We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went for a midweek birthday treat, we had bought a voucher for a night with dinner and breakfast, and it was well worth it ! the hotel was clean friendly bed was soft pillows nice, maybe a bit of tlc in places but all in all very nice Thame didn't have a lot to offer but we found a couple of pubs had some lunch bought some wine and chilled in our room until dinner... Dinner was wonderful well presented and there wasn't anything we couldn't have, really nice, the same at breakfast .

Room Tip: 16 is by the stairs so you hear people coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for your praise of the hotel and food. Your comments have been passed on to my team who are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    153
    103
    91
    58
See reviews for
88
248
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked a one night stay with dinner through a well known voucher company and set off to Thame to find the Spread Eagle. The hotel is recently refurbished and we were met by a lovely receptionist and shown to room 32, a garden room. It was beautifully decorated and we could use the garden as well. The room although wonderfuliy decorated just needed a few extra touches to make it perfect, a valance around the bed base,tissues, a mirror over the dressing table and a wardrobe that can be shut with more than one item in it, it was just too small. The bed was really comfortable and we slept well so these are just observations rather than issues. The restaurant served a wonderful 3 course meal and the staff were so attentive. Breakfast was similar and there was plenty to eat.There is little to do in Thame but it is a great place to stop for a visit to Oxford or Blenheim palace.

Room Tip: you need to pay £3 for the car park behind, which is not well signposted, but youget this back in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balloo_ka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments about the few "Finishing Touches" have been taken on board and we hope you notice these when you next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in one of the hotels refurbished suites. It is extremely spacious and fitted out to a high standard. The hotel ideally located to visit the beautiful surrounding area or for a day trip to London

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbB4446VU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for you kind words with regards to your recent stay with us. After such hard work and effort refurbishing our rooms it is wonderful to hear that we have done things right. We look forward to seeing you again at our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we had a function to attend at the hotel on the evening of the 17th may 2014. We have a few similar events we attend throughout the year and recently we have received sub standard food. But not at this hotel!

When we booked our room we weer aware it was a room that had not been refurbished but it was very clean and very comfortable. We had a very restful night and a good night sleep.

The food at the event was lovely, well cooked, hot and served on hot plates! The staff were very helpful and very nice throughout the hotel and we could not find fault.

A short review but one that I hope will help the reader. We would love to visit again and no doubt will. Thanks guys for a great evening and stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazysheepmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to my team, and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for one night on the 21st May 2014 for a birthday treat to myself which I shared with my Mother. It was through an Amazon deal which I got a good price. The deal stated one night with a three course dinner, there was no mention of breakfast the next morning so I rang thehotel to check and they confirmed that breakfast was indeed included - very nice. Driving through Thame high street gave a very good impression of what to expect, a very nice little town. You could see the hotel from the high street although it was at the front, there was no indication of where the car park was. I turned right into the first entrance and luckily found it by chance. There was enough parking spaces though it is shared with the public and does cost £3.00 for a 24 hour stay, this can be redeemed at the bar for a soft or hot drink - though we forgot to use ours! Checking in was no problem at all and we arrived earlier than the advertised check in which was not a problem. We had a double room and they asked if we wanted a twin and happily changed it for us. Only that it was upstairs and our original room was on the ground floor which was ideal for my elderly mother. Due to the type of building there are no lifts. Someone helped us with our bags to our rooms which took ages to get to, but we were then shown a shortcut. I understand why we did not go that way with the bags as the stairs were very steep. The room was nice - number 24. Very clean and spacious. I would say it was slightly worn, but definitely not dirty and not a problem as it was not a 4 or 5 star hotel. The bed and bedding were very good and comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size although they need to put a warning about the step down to the bathroom as when you open the bathroom door you do not see it straight away. Again a little bit dated such as the gold coloured taps were faded, but too be honest this really was not a problem as it was very clean. We went for a walk through the town as it was a lovely day. It was a pleasant walk and everyone was very friendly. There are pubs to pop into and places to eat. We had a meal booked at the hotel. The dining room is really nicely decorated and comfortable. The service was very good. However, we were disappointed in the main course, we both ordered lamb shank and when it arrived it was extemely pale! It looked as if it had been boiled and was meant to be placed in the oven for roasting but like someone had forgotten that bit. The veg was also a bit bland. We did not complain which is unlike me, but the staff and the service had been so good and to be honest we were quite full with the starter and the wine that my mother asked me not to complain! Perhaps I should have returned it so they knew it was not right. We did not go to the bar as we both wanted to relax as we had stopped off at Bicester on the way and was a bit tired. We stayed up having a good old catch up. We went down for breakfast the next morning at around 8.30am. There was a cold buffet where you could help yourself to a wide choice. We also had a cooked breakfast of a full English which was lovely, really enjoyed it and it set us up for the day. Check out was easy no problems at all. Whilst loading the car, a very nice gentleman in the car park asked us how our stay was and did we enjoy it. He then introduced himself to us as the owner and hoped we would come again. I would definitely stay there again and have recommended it to a friend who is planning a visit with her mother also. I have read some of the negative comments and understand that everyone has a different experience. What i would say is that do not expect a 5* if youi pay for a 3*. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was very clean. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If travelling with elderly request a ground floor room as there are no lifts and the stairs are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Recently I took a group of family and friends to two 'Tribute Evenings' at the Spread. We had really enjoyable evenings and a great time at well presented and organised events and at such modest prices. Everyone wants to go again and we will.
These well organised evenings were a tribute to the hotel and its staff - and what a change from the telly to be out with other people and have live entertainment.
Well done the 'Spread'

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at the Spread Eagle as part of a large wedding party. When travelling for such a special occasion its very hard to comment on the weekend with any negativity as we all had such a fabulous time however I really feel that The Spread Eagle let down the couple who got married, and chose this hotel for their guests to stay in, and this is why I feel I need to comment so that other brides and grooms are aware of our experience.

I heard a few stories in the lead up to our stay where guests were asked to call and pre-book their rooms, some were charged, some were not, some were charged twice where bookings were duplicated – then refunds for deposits refused at first due to cancellation charges (even though this was the hotels error) so it was hardly surprising that we all experienced issues with our room rates when checking out, some guests being charged a difference of £40 - £50 for the same room type. My advice would be to pre-pay if you are offered a special weekend or group rate so that this doesn’t happen in the future. As mentioned before in other reviews the staff were less than helpful or friendly when it came to adjusting our bills and the manager accused the groom of being “aggressive” when he was clearly upset and frustrated that so many of his party had been over charged, there was no apology for the errors that had been made.

On first impressions the hotel looks lovely, very modern with a little bling and each room that I saw had been decorated or refurbished although it lacked some finishing touches such as a place to store things in the bathroom or anything to hold on to while stepping in and out of the very deep and slippery baths, there was also no extractor fan so after we had both showered (cold – lukewarm showers only) the room was damp, the only mirror was in the bathroom so this was frustrating.
Some rooms had a fridge and some didn’t. Some bed side lamps were not working and it was difficult to open and lock the doors out onto the garden area. A few of the guests offered some feedback when we left so that the refurbishments could be added to however we were advised that “this wasn’t our problem” and nothing would be done about it, when we suggested that we would comment on Trip Advisor the manager told us that “the next wedding party wasn’t for another two months and they wouldn’t bother to read our comments”

A few of the other wedding guests have already commented on the experience we had at this hotel but the general attitude of the management, and also the other staff who didn’t look in our direction when passing in the corridor, let alone smile or say hello was what pushed me to adding my thoughts.

To the Bride and Groom - We all had a truly fabulous weekend with you and I hope you understand these comments are not a reflection of the months of work you put into making the weekend so magical. It was a “good effort” xx

To The spread Eagle – You have some serious work to do!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank La-la-S-706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerThame, Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments. This is the first time that we have received a negative review from guests staying with us during a wedding. There was a technical problem with our system hence the discrepancies in room rates but this has now been resolved. I can assure you that customer experience and service is always our first priority and hope that we will see you again so you can see what The Spread Eagle is really all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thame hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thame
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing