We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - unhelpful host”
Review of The Witney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Witney Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Most of the comment about this hotel is deserved, but we found our host to be quite brusque and not really bothered about us. There is no information in the room regarding points of interest or where to eat etc. The bathroom wasn't spotless and although the breakfast was excellent and the girl serving was extremely pleasant, we felt not particularly welcomed. The parting was equally brusque and peremptory. I don't like to be negative, but I have written this as this hotel was such a different experience from all our other accommodation during our tour of this area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed here many times. When staying in Witney I'd always choose to stay here as first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbiedoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

located right in the middle of Witney- walking distance of some great pubs and restaurants
have stayed here a few times . friendly hosts, and rooms always spotlessly clean, comfy beds and all you need for a good nites sleep! and breakfast delicious too!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I stayed here for the first time in January and I will certainly be going back. Located on Church Green it is walking distance for everything in Witney so no need to take the car or pay for taxis. The staff were wonderfull throughout my stay and very knowledgable about the area. The room was bigger than I expected and beautifully done. It was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and Rachel the owner made me feel really welcome. There are plenty of great pubs and restaurants nearby - I had a lovely meal at The Hollybush just a 5 minute walk across the green. I would certainly recommend this hotel and found it to be great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meloakridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I was recently browsing through some photos of last summer and I came across this image of the Witney Hotel where we stayed in August last year. This wonderful property is well maintained, cared for and loved by the owners.

We stayed in the Evenlode room and found it to be extremely comfortable. Each morning of our stay, we awoke to a clean, tidy and well presented dining room which only further complemented a beautiful freshly prepared breakfast. We strolled around the quaint shops in the town and into the new shopping area which is well in keeping with the old. We visited some of the nearby attractions, Stow-on-the-Wold, Bourton-on-the-Water and trips into Oxford.

All in all, this is a wonderful place to stay and the friendly welcoming family service of The Witney Hotel definitely makes us want to return.

Thank you.
Ps: The Fleece next door is convenient for lunch, evening meal or just a drink.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimHarris1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had a fantastic stay. Our room was wonderful and the breakfast was freshly cooked to order and beautiful. All the staff were very helpful and cheery. The Witney hotel is in the centre of the town on a lovely historic green. The town was a busy beautiful place with lots of lovely little boutiquey shops and some great places to eat. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy-bannon-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dujour L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Witney hotels
0.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
875 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
399 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
287 reviews
2.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witney Hotel

Address: 7 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Price Range: £85 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Witney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guesthouse is a listed 17th century build and sits on historic Church Green near to the town centre. We have the advantage of an exclusive position near the lively centre whilst maintaining a pleasant and peaceful environment. Witney offers the best shopping experience in the region with huge choice and a weekly market. The shops are within easy reach of our Guesthouse plus have free parking. An abundance of restaurants and coffee shops are a short stroll away. The Guesthouse has a shared communal lounge with free coffee and hot chocolate machine facilities as well as fresh homemade cakes for you to help yourself to! Books and games are also provided. A shared fridge is available too. Newspapers are delivered weekly and are free for you to browse. We hope to provide you with comfortable accommodation in a traditional setting with excellent service. Our rooms are well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions and en suite shower/bathrooms. Our breakfast boasts locally sourced, fresh ingredients as well as specialty handmade sausages. As of October 2014 we took over The Witney. We are a friendly, family team with 30 years in the hospitality trade and we look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Witney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Witney Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing