We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Non youths or indeed walkers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Court Hill Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wantage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Court Hill Centre
Kent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Non youths or indeed walkers”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here the first weekend in March 2013. We were a mixed sex group of 10 between 32 - 42 years old. I personally have never stayed in a hostel before so please bear that in mind when reading the review.

To begin with it is hard to find, the website provides a general 'how to get here' but misses off the vital point on which to exit the road, we arrived in pitch black and had passed it twice before receiving directions from one of the party who had arrived prior to us.

We stayed in the 4 to a room section. 2 bunk beds, a chair and a sink. The mattresses had a plastic covering and whilst not the worst I have ever slept in they were far from comfortable. Clean linen was provided to make the beds, this was a plus point, crisp white linen is always nice. Slightly soured however by the discovery of empty sweet wrappers and dirty socks in the beds. The rooms were warm at night, and locked by a key.

The kitchen is pretty well stocked utensil wise, we were lucky to be there at the same time as only one other party. The large pots and pans were limited so I can imagine when it is at full occupancy cooking could become an issue. The kitchen is also domestic kitchen size so could potentially be tight on space if lots of separate people were trying to cook. When comparing it o other self catering places I have stayed there were major pluses; large supply of crockery, mugs and cutlery. The knives were sharp and the chopping boards of a decent size, glasses were in short supply but as previously mentioned plenty of mugs so a solution is available.

The loung/dining room and tv snug is huge, a really beautiful open space but it was freezing. Plenty of table space, 3 or 4 large tables and some smaller ones. we sat 10 to the table and had plenty of room. The lounge area has a wood burner, tables and seating for about 25 people. there are also books available to keep you occupied. The tv snug is above the lounge area and as such should share the heat from the chimney breast, a smaller amount of seating is available here, perhaps enough for 10-15 people seated closely.

On our first night we lit the fire and burnt the small basket of logs available, this was inadequate heating for a room this size and barely removed the chill, we could still see our breath in the air it was that cold.. When, in the morning, I asked for more logs I was informed that staff had informed our group not to burn all the logs as they were needed to last both nights, sadly I hadn't been aware of this when lighting the fire so I apologised. However a supply of 11 logs is insufficient for one night let alone two, it is apparently the end of the season and their log supply was finished...march has always been cold to my recollection and as such I feel this was a situation that needed rectifying. They provided another 8 logs and a supply of kindling for the second night, we had offered to pay for more but clearly this is what they deemed enough. We ended up nipping to the garage and bought a couple of nets of logs. This supply warmed the room up properly and I would recommend this to anyone. Perhaps the hostel could provide the option of buying more logs on site for people?

The showers were appalling, the choice was either a powerful shower in freezing cold water or a dribble in lukewarm water. The toilets were basic, not the cleanest and freezing, lack of adequate hand-drying facilities only serve to compound the coldness, a near useless hand-dryer is provided but will take an age to dry anything.

Positioning was wonderful, amazing views and I imagine on a clear day the view can only get better. The ridgeway is accessible by foot and the greyhound pub in the local village provide a warm welcome for weary walkers

Overall for £37 per personfor two nights i shouldn't complain, it was better than I expected from a hostel. I feel resolving the shower and log issue could only go towards making it as attractive as it's location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Lovely place, impressive views. We didn't actually stay here, we were walking along the ridgeway when we stopped here for a drink and food. The service was awful, the girl was rude and did not want customers, even though we were the only people there. Awful service, wouldn't suggest anyone come here unless no other choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aemcjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were walking the Ridgeway a couple of weeks ago. The weather was getting pretty stormy and night was fast approaching so we were relieved to find ourselves close to the Courthill Centre. We rang to check it would be ok to stay and were surprised to find that they were not able to accommodate a tiny backpackers tent because they had a school group in. This was on a weekday evening. All the other campsites we'd stayed in were practically empty, even at weekends with the terrible June weather we've had this year.

Luckily a kind person let us camp in their sheltered garden and even let us use their outdoor loo.

Apologies if it is unfair reviewing somewhere you haven't actually stayed as poor - it may be lovely but it maybe useful for other walkers to know our experience. Check for school groups first!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

As with many people who stay here, we were walking the Ridgeway.This hostel is so convenient only a few minutes off the path after a long day's walking. Its a typical hostel environment with dorms although they have plenty of smaller rooms to sleep 4 people. The showers aren't great and could do with replacing but the public areas are pleasant. The location is perfect with amazing views and plenty of outdoor seating areas. Inside is a kitchen for guest to prepare their own food with a large traditional dining hall. What I liked was the 'chill-out' area with low benches and big cushions to relax. It was pretty quiet when we stayed so as it got dark it did become a little spooky!
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way. We had a nice breakfast for £4.50 each.
Its cheap and cheerful but its a good hostel.

Room Tip: if its quiet you may get your own room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just stayed with friends at this wonderful place. The views of the surrounding countryside are to die for. Fantastic walking on doorstep. I shall definately return. Thank you Court Hill.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iangengunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I came to this hostel for one night during our weekend ridgeway hike. There was a group of 8 and we all shared one big dormatory with spectacular views, especially at night! The beds were managable and the room was average. The kitchen was a squish between us and another group staying and some essential equipment was missing like cheese graters and baking trays. The hostel is set in the beautiful hills.
Just what you would expect of a 2 star.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We are a family of YHA members with experience in camping and lodging in various YHA hostels in and around the UK.

On planning our 2008 tour we relied on an out of date YHA brosure. This showed a hostel called 'The Ridgeway'. However when we tried to book through the YHA main office it transpired that The Ridgeway was no longer in the YHA family.

On arrival we found the place neading a good clean and the overall impression was one of neglect. This place neeeds a complete overhall. The rooms had cobwebs everywhere and the facilities were dirty and inadequate. The kitchen was dirty, dirty cookers, dirty floors and bits of the very old and tatty kitchen cabinets and decoration falling off. We were told that the YHA had wanted a long lease and wished to plough considerable funds into the place and the owners had not agreed to this. Such a shame as it has good views from the Ridgeway.

The chickens which liked to come into the kitchen caused some amusement for our children. However there is a hygene issue here.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — All the rest of it
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courthill1, Manager at Court Hill Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2009
We are sorry that this wasn't a good stay. Customers feeding the chickens was a bit of a problem and made them over familiar. There are no chickens in the grounds now. There were many jobs to do to smarten the building up when it was taken over form YHA, but every where is cleaned daily. Some customers are very disappointed that we are no longer a YHA hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
8.3 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
701 reviews
2.9 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 11 in Wantage
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast
Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in West Challow
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alfred's Lodge
Alfred's Lodge
#2 of 11 in Wantage
62 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Fontana
La Fontana
#1 of 1 in East Hanney
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Hill Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Hill Centre

Property: Court Hill Centre
Address: Court Hill, Wantage OX12 9NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Wantage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wantage
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hostel campground ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Court Hill Centre Wantage, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing