We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My companion and I stayed for 3 nights (14-16/2) at this Premier Inn, which is the second week after it was opened. With only 57 rooms, this hotel is a lot smaller than other Premier Inns that we have come across.

Minus a couple of 'teething' problems (e.g. providing only one set of towel in the room on the first day, no tea spoons or cups on the second day, no light bulb at one of the bedside tables), we thought our room was very nice, comfy and clean. We liked the shower which is temperature controlled (NB: no bath), big Samsung flat screen TV (wall mounted), and the (new) soothing decor. My companion was most pleased with the covered parking area for his toy.

Unlike other reviewers, we dont mind that the windows in our room can't be opened, as this is what we have found in many Premier Inns. We didn't find any problem with the air quality in our room or with the air con.

We totally enjoyed the English breakfast. If you are dining at the Premier Inn, you must try the 8oz rump steak which we thought was perfect. However, the menu is very restricted (see attached) in this hotel. There is no bar facility; so if you're after pint drinks, you'll have to go elsewhere. My companion asked for a Heineken and it came in a 330ml bottle. A large Pepsi came in the size of a 200ml bottle. For this reason, I only rated it 'average' for Value.

The staff at this hotel were very friendly and efficient in dealing with our requests. Thanks to Laura for making us feel very at home for the duration of our stay, and to Kelly who offered us (without asking!) a big brolley and good directions to walk to town (easy 15 minutes).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndepTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Witney Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Friday 21st Feb 2014. The general surroundings feel new and fresh but we were disappointed to find a dirty towel left in our bathroom and, sorry to be explicit, that the toilet had not been cleaned inside, all a bit offputting! As commented in other reviews, the air conditioning was very noisy and the air quality was poor. We all woke with sore throats. Unfortunately we also had a disturbed night as inadequare soundproofing meant that we were disturbed by the rather active residents pacing upand down their room for several hours in the room above ours (we were in room 109 on the first floor).

On the plus side, car parking was easy as was the check in system. The staff were friendly and it was otherwise clean. Breakfast was good too with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare1972JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Spent 15 minutes trying to squeeze my average size car into a spot between all the vans taking up more than one space - gave up and left it on a verge! Bedroom clean but then it's brand new. Windows don't open and air circulation sounds like an aeroplane. Not cheap - £88 b&b for one person! The positives - comfy bed and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Witney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Its not so much the comfortable beds they need to worry about here - its the dreadful air quality in this place with NO opening windows and air con that is both noisy and leaves you feeling you have mild flu. Very inexperienced staff and no obvious supervision.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Witney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 15th Feb, lovely new hotel, very clean and nicely decorated. Liked the new automated check in system. Will definitely stay here again. The staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel is a perfect situation, 10 minute walk into lovely town of Witney or 20 min drive to Woodstock and Blenheim Palace

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stopped at this brand new hotel a couple of nights ago. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good in the restaurant.
My only slight criticisms would be about the lack of draught beers in the restaurant, and the room I stopped in was slightly to cluttered due to the bed settee under the window.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Epic_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Again travelling to Oxford area for business. Stayed at Bicester last time Hmm. This hotel is new and as such all the fittings looked that way. The reception arrival was good and efficient. Room was up to the normal standard. Nice clean sheets and tea making facility in the room. The car parking was free and a well lit area so if you arrive late, like I did, you can see what you are doing.
Bar staff were helpful and the breakfast up to the normal standard, nothing new there.
Overall a good hotel with enthusiastic staff. I will use these again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
0.4 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
858 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,828 reviews
3.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
274 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
0.5 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Witney Hotel

Address: Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range: £56 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Witney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Burford and the Cotswold border, yet close to the city of Oxford and easily accessible from the A40, Premier Inn Witney provides a great base for Leisure and businesses alike. A delightful market town, Witney boasts a number of good restaurants, pubs and shops which are all within walking distance. Venture a little further afield and you will be able to visit the many picturesque towns and villages of Oxfordshire and the Cotswolds, as well as the buzzing city of Oxford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Witney Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing