We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fist Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford Witney Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just spent 4 days on a tour of Oxford and the Cotswolds with Fishwicks of Leyland, staying at the Four Pillars. Good comfortable rooms with spotlessly clean bathroom. The bed is very comfy (important). Free safe and free wi-fi in the room too. Top marks for the Chef as all the meals, served by friendly staff were delicious. As we left the receptionist smiled and hoped we would be back. I'm sure we will.

Room Tip: room 36 on the first floor looking over the allotments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Pat_Sumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Although it was a weekend package deal, being a fussy eater, I did not fancy the evening meal for the Saturday night, and tried my luck with something completely different to what was on offer from the selections. This had to be done at time of booking, and by the time we went I had forgotten what I had ordered. To my astonishment, although there was a choice of selections, I had soup and a large omelette + fries brought to me. which is what I had ordered weeks ago.
Considering the amount of guests at the hotel, everybody was served with a smile and all was cleared away before the dancing/ caberet started at 9.30 pm. At one point on Saturday, I was locked out of my safe and could not open it all, even though it was near to the evening meal time the duty manager came and sorted it all with not a murmer.
Also there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel including the outside areas.
I would thoroughly recomend this hotel for a weekend break or longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHARLES K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked a two night break in order to attend a significant birthday celebration nearby. A very warm welcome from an charming young receptionist and within minutes we were in our well-appointed and commodious chamber. All the usual fitments were present and correct. A comfortable bed and inviting chairs. Plenty of open-plan hanging space. The ablutions were clean and well maintained. An ample sufficiency of VERY hot water!
Breakfast was excellent but, why oh why, can't hotels which offer a buffet breakfast sort out the toast making equipment? It was necessary to pass the bread through on the conveyor to encourage it to change colour and texture. The adjustment knob had been removed, in common with most other machines of this ilk. I suspect it is to prevent guest 'interference', that or there is a compulsive toaster-knob thief at large not only in Albion but in the rest of the world where such devices are to be found!,
The Spa and Health/ Fitness centre was lovely. A 15m pool, a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. This and some comfortable sun beds for relaxation.
She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed availed herself of a body massage, a facial, a manicure and an Indian Head Treatment, the latter even though she was born and bread in England and doesn't have an Indian head. Nevertheless the charge for these accumulate attendances was modest and gladdened her heart, and reticule.
And so, dear reader, we would recommend this establishment to all who would have occasion to linger in this area.
And, by the way, one star lost because we couldn't find two of the pillars and the other because they had no bearers to carry luggage about, which in our case was something of an inconvenience as the Memsahib tends to travel with a steamer trunk as well as a portmanteau.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here on a number of occasions. Though may look elsewhere next time.
The room was very exposed, with its window next to the hotel's main door. Also, it was starting to look a little tired.
Food was good, but certain members of waiting staff seemed to have no idea whatsoever about beer. Though overall they did a good job.
I was eating with a female colleague (and I'm male). It seemed to cause much confusion to staff around our booking and the billing. It clearly did not occur to them we were in different rooms.
Breakfast was terrible. More attention is needed for cooked buffet food. In fact this is the worst hotel breakfast I've had in a long while.
So overall it's fine, but not great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Situated at the Witney/Abingdon junction on the A40,this modern hotel was in a prime location for touring the local area. We booked four nights on a Spring Break(on hotel website) for £45pppn for dinner bed and breakfast in a standard room. We thought that was excellent value. Our first floor room(39) was situated away from the function rooms overlooking the allotments at the rear of the hotel and was very quiet. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed including a safe. The dinner menu had sufficient variety to enable a different choice each night should you wish. We were impressed with the overall quality and presentation of the food and the professionalism and friendliness of the staff in the restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay(despite the weather) and were pleased with all aspects of the hotel. However we didn't use the pool !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My only real gripes were; 1. The bed in the room was not a double as first seemed, but in fact two singles pushed together. Putting a double duvet & sheets on two single beds does not make it a double bed. Shame on the hotel. 2. For some reason the cistern on the toilet took many minutes to fill, this meant prolonged unwanted noise, not good when all you want to do is go to sleep - but after 7 minutes it did eventually stop.

Minor point is the decor is starting to look tired.

Good points. Price OK, easy access to Oxford (~10 miles to the park and ride) & minimal noise from the nearby A40.

A reasonable price alternative to an Oxford hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfium-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently had the carvery at the 4 pillars.. After the initial confusion about how many people the table was booked for we were shown to our table.
2 of us had the soup starter that tasted of nothing rather than the leek & potato it was advertised as although the salads that the others had looked and tasty nice. The Carvery had 3 meat selections (that all tasted the same) Beef, Pork, & Turkey + Salmon for the fish lovers, the desserts really were disapointing small portions and tasteless obviously previously frozen.
The meal was OK but not memorable and i know from experience there are better options at local pubs in the area, at the same price or less.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
3.5 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,442 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,947 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
0.6 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
429 reviews
11.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Hotel

Address: Olney House Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England (Formerly Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oxford Witney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing