We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal for a special occasion”

The Old Court Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 104 Restaurants in Witney
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family meal for a special occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were slightly concerned to be the only guests there and no staff other than the owner Julian. Then he had to,pop out after taking our food order!!! however! the food was well worth waiting for - it was all excellent, well cooked and presented and very tasty. He even cooked a special kids meal for our two granddaughters, 5 and 7. Whilst the hotel would benefit from a facelift, especially toilet area, the whole experience was different but special and great value for money. Julian was very friendly, couldn't do enough for us and made us very welcome, including the girls. Well worth a visit for a good meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 107Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
witney
1 review
“Awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The bedrooms are so lovely andcomfy a fantastic place to stay the owner is so welcoming and helpfull always a smile on his face the hotel is very home like which is fantastic i thourouly enjoyed my stay :) :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisa232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dont ever go here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

staff are soooooooooooo lazy and unhelpfull, but not surprised as i witnessed the way the owner Julian treats his staff. Everything there is slow,slow slow, and when you get your food its so disappointing. The owner Julian seems to be quite nasty in a sleazy kinda way. The rooms smell and are UNCLEAN they are falling apart and are way too expensive for what u get and to top it off i had a really bad night sleep. I will never step foot in there again, and strongly recommend no one else does either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A jewel of a place here in Witney!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

From the outside this pub seems very old and nothing special, but...a whole new world is waiting for you behind the doors. This beautifully renovated country pub is an absolute delight to spend either a romantic or fun-filled evening. We spent the evening here yesterday with friends and had a really wonderful dining experience. The charming owner and chef, Julian, welcomed us as old friends and accomodeted our every need. He cooked up a exquisite dishes that left us all complementing him. We had aperitifs in the open air garden, dinner in the stylish restaurant, and coffee in the supercosy oversized sofas of the lounge. We were pleasantly surprised when the bill came. Julian has placed very low prices on food and drink. All in all a perfect evening. This is sure to be my favourite place in Witney. Highly reccomended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Daylight robbery. Tiny filthy room, stained carpets, stained walls, bathroom stinks of mildew, dark and dingy. Bed sheets were clean and bed very comfortable. Thats the only positive i can say sadly. Staff dont seem to care. Worst hotel ive stayed in by some margin.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twizooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Court Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 
Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Court Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing