We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful celebration lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moulsford-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful celebration lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just had a lunch party for approximately 40 people at the Beetle and Wedge Boathouse restaurant. They could not have been more accommodating. The whole day was perfect, the staff were very attentive and helpful, the meal was delicious. The setting is of course also lovely and attractive dining room gave us all wonderful views of the river. Thank you to all the staff. Friends of ours stayed in one of the B & B rooms and said it was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    58
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
37
138
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It was a return visit, and totally lived up to expectations.
Lovely room, delicious food, friendly staff, and of course a stunning location on the banks of the Thames.
The owners are spot on and rightly confident in the choices they offer to their guests.
The cooked breakfast was perfect!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
249 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in June. The staff were overwhelmingly excellent with our every request. It was a very nice location on the Thames River and very quiet despite the many patrons dining as they rooms are across the parking lot. Room #1 was delightful with a King sized bed and large bathroom and tub. The other evening we were in Room #2 which we did not find as luxurious - smaller bed, smaller tub, toilet had trouble flushing so choosing the right room made a difference. We had dined here about 9 years ago and were blown away with the food at dinner, but did not find the dinner this time as fabulous and choose not to dine the second night. The staff were not as attentive to the table of 8 diners next to us as they all chose their desserts and then no staff came to take their orders and they dispersed back to their hotels (missed opportunity). The breakfast was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagoehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte B, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have taken on board your comments & will discuss with all members of staff. Naturally, there have been a few changes in the last 9 years, not that these should make a difference to our standards. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for one night only, a couple of weeks ago and could not fault any aspect of our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal in the restaurant and a relaxing night in a very comfortable room with all amenities. With a delicious full English breakfast to send us on our way, this made for a perfect place to stay. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again if visiting the local area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Warning: this review will not be useful to most visitors to the Beetle & Wedge, but anyway … arrived on an antique boat (1938 Brooks launch from the Norfolk Broads) complete with 6 adults and 6 small children. Moored outside hoping to come in for a quick pint.

Then realized it had turned in recent years into a posh ‘destination’ restaurant … so decided to pile back into the boat. We had not a blazer between us, and the rowdy kids would have disrupted many a birthday treat. Ferraris and Bentleys studded the car park.

At that point one of the 3-year-olds said “mummy, I need a poo … NOW”. And all of a sudden we had a movement on our hands, in every sense. Six children covered head-to-toe in ice cream, cookies, hula hoops, pork pies, all demanding a bathroom and needing to be shepherded through the crowds of sniffy diners.

Never been so glad to cast off back into the river.

To be fair to The Beetle & Wedge, the staff were terrifically understanding. And we feel obliged to come back for a meal after our team gave the facilities such a pounding, for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anders4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

You couldn't find a more lovely setting, stayed for 1 night, found everyone friendly the room was clean and comfortable, food was excellent both in the evening and the next morning at breakfast. Would definitely stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 01alan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for one night only in May and could not fault in any way , The room was clean and had every thing to make your stay very comfortable,the food great the location great but best af all the staff,if only all hotels etc could have staff like this they were so friendly.will be back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte B, Manager at The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you, the team will be very happy to have read this, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulsford-on-Thames
1.7 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.0 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
7.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse

Property: The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
Address: Ferry Lane, Moulsford-on-Thames OX10 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Moulsford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moulsford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Beetle And Wedge Boathouse
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Hotel Moulsford On Thames
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse Moulsford-On-Thames, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing