We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Pretty spacious cottage hidden away from the world!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty spacious cottage hidden away from the world!
Approached via long private driveway across  farmland Large comfortable living room with plenty of seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Pretty spacious cottage hidden away from the world!
Approached via long private driveway across  farmland
Large comfortable living room with plenty of seating
Dining in the very large open plan living room
Cheeky deer munching in the garden!
Summer at The Well House
Modern fitted and well equipped kitchen
Big modern kitchen with breakfast bar
Bedroom One with comfy King bed & quality White Company bedlinen
Views to the fields beyond from Bedroom One
Bedroom 2,  another bright and spacious room with wardrobe
Bed 2 with comfy Hypnos double bed
Views from Bed 2
Upstairs modern bathroom
Full size bath with shower over. Molton Brown soaps
Ground floor twin bedded room with ensuite
Ensuite shower room
Dining area with doors to sun terrace, chairs for 6 guests
Kick back, relax after a day sight seeing, walking or shopping!
National Trust Woodland on the doorstep!
Private sun area with outside dining table & chairs
Springtime at The Well House!
Acres of stunning Spring bluebells in nearby Aston Wood
Lots of country walks with country residents to meet!
Part of The Talking Trail in adjacent Aston Rowant National Nature Reserve
Glorious walks in Aston Rowant National Nature Reserve
misty winter walk in local woods
winter walks on the doorstep
A winter wonderland!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn and...
Okato, New Zealand
1 review
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is quite the best holiday let that we have ever stayed in. The cottage is superbly appointed, with everything that you could possibly need and with the real feeling of a home. Owner Alison was extremely helpful (even doing some shopping for us ahead of our arrival! Very welcome for two tired Kiwis after a long flight from NZ.) The setting in the woods, with squirrels, pheasants, and muntjac deer, is remarkable. There are walks available right from the house (and a delightfully friendly dog to accompany you, if you wish...) We were lucky enough to experience the emergence of the bluebells in the woods, with a carpet of blue under the trees. Every visitor who came to see us also remarked on what a wonderful place it was. We can recommend it without reservation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Hello
Delighted we could make your arrival just a little easier for you after such a long trip.
Pleased all your visits and celebrations went well and hope to see you again if you can bear the journey from New Zealand!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
We appreciate your positive feedback and pleased you enjoyed your short break away visiting many of our local attractions.
Thank you, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennifer...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Self catering Accommodation ever!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from our stay at The Well House and what a find it was! We were greeted by the charming and helpful owner Alison. The cottage was everything we had hoped for and more besides. Over the years we have rented a lot of properties and I have got to say this was the best we have ever stayed in. Well House was so spacious, in the most beautiful surroundings and so superbly equipped - Alison had thought about everything. All aspects of the property were of such a high standard of fitments and fittings, even down to high quality toiletries in the bathrooms. We were even greeted with an excellent starter pack which was so welcome upon our arrival. The location was excellent for exploring the area in so many directions and within 5 miles there is a train link into London. We would highly recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quality of everything provided. Location is stunning
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay in the cottage. Delighted that you enjoyed some relaxing family time and got in lots of outings together in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Delighted you all enjoyed your first England visit - hope to see you again. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc B
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Normally I would write in detail about the accomodation, area and hospitality but in the case of The Well House one word describes everything......EXCELLENT! My fiance and I could not have wished for more. We do a lot of trips away in this country and this is has been the best self-catering accomodation by far. Nothing negative to say at all. We are already planning a return and will hopefully be regulars for many years to come. Thank you so much Alison for your hospitality. You have a hidden gem here. It's just a shame I am letting everyone in on the secret as it will be harder for us to find availability in the future with you...Jane and Marc

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Standard of Property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
What can we say in response! Thank you for your kind words, we aim to please!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Glad you all enjoyed a restful break. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claire R
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Really lovely cottage, high quality appliances, very clean and tidy. Access to walks from the cottage was great and very nice to be able to sit outside and with the whole family in the large sitting room.

You could see Red Kites from the cottage which was a highlight.

Not so close to Oxford but very easy access to the main roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Generally excellent
Liked least: no negative feedback to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing