We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Witney Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Fleece(Witney)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
US$138
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
153
66
19
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
66
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakeshome made cakescup cakesb blittle toucheschurch greenconservatory areahot chocolateattic roomcommunal loungethe ground floorfree bottled watercomplimentary teabreakfast roomspa bathgreat central locationbreakfast choices
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Firstly we'd like to start by saying a MASSIVE thank you to all the staff at The Witney Hotel.

Sadly towards the end of 2013 our house was flooded and we had to leave it while repair work was carried out. Luckily for us we were booked into the Witney Hotel. Originally we were meant to stay for bout 1 month but ended up being nearly 3 months including the Christmas Period.

I dont really know where to start telling you how lovely this place and the owners/staff are.
All in all we stayed in 4 Different bedrooms all of which were clean and cosy to be in, and equip with everything you need. Fresh towels and toiletries when needed plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate.Ive read some reviews talking about "dated" rooms. I believe they are traditional and in keeping with the area of Witney where the hotel is. Church Green is original Witney.

Breakfast this one is easy, If you like freshly cooked food made from good quality produce then you'll love breakfast.

Parking yes the hotel does not have a car park but parking is available on the road outside and in the 3 months only once did we have a problem parking and that was down to the road being closed for the Christmas Market so really didnt mind this. All parking in Witney is free of charge and all 3 major car parks are within walking distance even with a suitcase.

Witney Town centre is 1 minute walk away lots of places to eat drink and shop. Bus stop to Oxford is just across the road from the hotel and run ever 10 Minutes.

The Owners/Staff could do enough for us, being away from home for Christmas was hard but its the little things that make the big differences. Allowing us to decorate our room, putting a Christmas tree up was fantastic, And thank you for the gifts under the tree on Christmas Eve :)
Helping with our washing and breakfast in bed those weekends when we had a day off work or when one of us was poorly.

This will be the only hotel in Witney we ever recommend

Room Tip: Ground floor (Family Rooms) are bigger if your staying long term
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplestar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilson m, Owner at The Witney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for our lovely review- It was a pleasure having you stay here and seeing your smiley faces every morning! After 3 months it felt like you were part of the family!!!
I'm glad everything worked out well with your house and that you were pleased with the end result!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I booked this Hotel on line for 2 days B and B as it was reasonably priced and close to the venue of our Grand Daughters Wedding, A very nice welcome, lovely and clean, with nice helpful staff, and a very nice breakfast, my only criticism is the fact it does not have a car park and you have to take a chance of finding a parking place on the road outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the green.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visionman1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilson m, Owner at The Witney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you have many lovely memories of your granddaughters wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have stayed at the Witney Hotel for a number of years It has always been quite good, but the present owners have raised the standards - and got rid of the ghastly floribunda wall paper. Very friendly welcome, excellent room, very comfortable bed, spotlessly clean and excellent breakfast. Only annoying feature was the radio in the breakfast room - please switch it off. That's a minor gripe when everything else was so good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilson m, Owner at The Witney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you so much for leaving a review- hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location my daughter and family live in Witney so ideal for those overnighters. All extremely friendly, I turned up slightly early for check in but no bother. The room was on the ground floor good size clean and tidy with the usual facilities.
Sleep quality was good very comfortable bed especially as I have a bad back. Breakfast was excellent the full English can so often turn into a disaster not so here, plenty of tea and coffee and lovely toast. All food locally sourced which is excellent. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hooligans13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilson m, Manager at The Witney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review- hopefully we will welcome you back sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Another stay at the Witney Hotel and although alone this time and not looking forward to sleeping in a single bed for the first time in years, I was again impressed by its cleanliness and the friendliness of the owners and staff.

It's an older more traditional building that is just starting to look tired, but it's spotless and comfortable.

People here are very attentive and the breakfast is perfectly cooked. It must be good as the only thing I would look at changing is the left wing leaning Radio 4 broadcasting in the dining room. I prefer a more balanced and modern current affairs programme in the mornings such as that provided by LBC, who can now be heard nationally on DAB.

Still a highly recommended B&B and there is no better placed facility in Witney for either business or tourist travellers.

Room Tip: The Church Green outside is relatively free from traffic and sound does not penetrate so front or back is perfectly fine.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witney162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilson m, Owner at The Witney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review- much appreciated!
Apologies for radio 4, but at the moment we have a guest who is staying every week for work purposes and whatever station the radio is on he changes it to radio 4!!
He is soon to retire so maybe next time we will be able to have a different station!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews