We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langsmeade House
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oxford Belfry(Milton Common)
US$135
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peacock(Henton)
US$199
US$194
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$945
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Travelodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
60
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle manoirperiod houseb bbooked lunchstayed hereselection of teasboth morningsovernight staylovely roommarianneensuitetaxioxfordrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for two nights when going to a friends daughters wedding at Notley Abbey, we were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. Our room was beautiful with everything we could wish for in it and Marrianne was attentive without being intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, slept well in a comfy bed, enjoyed a great breakfast each morning and had the benefit of a lift to and from the wedding venue! A lovely experience, thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent a memorable night recently at Langsmeade House with friends and enjoyed dinner at Le Manoir to celebrate a special birthday.I spent the following day telling friends and family about our accomodation rather than our experience at Le Manoir. The house is stunning and full of character and from the moment we arrived we felt at home. The house was quite and we all slept like babies in what can only be described as a very comfortable bed indeed. Nothing was too much trouble for the host including a free taxi to and from the reastaurant. We would have happily paid twice as much as we did for the experience and would highly recommend Landsmead House.

Please do not be put off in any way if the only double room available has no en-suite. The bathroom is immediately opposite and is full of everything you could want including enough towels for a small army.

Beautiful house, comfortable bed, spotless, homely, fantastic breakfast and a fabalous host. (Thank you Marianne). It wont be long before we return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Langsmeade is a wonderful old house, full of its own character and that of its lovely proprietor Marianne. I felt immediately at home there. The rooms are individually decorated with original period furniture and Marianne's books provide interest if you feel like reading. Real coffee is provided in the rooms along with cafetiere, which I loved, and Marianne makes a really good cooked breakfast with good quality meat and eggs. I stayed for three weeks and my room was cleaned daily and always felt fresh. Marianne went out of her way on several occasions to drop me off to nearby Thame and Milton common. As a long time resident of the area she knows all there is to know about what to do and see. She recommended a great nearby restaurant, Three Pigeons, which I now go back to regularly. I will be thoroughly recommending Langsmeade to anyone visiting the area for as long as Marianne is in charge. Look out for her on Channel 4's Four in a Bed!

Room Tip: The rooms are all excellent and the first floor bathroom large and well fitted with period tiling
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nottorydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What can I say ... Im a well travelled traveller.... ive experienced the best of the best and the pits of the worst.
This is without doubt on my hidden gem list. Set in the heart of Oxfordshire, just of the M40, absolutely no road noise whatsoever. What a stunning property, set in 3 acres of lovely gardens, with a magnificently presented house. The entrance is grand as is the lounge and impeccably kept and presented, the rooms are very chic n classy set in an Art Deco type theme but beautifully presented.
The owner Maryanne is just as the heading describes. Very pleasing always attentive and just lets you get on . If your looking for a night away with the partneror just a stopover give her a call and tell her what your doing she cant help you enough.
This is now without doubt my new weekend away place to stay ....just bloody fab.

Room Tip: for couples thers a lovely choice of rooms all great n top floor does very warm n welcoming single rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here in September 2012. We needed somewhere close to Raymond Blanc's ' Le Manoir aux Quat Saisons' and this was close by. When I rang the lovely Dutch lady who owns the house, she asked if we were eating at Le Manoir because if we were she would provide a free taxi service there and back which was a lovely touch. The rooms are beautifully furnished with unusual but exquisite pieces of Dutch furniture. We were greeted with tea and biscuits and the breakfast was wonderful. The bathroom was stocked with every conceivable toiletry one might need which was a thoughtful gesture. Would definitely return , can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Collybet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews