We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No customer service”
Review of Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Certificate of Excellence
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No customer service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Gosh! Too many complaints to mention but don't bother writing to the owner on said complaints as you will not even have your letters acknowledged, I didn't. Avoid this place unless you want to return to an unmade up room,an incorrect bill and hopeless service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank annedalekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    43
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
64
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed one night mid-week. The Dinner was faultless, as was the service. The accommodation is new and feels unfinished. We stayed in room 3, a ground floor double, clean and well presented, but the view is of a larchlap fence 2 feet from the window. There was no towel rail in the bathroom, and although there was hot water in the evening there was none from the taps in the morning (electric shower OK though).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCCLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

5 of us went for Sunday lunch 3 weeks ago. I venture this place should be Mitchelin 2 star. Service great by the seniors and the youngsters.Best sirloin for months, best gravy EVER. The roasts were tip top as were the veg. Linen napkins, very good espresso. An improvement? Champagne by the glass. A half bottle would do the trick. If we did not live 2 hours drive , it would be most Sundays.

Room Tip: wwe did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjlbjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Star Inn is in a small village and not far from Wantage and was an ideal place to stop for one night after working nearby.

The rooms are still a work in progress - we chose the best available (number 8) which is a small suite. There are still a few issues to be sorted as the place is still quite new, for example no soap tray in the shower (which was good), not much embellishment in the bedroom itself but our comments were noted.

The main reason to come though is to eat, the chef has an excellent track record and the menu was interesting and all the dishes we tried worked out well. The let down is the wine list and having looked in advance at the list on-line we asked about BYO which they agreed to. The management are aware the wine list needs improvement and will be taking steps to develop this.

It was a quiet Thursday evening in the restaurant and only two staff on duty at front of house but service was very polished and everybody in the place was very friendly.

This is a place with real potential to improve and the attitude is right to do this. We will certainly return if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have not yet been refurbished so check in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went to Star Inn on Friday for dinner and wow we were impressed. Its a little hamlet off the beaten track but well worth the effort of getting there. From the moment we arrived we felt most welcome. As we walked to the front door we were greeted by the gentlemen that runs this place and from then on the service continued, very friendly and efficient staff. The food was also excellent not your average menu some different things but everything we had was delicious. The price we paid for the standard of food I think was reasonable £88 for 3 courses and a bottle of wine for 2. Def a talented chef and my main course especially (turbot) was of equal standard to a michelin star resturant I visited in London recently. Only comment on food was they seem to like millett which was in both my dishes and I was not too keen on that but still enjoyed the rest immensely. Def havent had this standard of food in a pub/restaurant around here for a long time, will def make the effort to go back and def worth a visit if you are in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We needed somewhere to stay that was local for an event we were attending and came across this online. The room was super, the Staff were great (especially Mike) and breakfast was delicious. All in all a great stay! Thanks for having us Danni & Josh

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

About 2 years ago this was a scruffy pub and now it is a very plain, but tastefully decorated restaurant which is staffed by extremely friendly young people. If you are happy with quite rich food, some combinations were very unusual but certainly worked, and smallish portions then you have found the right place. We had guinea fowl which sort of worked, it had been boned and rolled up to look like a fat pale sausage and sadly was tough and dry but I would say ten out of ten for trying! Their prices are quite toppy and the wine list, although it has to cater for a wide ranging audience, could benefit from some advice from some professional advice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
5.9 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
335 reviews
8.0 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,097 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in East Garston
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
144 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
275 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 10 in Wantage
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn

Property: Star Inn
Address: Watery Lane | Sparsholt, Wantage OX12 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Wantage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Wantage
Star Inn Wantage, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing