We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just the job!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Court Hill Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wantage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Court Hill Centre
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just the job!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

As with many people who stay here, we were walking the Ridgeway.This hostel is so convenient only a few minutes off the path after a long day's walking. Its a typical hostel environment with dorms although they have plenty of smaller rooms to sleep 4 people. The showers aren't great and could do with replacing but the public areas are pleasant. The location is perfect with amazing views and plenty of outdoor seating areas. Inside is a kitchen for guest to prepare their own food with a large traditional dining hall. What I liked was the 'chill-out' area with low benches and big cushions to relax. It was pretty quiet when we stayed so as it got dark it did become a little spooky!
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way. We had a nice breakfast for £4.50 each.
Its cheap and cheerful but its a good hostel.

Room Tip: if its quiet you may get your own room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just stayed with friends at this wonderful place. The views of the surrounding countryside are to die for. Fantastic walking on doorstep. I shall definately return. Thank you Court Hill.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iangengunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

I came to this hostel for one night during our weekend ridgeway hike. There was a group of 8 and we all shared one big dormatory with spectacular views, especially at night! The beds were managable and the room was average. The kitchen was a squish between us and another group staying and some essential equipment was missing like cheese graters and baking trays. The hostel is set in the beautiful hills.
Just what you would expect of a 2 star.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We are a family of YHA members with experience in camping and lodging in various YHA hostels in and around the UK.

On planning our 2008 tour we relied on an out of date YHA brosure. This showed a hostel called 'The Ridgeway'. However when we tried to book through the YHA main office it transpired that The Ridgeway was no longer in the YHA family.

On arrival we found the place neading a good clean and the overall impression was one of neglect. This place neeeds a complete overhall. The rooms had cobwebs everywhere and the facilities were dirty and inadequate. The kitchen was dirty, dirty cookers, dirty floors and bits of the very old and tatty kitchen cabinets and decoration falling off. We were told that the YHA had wanted a long lease and wished to plough considerable funds into the place and the owners had not agreed to this. Such a shame as it has good views from the Ridgeway.

The chickens which liked to come into the kitchen caused some amusement for our children. However there is a hygene issue here.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — All the rest of it
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courthill1, Manager at Court Hill Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2009
We are sorry that this wasn't a good stay. Customers feeding the chickens was a bit of a problem and made them over familiar. There are no chickens in the grounds now. There were many jobs to do to smarten the building up when it was taken over form YHA, but every where is cleaned daily. Some customers are very disappointed that we are no longer a YHA hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
1.6 mi away
The Crab & Boar
The Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.9 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 12 in Wantage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alfred's Lodge
Alfred's Lodge
#2 of 12 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.2 mi away
Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast
Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in West Challow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Fontana
La Fontana
#1 of 1 in East Hanney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Hill Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Hill Centre

Property: Court Hill Centre
Address: Court Hill, Wantage OX12 9NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wantage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wantage
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hostel campground ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Court Hill Centre Wantage, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing