We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming yes, amenities, no” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
382 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Charming yes, amenities, no”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here to be close to my client's offices. It's a very convenient location in the center of town and you can walk to shops, restaurants and the Vale & Downland museum (a charming little find). If you're looking for old world charm, this is the place. If you, like me, prefer modern amenities, you won't find them here. I must have showered too late in the morning as hot water was barely there. On Saturday morning it was scalding hot (I must have been one of the only guests). I'm pretty short and I had to duck walking down the hallway.

The bar is nice to hang out, have a pint and some dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    46
    57
    27
    15
See reviews for
40
51
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Been to Wantage a number of times but 1st time staying here overnight. The restaurant food is very good indeed but as a hotel it is OK. They are trying to improve the rooms and their is limited choice in Wantage. Weekends can be noisy especially if the market is on in the square then you're woken at 5am by them setting the stalls up. Breakfast is reasonable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scaramanga1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwell, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here overnight to attend a wedding at Lains Barn, very well situated in the middle of Wantage. Parking was available at the back of the market square. Room was clean and adaquate, bed very comfortable, we were in the annex and got a very good nights sleep. Lively bar on Saturday night and welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast was tasty but there wasn't a great amount of it. No criticisms really and I would return if I was in this area again. Alfred the Greats statue is worth a look. Tip get a list of local cabs drivers and book one before you go out, taxis are not readily available unless you book. Stuart cabs was very reliable.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night ask to be at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainecane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The Bear in Wantage could be very nice. It's an old coaching in with courtyard on the market square overlooking King Alfred's statue. The rooms however are in desperate need of a makeover. In our room, which I was told was the biggest in the hotel, I couldn't stand up in the shower as the ceiling height was too low. I'm 6ft 4... Talk but not enormous. Anyone over 6ft would have had a cricked neck... Or a bath.

The bed was cheap and uncomfortable, the walls were dirty with finger marks, the wardrobe space was minuscule.

Breakfast was okay. But the lady in charge was not customer oriented, and seemed to be irritated when asked for simplest things like toast (which I noted was her putting some already toasted cold bread back into the toaster for a warm-over).

All in all not great. But the choice in Wantage is limited.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wantage hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having eaten at The Bear over the past 43 years I was very disappointed a few weeks ago when we met up with friends who still live in the area, as we do on a regular basis, and had a meal at The Bear again as we usually do. Two of us had the Rump of Lamb,which consisted of 3 small pieces of lamb on what can only be described as a mush of onion and potato with a couple of baby carrots resting on it which was priced @ £18. Another friend had Duck salad which consisted of a plate full of salad with 6 small pieces of Duck, which took some finding, priced @ £12. These meals did not suggest value for money in any way.
Our starters and puddings were fine and the service good, although nobody came back to ask if our meals were okay.
What made matters worse was the fact that I E Mailed The Bear on 22nd May making these comments and they could not even be bothered to reply.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Best burger I have had in the UK.....& I like burgers. So good, my mouth is watering right now thinking about it, & not stupidly expensive. Chips are great too! Yumm. Oh, & make sure you have a napkin on your lap as very juicy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nidpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently stayed her for a friends wedding and had a great time! When we were checking in I had asked if it was possible to get an early check-in so that we had plenty of time to get ready for the wedding and without an extra charge we were able to check-in as early as three hours before standard check-in time. As for the wedding party itself we all agreed that the meal was great, large portions and very tasty. All during the event the staff where more than helpful, polite and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
3.2 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hotel

Property: Bear Hotel
Address: Market Place, Wantage OX12 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Wantage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Wantage, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing