We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rose Revived Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Given it's stunning riverside location, The Rose Revived could and should be fantastic, sadly it is not.

Most of the failings have been mentioned in other reviews, but I'll just add a couple of observations of our visit:

- the infamous "queue" is ridiculous. I've never come across a place where you have to queue in one place to order drinks and food, pay for food, check in/out of your room, etc.

- I'm not sure if it is really understaffed, or whether the staff just aren't utilised properly - the assistant manager seemed to be doing most things - apart from perhaps managing the other staff!

- our waitress in the garden was not particularly attentive. She brought our starters, but there were no knives on the cutlery/condiment table. We asked for some, but she didn't come back for about 15 minutes, but which time I'd eaten my pate using my bread. She didn't actually give us any knives (or an apology for the time it had taken her to come back), but just put a pile on the table. She then brought our main courses out, although we hadn't finished our starters!

- it was a warm evening and we sat outside which was lovely, apart from the fact that only one of the lampposts worked so it was a bit dark!

- in the morning, we could see that the seating area outside was quite unkempt. There were weeds in the gutter, old pots left outside the door, etc.

There is not one major problem, just lots and lots of minor things which could easily be addressed and would make a huge difference.

The overall impression is of a establishment that is desperate need of some thought and TLC. It really is a missed opportunity. .

The management could perhaps take a trip to the nearby Trout Inn at Tadpole Bridge to see what they could aspire to.

Such a shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, General Manager at The Rose Revived Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

We are really pleased to let you know that after a recent change in management The Rose Revived has undergone a major refurbishment, all our rooms are fully ensuite and tasteful in decor, look us up on line or pop in again soon

Rgds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Attempted to come here for lunch today with my dad my 4 year old and my five month old. After finding a table that wasn't either dirty or covered with dirty plates another task was to find the menus. After finding some and wiping them with some baby wipes we had a look at the menu. By this time a long queue had formed at the bar and the food coming out had seen better days! We decided that we didn't want to spend our hard earned cash here and proceeded to leave. Such a shame picturesque location but understaffed dirty tables and poor quality food isn't what u want on a lunch out!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karlymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, General Manager at The Rose Revived Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

We are really pleased to let you know that after a recent change in management The Rose Revived has undergone a major refurbishment, all our rooms are fully ensuite and tasteful in decor, look us up on line or pop in again soon

Rgds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just got back from this place. Poor menu, ludicrous set up for ordering drinks and food, garden very scruffy, seriously under staffed. Location by the river is gorgeous and deserves a better establishment. Food arrived promptly and was good if plain. What on earth is wrong with the management ?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank penelopeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, General Manager at The Rose Revived Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

We are really pleased to let you know that after a recent change in management The Rose Revived has undergone a major refurbishment, all our rooms are fully ensuite and tasteful in decor, look us up on line or pop in again soon

Rgds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I came here for lunch with my family and this was my choice as I've been here before and my time was Lovelly. Today i couldn't believe my eyes I order the gammon and it was soooo salty it was un bearable to eat. My mum ordered the stake and had to send it back because she was so discussed with paying the price for such a small piece as my mum and my sister are all in the hotel industry we no what u can get away with and that stake was redicilous. When having a sneak look into the kitchen it wasn't the most cleanest but all over areas look okay. And finally when asking the bar staff how much the fudge was we were told we wasn't aload any unless we was buying a coffee. I'm not being funny but if someone asked me at work how much if a piece of fudge I would give them a piece or at least charge them for a bowl it's hardly going to make your company bank Rupert now is it . Apart from this the staff was polite and helpful. Needs a kick in the hinny to go back to good standard xx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Danniellevhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, General Manager at The Rose Revived Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

We are really pleased to let you know that after a recent change in management The Rose Revived has undergone a major refurbishment, all our rooms are fully ensuite and tasteful in decor, look us up on line or pop in again soon

Rgds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Clean, cool quiet and comfortable, what more could you ask for on a hot summer weekend ? Booking in procedure was straight forward. We were grateful for the thick stone walls during this hottest weekend of the year. We were worried the pub might be noisy, but our fears were unfounded as we had a great night's sleep. My apologies to the manager for setting off the alarm system by walking through the bar at 6.30 am. I saw the poor guy walking across the car park barefoot and in only his underpants to switch it off !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johnnyfastgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, General Manager at The Rose Revived Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

We are really pleased to let you know that after a recent change in management The Rose Revived has undergone a major refurbishment, all our rooms are fully ensuite and tasteful in decor, look us up on line or pop in again soon

Rgds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Was staying at the northmoor lock paddocks campsite and was recommended this pub, but it came with a warning! We thought we'd give it a go as it was at the end of a beautiful walk. The setting is amazing, right on the river next to weeping willows, but then came a reminder of the warning we had recieved. The service was shocking! People in front of me were complaining about the service. The pub wasn't particularly busy but there was a long queue at the bar leading to two slow bar staff, one apologised because she had been out drinking the night before! We're just glad we didn't order food, everyone complained about the long wait! Its just a shame this pub has so much potential but the owners are obviously just content on cashing in on its location alone rather than making it a great pub!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Greig0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, General Manager at The Rose Revived Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

We are really pleased to let you know that after a recent change in management The Rose Revived has undergone a major refurbishment, all our rooms are fully ensuite and tasteful in decor, look us up on line or pop in again soon

Rgds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My first visit here for a couple of years, and boy had it changed.
The bar was almost empty on a sultry summer Saturday night, which should have been a warning, as this is set in a beautiful Thameside location.
We ordered food from the unfriendly sullen bar staff and waited..... Sometime later the starters arrived and were clearly microwaved to the point of extinction. The main courses were even worse, tired re-heated over cooked food. We decided to treat ourselves to pudding and a Nesspresso at home and wound up the evening early.
Sadly we will not return until we are sure it has changed hands.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank caitlin4_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C, General Manager at The Rose Revived Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

We are really pleased to let you know that after a recent change in management The Rose Revived has undergone a major refurbishment, all our rooms are fully ensuite and tasteful in decor, look us up on line or pop in again soon

Rgds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
5.4 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
896 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
325 reviews
21.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
296 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,403 reviews
8.1 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Revived Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Revived Inn

Address: Newbridge | A415 Abingdon to Witney Road, Witney OX29 7QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose Revived Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural Location next to the Thames west of Oxford We have extensive Riverside and patio Dining fully stocked bar and a great menu, Cosy Log fires in the winter ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Rose Revived Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose Revived Hotel Witney
The Rose Revived Inn Witney, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing