We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Witney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corncroft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Witney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed for a cousin's 50th as it was "staggering" distance. Room was smallish but bed was big as was shower and it was clean and comfortable. Great breakfast (fab and huge sausages!) and Richard even gave my poor auntie painkillers with hers! Would stay again without question.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor if you have mobility issues - we were in the roof and the stairs were very steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
124
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, Merseyside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Although we thought this B & B would be a bit of a walk into Witney itself, that wasn't the case as it was only 10 minutes.

Having been given a tiny side room with an equally tiny double bed we asked if there were any other rooms available. We were promptly told certainly and another key was thrust into our hands. To our great surprise this room at the front, first floor was not only twice the size of the first but it had a four poster king size bed. Truly amazing. Although there was some road noise and noisy revellers the room made up for it. First class breakfast together with the fact that James the first once stayed there. Royalty no less. I am surprised this fact wasn't mentioned in the B & B's advertising but with such quality service I suppose they don't need it. People keep coming back it seems as we discovered from another guest.

Witney is such a lovely village, despite not having rail links any more the bus service more than makes up for that for us anyway. With plenty of eating and drinking places at hand we will definitely stay there again when we are next in that part of the world.

Thank you once again for the great hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chippy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Witney is a beautiful English market town and our stay at Corncroft Guest House made it perfect! Our room was lovely, with a most comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was quite tasty and Richard the owner could not be nicer, nor more helpful! Centrally located to shopping, restaurants and with a great pub across the street. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor en-suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanbo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with husband and teenage son this week. Was given room 11 at the top. Has a separate area for our son which was great. Richard was welcoming and serves a large breakfast. You can ask for small portion. Good location to explore Witney and the Cotswolds villages are about 25 mins drive away. Whitney is quite a big town, lots of shops and eating places. Recommend shaan if you like a curry. Hope to return to Corncrofts again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter, grandchildren & I have stayed in this superb Guest Hotel (B & B) each summer for the past four years on our annual visit to Great Grandma's. We usually stay for two nights. Richard & Louie always provide a warm welcome & Louie then shows us to our rooms. The whole experience is first class & I would thoroughly recommend Corncroft to all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewescb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I'm not much of a review writer but I can't pass up the opportunity to say someting about the Corncroft. The accomodation is superb - clean, comfortable, and characterful. But, as many have said, it's the owner/keeper that makes the difference. Richard is the best. Simple as that. I had the pleasure to stay for a month (in Witney for work) and am sad to say goodbye. Thanks Richard!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow! I've had the pleasure of staying with Richard and his cute little dog Louie for the past month. All I can say is, this has been one of the best hotel stays I have ever had.

I'm generally a harsh critic of hotels, having worked as a hotel manager myself, but there is nothing to find fault with here. The beds are super comfortable and you're guaranteed a great night of sleep after having a few pints in the pub. The breakfast (if you wake up in time after pub crawling all night) is top notch and not to be missed!

There is a small outdoor patio with a picnic table to relax at as well.

This guest house will NOT let you down. Richard goes miles above and beyond to make you feel at home, even when you're thousands of miles away!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WClarke84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
2.4 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corncroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corncroft Guest House

Property: Corncroft Guest House
Address: 69-71 Corn Street, Witney OX28 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Corncroft Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Corncroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corncroft Guest House Hotel Witney
Corncroft Guest House Witney, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing