We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Boar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$92
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Fleece(Witney)
US$104
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Bear Hotel(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
107
101
47
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
101
47
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch eggmini barpork bellyhigh streetvisiting witneycentral locationbreakfast was includedlovely roomstayed for one nightcomfy bedfull englisha lovely stayboth nightswaitroseminibarvenuepub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here on a Friday, were very accommodating for an early check in. Parking is plentiful in the area mostly free within 100 yds. Room was modern and very clean. Full English Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, obviously cooked by a proper chef. Friendly staff. Hotel is centrally located for shopping, which is on the doorstep, boots, waterstones, waitrose, etc etc taxi rank opposite too, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hi Ray,
Thanks for taking the time to post on TA. We're really pleased that you found the hotel so convenient! Chef was very proud to receive your glowing review of his breakfast!

The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Do come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just returned after staying in this place over the long weekend after being impressed by the photo advertised on Hotels.com. The main photo brings up a fabulous stately home set in a lovely gardens with a maze and fountains. When we arrived we found a high street pub / restaurant which unfortunately didn't resemble anything like the photo shown. I had a quick look around the rear just to make sure that the tranquil gardens weren't hidden away, but was only greeted by the some outside seating, fire escape and lots of Tarmac !

We went inside and we asked the Manager if we had the right place and he said we had. I showed him the photo and he advised that Hotels.com have put the wrong photo on their website and have left this on despite them advising them of this. Apparently several other guests who were staying there also complained about the same issue. Thankfully, we were there only one night but still had a 2 hour drive to essentially stay in a place what we could have found 10 mins from home.
The actual place itself was fine including a great breakfast and the inside photos of the hotel were as per the hotel, other than the shower being tepid and we couldn't find a wifi signal - maybe it was in the enchanted garden.

I've raised this issue with Hotels.com so they change the ad and hopefully others don't get misled by this advert. I checked on Booking.com and the photos on their website are accurate and are £10 cheaper funnily enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hi Peter,
Thanks for your review, the picture that Hotels.com had used was of the national visitor attraction Blenheim Palace. I'm disappointed that you rated us so harshly when the mistake was not that of The Blue Boar. Our own website clearly depicts our outside area, our rooms and dining facilities! I'm pleased that apart from not being a palace you enjoyed your stay, especially the 'great breakfast' all palace pictures have been removed, at our request, from third party websites so there is no further confusion.

The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were 4 friends from NZ we needed somewhere close London for 1 night before going on to the Peak District. We decided 1 night with 4 in a room breakfast included would be quite adequate. The room was huge beautifully decorated with a very large well appointed bathroom. The bar area was lovely and the dining room delightful. We had dinner the service and food we thought exceptionally good. Every staff member was helpful and we had such an enjoyable night. We enjoyed our night so much we will stay again if we come back to England. We did call in for lunch on our way back to Heathrow on May 7 and enjoyed the experience as much as our first. We were made to feel so welcome and that is important to me. Assistance was also offered immediately to carry our bags upstairs when we stayed very welcome as one of our group had a heart condition. Thank you for adding a bit of sparkle to our trip to the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hi Katy,
We're all thrilled that we managed to add 'sparkle' to your trip! We all work really hard to ensure our guests have the best possible time, thank you for such a kind review and we hope you have a safe trip back to NZ - come and see us again soon though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We chose the Blue Boar to stay in the night before our wedding. We don't know Witney very well but with it being right on the high street, the Blue Boar seemed to have a popular bar for locals and on Saturday night had a salsa band in playing the regulars.

I know some people can be put off with hotels with popular bars but this wasn't your typical Saturday night boozers overflowing with fuelled filled drunks starting fights or causing a ruckus, it was seemingly more mature. Additionally, they have a lovely restaurant out the back.

The rooms were nice, as clean as you would expect from any decent hotel, and had very friendly staff. My only complaint would be that the cost per night is slightly more expensive than other nearby hotels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you Doug for your lovely review of our hotel, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and I really hope that your wedding went well!

The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Blue Boar and was impressed by the attentive staff who were very helpful. Good value for money and breakfast was delicious with a choice of hot options. Eggs Benedict was lovely.

Receptionist ensured I had early access to my room which was spotless. Bar area is very popular with locals and stays open late which means some of the rooms could be noisy but accommodation and food more than makes up for this. Good stopover if you are touring.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBoarGeneralManager, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Janice,
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, I hope we can welcome you back for a stop over another time!
Thanks for reviewing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews