We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Alfred's Lodge

Alfred's Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alfred's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Wantage B&B and Inns
Narberth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife has been staying at Alfred's Lodge quite regularly while working in Wantage. This is the best B&B that she has found in the area, it is just a few minutes walk from the centre of Wantage. The rooms are great and she feels very comfortable there and always had a good welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
19
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

B&B is in an excellent location, only a few minutes walk from the centre of Wantage. Rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable, all en-suite, with flat-screen TVs and wi-fi. Breakfast was very good, with a large selection including gluten-free options. Friendly and helpful owner. The B&B has its own car park - this isn't quite big enough for the number of rooms but it's not difficult to find a parking space in the street. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Staff were very accommodating to our needs as we needed to arrive late evening and have a small child. Room was quiet, clean and had all required amenities and a very comfy bed! Breakfast was very good and the place had a very welcoming and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The B&B was in a great location with ample parking. Clean, comfortable and well equipped bedrooms all with bathrooms. A huge selection at breakfast with gluten free options. Jane was a very friendly owner who even sent on a library book I left behind!! If you need somewhere to stay in this area I fully recommend Alfred's lodge. It was perfect. My sister and husband were also staying and they too found this b&b exceptional. We were all at a wedding and they offered help with local services and extended checkouts. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 219Lawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is conveniently situated near to
the centre of Wantage. The room was clean and fresh and the beds comfortable. We would have benefited from an additional bed side lamp as there was only one and this made reading difficult and I think perhaps a more elegant solution to clothes hanging than a rack could be found. This obstructed the window.
The public areas did have a rather tired appearance which would have put me off if I had just turned up without a booking.
The breakfast was good and the staff very pleasant.
Overall a perfectly agreeable and pleasant stay but not at the top of the list of the many similar establishments in which we have stayed where ambience and relative value for money has been better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkpunch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Situated in a large detached house in a quiet area close to centre of this small town, parking on site or in road nearby. Has about 10 rooms – ours was very clean, well decorated and in good condition. Had flat screen TV, beautiful shower room, very comfortable bed, ample tea and coffee making supplies, wifi signal was weak on upper floor and was good downstairs. English breakfast was good with cereals, croissants, yoghurt, fruit, etc, available. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Room was spacious with all conveniences you need. Bed very comfortable. Good location to walk into wantage. Only slight drawbacks was the water pressure for the shower and the lack of parking. Other than that a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scaramanga1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
3.5 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
170 reviews
4.7 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,114 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 10 in Wantage
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast
Manor Farm Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in West Challow
116 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Fontana
La Fontana
#1 of 1 in East Hanney
117 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Volunteer Inn
The Volunteer Inn
#3 of 4 in Wantage
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfred's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred's Lodge

Property: Alfred's Lodge
Address: 23 Ormond Road, Wantage OX12 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Wantage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wantage
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfred's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alfred's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfred's Lodge Wantage, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing