We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blue Boar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We used the Bosworth Suite for an all day business workshop. It is a good spacious room, and suited us well. The staff could not have been more attentive and the food in the restaurant at lunchtime was delicious.

We will definitely use this venue again and have already booked our next meeting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caiparinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

I am not local but have visited a number of bars and restaurants in Witney and have been to the Blue Boar 4 times. Firstly, I am surprised and disappointed that the management of this establishment feel it necessary to install doormen/bouncers on the door in the evening - this gives the wrong impression of what I was led to believe was an upmarket hotel and has left me wondering whether they expect trouble from their customers? In the bar area there are not enough tables and chairs and on the 2 Saturday evenings I have visited, whilst the bar has been extremely busy (excellent for takings I know), the bulk of the customers are young and were on those evenings pretty rowdy. This leads me to think that the Blue Boar cannot make it's mind up whether it is a country hotel hoping to attract visitors who wish to spend a relaxing time in the Cotswolds or if it is yet another noisy drinking hole for the 18 to 30's? On my last visit I bore witness to a publicly berating of a member of the bar staff by the manager. It appeared that an area of the bar required cleaning and while I accept that it would be part of the managers job to bring this to the staffs' attention, why was it necessary for her to shout across customers in a manner that I can only describe as bullying, humiliating and utterly unprofessional, causing discomfort to both customers and staff alike?
In conclusion, unless The Blue Boar addresses these issues and ensures that management actually know how to manage, I will, on future visits to what is otherwise a delightful and welcoming Cotswold town, be giving it a miss.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakmanInns, Public Relations Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at the Blue Boar. We would like to iterate that as a town centre establishment, we employ doormen on a Friday and Saturday night to ensure that customers have a positive experience and to prevent any potential issues occurring. Naturally, this is to uphold our position as a quality, reputable establishment. With the benefit of its town centre location, the Blue Boar is a popular destination for food and drink, as well as being a convenient and luxurious place to stay for business or leisure, proving a well-rounded concept.
We place a significant emphasis on staff training and development, and our people are an asset to our company. We hope to restore your faith in us on your next visit. If in the meantime, however, you would like to discuss this any further, please feel free to call our General Manager Stephanie Fisher on 01993 776353. Kind regards, the Blue Boar team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We held a university reunion here. Ten of us, with 6 of us staying over. It was Saturday night and the whole place was absolutely heaving. Bearing in mind how busy the restuarant was, the service was timely and the staff were very good all evening. The food wasn't stellar but was good.

The hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment and our room was very stylist and well equipped. However, it was a bit cold and turning the radiator up didn't make much difference. My wife was irritated that there wasn't a full length mirror, or a mirror that you could use while drying your hair.

An amazing oversight is no shaver plug in the bathroom. Apart from not be able to charge an electric toothbrush, quite what a chap is meant to do it he doesn't wet shave I don't know!

These were minor irritants that hopefully will be sorted out. Apart from these, a very nice hotel, and particularly good staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

From the front this place looks like a pub but inside its lovely. Very clean and quiet. What really grabbed my attention was the platform and the open kitchen so you can see what the chefs are doing, the food was very very quick to come out and one of the best meals I have had. Very good value for money too.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollyshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I visited the blue boar after its extensive refurbishment expecting a great experience. This could not be further from the truth. The service to get a table makes you feel as though its all too much trouble and waiting times are nothing near indicated. The deprorable attitide of the manager is beyond belief, including her aggressive nature and intolerence to the staff including shouting across the bar. If I was arriving from a long journey to stay here for a nght I would be extremley dissappointed by the amount of drunks in the bar even early in the night. All in all someone needs to find a new manager who cares for staff and doesnt get drunk herself in the bar before this hotel finds itself back where it was. Lets hope she finds a job in Wetherspoons which would seem to match her skills more closely

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Survey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I think it's just been extensively updated to a high standard. Nice mix of old and new. Friendly staff town centre location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank FeLeoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBoar2011, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
0.7 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
429 reviews
3 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
228 reviews
7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar Hotel

Address: 28 Market Square, Witney OX28 6BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range: £62 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Boar in Witney is a stylish restaurant, bar and rooms, combining historic character with modern comfort and design. Open all day every day for food and drink, the Blue Boar is at the heart of the town, providing the ideal place to eat, drink, and relax. Featuring a modern Mediterranean-inspired restaurant menu, an extensive range of drinks, wines, local real ales and cocktails, as well as a cafe area overlooking the courtyard, the Blue Boar also offers complimentary wi-fi throughout. With 20 luxury en-suite bedrooms, complete with iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions and designer toiletries, the rooms also feature locally-made Witney blankets. Available for private hire is the Bosworth Suite, an elegant function room ideal for weddings, conferences, business meetings or events, with a completely tailored package to suit individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Blue Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney
The Blue Boar Hotel Witney, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing