We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch in a buzzy restaurant”
Review of The Fleece

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fleece
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Sunday lunch in the bar with jazz on a sax in the background was superb. The place was busy and buzzing yet the service and the food were excellent. Beer was good and well kept as was the wine, the steak was succulent. I will definitely go back again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Room 11 is lovely - ask for it if you can. Good service and facilities plus a good range of food and drink. Not necessarily the cheapest but good quality throughout. Friendly and genuine staff and a nice outside area on the Green to enjoy on a sunny day. Would definitely stay again. Easy car parking also a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Usually pop into The Fleece when we are in Witney for a coffee or a light lunch. The atmosphere is lovely and it is really nice to sit outside on a sunny day as it is close to the Green with a lovely view of the church and beautiful houses. It would be nice if they had some sun shades as last time we found it too sunny and had to move back inside.
The food is a little overpriced for what you get, but i have never had a bad meal. Staff are friendly and appear happy and service is good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burfordbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Fleece@ Whitney OX28 and I was delighted with the visit. A lovely room and great service from the guys there with excellent knowledge of their food and drink suppliers and even better was the food - highly recommend and I shall return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimDomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was a little concerned to read a couple of negative reviews before we stayed, especially regarding food. All I can say is that we paid £99 for a double room for the night and had a wonderful stay. We had a full English Breakfast which wasn't amazing but considering it was the most expensive dish on their breakfast menu, at no extra cost, it was just the job. The staff were so helpful, we were mainly served by a welsh gentleman who was very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. We were having a big night out in Witney and were concerned about what time we would have or be back, the man mentioned above told us we were in an outbuilding and provided us with a key to enter this, enabling us to enjoy our evening without a curfew! Our room (number 3) was lovely, really nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a lovely, powerful shower, with toiletries provided and enjoyed the complimentary biscuits which were there when we arrived. So close to the town and a beautiful location on the green, parking was really convenient on sight, with plenty of spaces, surprising for a Friday night. Overall we were really impressed, and were glad we went for this hotel rather than the premier inn originally planned as we had a much more personal service. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHTA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Overpriced food, dirty out dated need a link of paint not the best place to eat in witney the food is overpriced and service is poor avoid better places to eat where you don't have to worry about spending alot

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam12121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at The Fleece, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Feedback is always welcome, but these are strong words, and it doesn’t sound like The Fleece at all. Generally it helps if you raise any issues at the time to give us a chance to address and respond to them.
Feel free to drop us an email with specifics (sarah.donnelly@peachpubs.com), but let’s try and keep this constructive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our two night stay at The Fleece was very pleasurable. Everywhere very clean, comfortable modern decor. Lovely comfy bed. Food excellent. Staff very helpful and obliging. Nice friendly atmosphere and conveniently positioned to walk into the town but not so near to the town centre it was noisy. Relaxing.

Room Tip: No 11 looks over the back so nice and quiet and lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
0.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
224 reviews
7.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece

Address: 11 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range: £63 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fleece 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fleece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Witney
Fleece Hotel Witney
The Fleece Witney, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing