We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly B&B!”
Review of Hawthorn House

Hawthorn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorn House
Ranked #9 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had a great stay in this B&B.

I don't often leave these reviews but felt that I had to based on what a great stay that me and my wife had.

. Great warm and friendly service
. Good night's sleep in very comfy bed!
. Room was spacious and had everything we needed. Nice bathroom with a bath, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, warm
. Lovely breakfast in the morning made with local produce
. good information about local things to do

Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King room with a lovely view of the garden
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Sadly only stayed for one night in the twin room - would have loved to stay longer.
Room was very comfortable & warm, immaculately clean.
Breakfast was very tasty & freshly cooked - Alison is very firm that sanitising handrub is used when using communal facilities such as pouring the juice, this is great & I wish that more establishments adopt this practice.
Whilst we ate our breakfast we were able to look at the beautiful garden & all the birds that gathered to eat so relaxing.
Alison is great at her job & runs a fabulous highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roastpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My grandparents stayed here whilst they were visiting me. They had a very comfortable night, and both polished off a very enjoyable full English breakfast in the morning. The only downfall was access: the stairs were quite steep. However, the landlady was very attentive by helping my grandmother up the stairs however and they were very friendly. Everything was clean and tidy and they said they would stay here again. Overall. Very pleased with the accommodation.
P.S. A beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliejcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you want to go and see Oxford this is the place to stay. Its only a short bus trip to Oxford from the center of town. Hawthorn House is clean, comfortable and across the road from a great pub which serves good food and beer. Easy parking out the front, a great breakfast and a lovely garden at the back to relax in. Alison makes you feel right at home and is a great host. This is a B&B you would recommend to your friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPaulineFayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I accompanied my niece to Witney as she was attending a job interview the next morning. We booked a twin room which was nice and clean, and comfortable. There is a pub almost opposite which provided us with a good dinner. Breakfast was excellent. Full English, lots of toast and tea and coffee, as well as locally-made jam. Within easy walking distance from the Town Centre and a variety of shops to browse around, this B&B was an excellent choice. The owner, Alison was most helpful with regard to local transport and advised us of a much easier way of returning to London St. Pancras.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosyglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at Hawthorn House for two weeks in May 2013. After travelling from Broome in Western Australia we were very tired on arrival. Alison the owner greeted us and made us feel at home straight away, she showed us to our room, which was just as we expected from the website photo's. The room was very comfortable, and sleeping was no problem in the king size bed. We really enjoyed the breakfasts every morning and Alison's friendliness. Thank you Alison, keep up the good work.
Mike & Liz Jones

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crocman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in the king room, absoloutly fantastic is all I can say! The bed was soo comfortable and I am a fussy person! The breakfast was a lovely cooked breakfast all obviously fresh with the most beautiful local sausages well worth a try! I can honestly not fault this bnb despite the poor review?! It is not stuck in a time warp it is decorated in a lovely English country cottage style! The host was also extremely helpful and went out of her way to make our stay perfect. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Witney hotels
1.2 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
858 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laurels Guest House
The Laurels Guest House
#8 of 15 in Witney
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 79 Burford Road, Witney OX28 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hawthorn House Witney, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing