We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim Accomodation”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Reviewed 11 August 2007

Hotel was quite expensive but we booked it as it is the centre of this Oxfordshire town. It looks nice on the hotel web page.

This hotel has no reception area except the bar and access to our room was up some very narrow and steep stairs. Definitely not suitable for non mountain climbers!

The toilet in our room stank and did not flush. When we pointed this out to the staff we were informed that the hotel was " quirky".
We only managed to get the toilet to flush twice over 3 days and ended up buying a air freshener.

Staff failed to inform us that breakfast would not be served until 08.30 at weekends which meant a hours walk around town awaiting something to eat. breakfast was basic but nice and the waitress was pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSwanHotel_1, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

The Swan Hotel has been under new management since September 2012 we would like to point out this review was posted in 2007 when we did not own The Swan since then The Swan has been completely refurbished and brought back to life. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the narrow stair cases because this is a 15th Century Hotel with great character build in to it. We no longer have the toilet problems as all the bathrooms have been replaced as would encourage you to come back and visit us soon! Breakfast is served from 8.30 onwards at weekends and weekdays 7.30 onwards.

Thank you
All The Staff at The Swan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Am schönsten sind die Zimmer in Richtung Themse mit ihren kleinen gemütlichen Terrassen, die einlade...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank umoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Az udvari szobák iszonyatosan hangosak, a földszinti pub az udvarra is kitelepült, aludni lehetetlen...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ágnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
221 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 9 Upper High Street, Thame OX9 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range: £85 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel is in the heart of Thame. The Swan is a lovely 15th century building and because of this we can not provide wheelchair access for our guests. Here at The Swan we have 5 en suite double bedrooms all of our booking prices include a cooked breakfast in the morning. Internet access is available all over the hotel.Thursday, Fridays and Saturdays we have event on in the bar downstairs. We also have an outside smoking area for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing