birthday treat. Ferraris and Bentleys studded the car park.

At that point one of the 3-year-olds said “mummy, I need a poo … NOW”. And all of a sudden we had a movement on our hands, in every sense. Six children covered head-to-toe in ice cream, cookies, hula hoops, pork pies, all demanding a bathroom and needing to be shepherded through the crowds of sniffy diners.

Never been so glad to cast off back into the river.

To be fair to The Beetle & Wedge, the staff were terrifically understanding. And we feel obliged to come back for a meal after our team gave the facilities such a pounding, for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anders4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

You couldn't find a more lovely setting, stayed for 1 night, found everyone friendly the room was clean and comfortable, food was excellent both in the evening and the next morning at breakfast. Would definitely stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 01alan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for one night only in May and could not fault in any way , The room was clean and had every thing to make your stay very comfortable,the food great the location great but best af all the staff,if only all hotels etc could have staff like this they were so friendly.will be back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte B, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you, the team will be very happy to have read this, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were staying here for our 20th wedding anniversary, as we had our wedding lunch at the Boathouse back in 1994. The room was lovely - very spacious and well-appointed - although there was only a hand-held shower over the large roll top bath. Also no mixer tap on the sink so got a bit scalded by the (very) hot water tap! Lovely breakfast, but we were a little disappointed with the presentation of the dinner dishes. My husband’s steak looked a little pallid, and had an equally pallid sauce on the plate - no garnish. Vegetables served separately, which is good, but the initial presentation just not exciting enough. Lovely helpful staff, and overall a delightful stay which we would repeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.8 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
3.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
246 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
696 reviews
5.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
84 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing