We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
297
204
141
98
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
297
204
141
98
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant farm shop english restaurant glass of champagne double decker bus groupon deal red bus champagne on arrival copper bath london bus quirky place special occasion christmas present main building taster meal birthday treat sunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Would go again and would explore the other chain hotels! It's quirky but very cosy and clean. Lovely staff and very helpful. Had lots of fun and we could venture out to Oxford and Bicester within a small journey.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank racheljones91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were allocated room 13 which was described as a double however there wasn't room for two people getting ready without squeezing past or moving aside which isn't ideal when getting ready to go out for dinner. The double bed was pushed up against the window and was only accessible from one small side of the bed which meant climbing over one another to get out. There was no seating in the room as there wasn't space . No coffee or tea making facilities . There were small steps in the room and outside but were unmarked so a tripping hazard. The size of the space was only suitable for a single bed in reality. We asked to be moved but told the hotel was fully booked.

We paid £250 for the room plus a continental breakfast . This is a rip off for the quality of room we had and complained as such but was met with a stone wall from the duty manager and area manager we have contacted and they appear not to care at all as to the opinions of the guests .

If you wish to waste £250 then its a good nights stay .

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We arrived on a Sunday not expecting a table as no reservation had been made, the staff found us a table within minutes and a most enjoyable meal followed. Well done, attentive but discrete service throughout

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We travelled from Newcastle to visit the Crazy Bear, a gift from my husband as we rarely get us time. I don't want to write a scathing report as the place is beautiful but I have to be realistic, it is very expensive for what you got. I get the feeling style and decor outweighs the guest's actual experience and making money from expensive drinks and service charges. We did have a nice time as it is a case of what you make it but if guest satisfaction is important then the hotel should read the reviews as they all say the same thing. Putting the stay into context, we could of had a spa weekend with access to all the facilities, spa treatments, dinner bed and breakfast in a manor house for just about the same price as what we paid for one night at the Crazy Bear. Ps this was not a groupon deal

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Friends brought us a voucher for Christmas & we decided to use it in the summer & make a weekend of it, the service we received was first class service they just could not do enough for us, the food was first class we really enjoyed it & would definitely go back....

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lynette218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews