We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable New Years Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleece

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fleece
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable New Years Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Fleece for three nights over New Years whilst some friends were renting a cottage with our dog. Witney is a beautiful town and the Fleece is centrally located. The food was great and the rooms good value for money though a few minor touches I think they could be so much more.

Certainly recommend staying there however.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    116
    52
    37
    12
See reviews for
59
161
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Although it was hard to get a Saturday here we went for a Sunday onwards stay, we were amazed at the price, after staying in Woodstock which was very expensive we found value,cleanliness, and a all round good experience. Witney is a lovely place, bus links to Oxford, plenty of good food and shopping.

Room Tip: Remember this is a pub as well so expect some frivolity in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

One of the best pubs and restaurants in Witney in terms of the location and the building. Lovely views out on to Church Green in good weather, complete with St Mary's Church in full view (Google the church if you want to sample the fantastic sight!). The food is great quality and there is a wide variety of drinks.
Like with most pub-come-restaurants of this kind, it's a little pricey, but I never feel too overcharged. As a result this establishment is aimed more at those aged 20-or-so and above, which I think works in its favour.
On my most recent visit, the service was just above average, the food quality was excellent, and the drink selection was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryPers0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We've dined at The Fleece many many times. Usually very good and no issues but yesterday service was uber slow, overall time from order to starters to mains to puddings to sorting the bill was 3 hours, on a Monday!? Seemed like just one server on duty. Perhaps it was an off night? We'll be back but hoping this is an outlier and not a trend...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Some friends and I went for dinner at The Fleece not knowing quite what to expect. We are all very particular, critical diners, so you can imagine our joy when our evening turned out to be rated excellent by us all. The atmosphere was 'buzzing' and the young staff were incredibly helpful and cheerful. It became apparent that they worked closely with the chefs as they knew about various cuts of meat and what ingredients were used in other dishes. When we paid and added a well deserved tip we were informed that all gratuities were shared with the kitchen staff, which was good to know as the food was superb. The menu was imaginative with great combinations and it was extremely well prepared and cooked as well as being nicely presented. The cost of the meal and wine reflected the high standard and I can't wait to return for another culinary experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were attracted to this hotel because of the "in the best 20 pubs in England" advertising. (Phoney Baloney)

We stayed here for 3 nights and our recommendation is that you "DONT BOOK".

I'll now provide some details why, they are not complete because it would take too long to read.

When we arrived we were allocated room 4. We requested a change and were allocated room 9. The bed wasn't made, we went downstairs and reported his, the manageress assured us it was and we didn't know how the beds were prepared. We persisted that we wanted some sheets, got two single sheets (no double sheets available)and we then made up the double bed with the single sheets. The next morning the manageress apologised and said she had been
informed that ours was the only room that hadn't been made up the day before.

We reported that the fan in our bathroom didn't work. The bathroom doesn't have any windows and therefore without the fan the smells from the toilet and the steam from the shower has only one place to go, into the bedroom. The manageress advised us that we didn't know how to turn the fan on. The next morning when the housemaid checked it out it was established that the fan was broken and needed to be repaired. It was still broken when we checked out.

There is no bar fridge in the room and no safe. The room has one sash window that can be opened and looks out onto a small portion of the rooftop. The window closes under its own weight so you have to have something to prop it up. We didn't. There is no soap holder in the shower so hold on to the soap tightly.

The night we arrived we had the "AMAZING" roast, that's how it's described on the blackboard menu. We are seasoned travellers and rate it probably the worst roast we'd ever had, anyway, for the record, 1 out of 10. I could describe the details but I'd prefer to forget it.

The breakfast ingredients were very good. However, my wife ordered soft poached eggs and they were hard, tried again the next morning, same again and then gave up. I had the same battle with trying to get a hot coffee instead of luke warm coffee, and failed. All complemented with unfriendly service (except for the housekeeper who is and was the friendliest staff member)

This is an average English pub with excellent reviews.We can't work out why, I'll resist being cynical.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelbalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had booked a table for the early bird early evening menu, to be certain of a table I called in at lunchtime to book, I was told this would not be needed as there would be tables to spare. We arrived at 6pm and were shown to a table and given the menu but it was not the special menu. we challenged the staff about this and they said their supplier had let them down so the menu we had booked for was not available. They did give us both a drink on the house to compensate but this was not what we were looking for. An hour or so later when we past the Fleece the sign was still outside advertising the the menu they were unable to provide. This is not the first time we have been let down by the Fleece and whereby the food if you are lucky enough to get it is very good the structure and the running of a restaurant needs to be looked at. Would I try again? I don't think so, generally the food is very good but quite expensive and the noise from the bar is not pleasant if you are out for a quiet dinner

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Witney hotels
2.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece

Property: The Fleece
Address: 11 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fleece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Witney
Fleece Hotel Witney
The Fleece Witney, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing