We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“500 year old tradition with 5 year old amenities - best in Thame”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've just checked out of the Swan Hotel in Thame and I've been so pleased with the atmosphere and the service I wanted to share this buried treasure with others looking for a home away from home. Thame is my favorite traditional market town where everything seems to be in easy walking distance, yet it is a short drive to Oxford and London is easily accessible. I used to stay at the Spread Eagle, but then about five years ago The Swan did a major renovation in a 15th century building to convert a handful of rooms above a Free House into what is now my favorite little inn. The rooms are neat, clean, and stylish and the free wi-fi is very convenient. You can choose between rooms with phones and rooms without. The breakfasts have been delicious, the pub is a great place to hang out. But the best part of our stay has been meeting the proprietor and the staff who have provided a warm personal touch. I imagine that this small hotel may often be full, but from now on, I will be making my reservations well in advance to ensure a room at the Swan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed on Saturday night at this lovely atmospheric pub/hotel in Thame as we were lunching at the nearby Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons.

What a great choice! The bedroom was compact, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed ensured we had a great night's sleep before enjoying a fabulous cooked breakfast.

Friendly, attentive service from the owners and a very relaxed atmosphere in the pub makes this a very good choice for a stopover in Thame.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IanGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed with my wife for 1 night , it was a Saturday and when we booked were informed loud music possible in bar that night so we were offered newly refurbished double well away from bar and in fact we heard very little noise.

Room was not over large but had everything necessary for short stay and bathroom and bedroom were very clean.

We must mention breakfast which was sensational and freshly cooked to order

Overall this is a pleasant place to stay with friendly hosts and in our experience of Thame easily the best place to pass a weekend.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank woolgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Picked the Swan as the perfect base location for a motorcycle trip in Oxfordshire/Buckinghamshire. Professionally run hotel, very nice hosts, good food, no complaints at all. Will certainly stop by again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A pub-hotel really delicious ...
It is located in central and strategic position, Nik and Richard are very friendly and the breakfast is fabulous! Not to be missed, especially during weekend: Saturday also great live music!
Deborah from Italy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahKimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 (couple).

Managed to get a room at the last minute (having been double booked elsewhere) and were very happy. The hotel is going through a refurbishment and some disruption might have been accepted. However there was no issue with that.

The room was up some steep stairs (what do you expect in a 16th century building?) but very clean and comfortable. Obviously newly decorated and some very nice touches.

The owner was very accommodating, dealing with our late arrival and the unfortunately noisy and even later arrival of some visitors.

Breakfast was very good and overall the experience was great.

I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I have stayed at the Swan at least once a year for several years. The new owners are very welcoming and attentive to details. They have done a great job with the upgrades and in particular the bathrooms. Breakfast is fantastic and it is nice to experience the Bar and socialize with the locals before retiring for the evening. The rooms are quiet even though close to the Bar. Lots of character and a refreshing change from the Hotel Chains!

Room Tip: I've always he'd the room a the very top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
4.9 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
225 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,781 reviews
7.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 9 Upper High Street, Thame OX9 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range: £88 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel is in the heart of Thame. The Swan is a lovely 15th century building and because of this we can not provide wheelchair access for our guests. Here at The Swan we have 5 en suite double bedrooms all of our booking prices include a cooked breakfast in the morning. Internet access is available all over the hotel.Thursday, Fridays and Saturdays we have event on in the bar downstairs. We also have an outside smoking area for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing