We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shockingly bad.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleobury Mortimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown At Hopton
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“shockingly bad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

firstly we walked through the door and there was a cup left on the scattered desk full of paper and such like. this was not a good first impression. the irish girl that checked us in was not very friendly and seemed like she didnt care we then was shown upto our room, there was a foul smell that seemed like it was coming from a radiator in the hallway, at first the room seemed nice but once we'd unpacked we realised it was nothing of the sort, the tv did not work, the kettle was dusty and had stagnent water in it, there was no hairdryer, i had to go back downstairs because nobody was answering the phone to ask for a hairdryer and for someone to fix the tv. there was nobody around apart from the said young girl having a cigarette out the back. she was apologetic and gave me a hairdryer and said she'll send someone up to fix the tv, this did not happen for a further two hours! in this time we'd showered (a dribble) and was ready to go downstairs for something to eat. we were suprisingly served at the bar by and then sat down by a lovely young gentleman who was very friendly and nothing seemed too much for him. the restaurant was ok, the atmosphere nothing too special but the food was lovely, that was unfortunately ruined by returning to the bar area to find two people arguing- the irish girl and an aussie guy, they realised we were there and stopped immediately, luckily enough for them it was not too busy. we returned to our room and had an ok night sleep. we arrived for bfast at 8.40 but we had no where to go, as the restaurant was not open, the aussie guy came out of the kitchen and said he'd let us in, we had a full english which was mediocre compared to the meal we'd had the night before but the guy was lovely couldnt fault him and the service we recieved. when we returned later that day we had a drink in the empty bar before returning to our room, the english girl who served us was a star, she made us feel welcome and talked about our day in ludlow, a nice genuine person. we had our second nights dinner which was also lovely and the service was good, it seemed busier and the atmosphere was better. i would not return to stay again but if were ever in the area we will certainly come for lunch. a couple of golden members of staff u have there, look after them! for some of them, id think again.

Room Tip: just go for food
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    332
    205
    91
    76
See reviews for
49
692
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

A really wonderful country inn, enthusiastically run by fun and very accommodating staff.

I had a lovely stay at the Crown - the place is full of character and characters, and I would recommend a stay to anyone looking for warm welcome and great accommodation, all in a beautiful setting.

The dinner menu was excellent, as was the breakfast , and the lively Saturday night bar was packed with locals.

My room was very well appointed, quiet, and I had one of the best night's sleep for ages.

The place is well-loved, and is enthusiastically run by the excellent Irish and Australian staff ... a bit of a hidden gem!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We checked in to the Crown at Hopton for my husbands birthday weekend - what a horrible disappointment. The dirty dish cloth left on the very untidy reception desk should have given us an early warning of what we were about to experience. We were first shown to room 16, the room was dingy, dirty and uncomfortable. The single armchair in the corner of the room was badly stained, the wardrobe drawer broken, the bed worn to the point of being uncomfortable with one of the headboards on the zip together divans broken. The bathroom was dated and dirty and to add insult to injury the room was being invaded by flies. We asked to be moved and thankfully this was arranged without debate.
So on to room 9 which on first glance looked, if not great certainly better. We dumped our luggage and left to meet friends returning at well past midnight and far too late and too sleepy to examine room 9 in detail. Actually as it transpired with the benefit of daylight next morning we discovered that room 9 was even worse than room 16. The room was horribly dirty with a plentiful supply of human body hair in the bath. The bedroom curtains did not drawer and the bathroom curtains were disgustingly dirty as was the bathroom carpet. The bed linen whilst basically clean was badly stained and the pillows were old lumpy foam. The room was very dusty and there were many cobwebs all over the ceiling. I could go on but frankly it was just horribly depressing. We left the room as soon as we could not even staying to use the shower it was simply so bad. We took breakfast before we checked out it was mediocre with very little choice and very nasty coffee. On check out we complained and to be fair the proprietor immediately reduced the room price. So what did we pay for this weekend treat? The room was originally priced at £115 we finally paid £85 which in our opinion was £85 too much.
This hotel could be really pleasant it just needs investment and interest from the owner - perhaps a walk through each of the rooms with open eyes and mind would be a good start!

was positively dirty, with human body hair

Room Tip: Don't stay here until the owners have woken up to the fact that they need to invest and show int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here to visit the Ludlow Food & Drink festival & also celebrate a friends wedding anniversary. On arrival we felt the place looked shabby especially the carpets. We were having to pay £150 for a double room as it was the festival.The room we had wasn't worthy of that price tag. The bed was very uncomfortable - lumpy mattress! Our bathroom had paint coming of the wall and the carpet was stained.The sink made terrible noises when the bath was being drained.
We ate in the restaurant. The food was very good but the service was very average.If it hadn't been for the company the week-end would have been a very expensive mistake.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hockedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Staff excellent,Bedrooms dusty.In all it needs a refurbishment inside and out.Food good

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DorsetJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Crown is nicely out of the way,and quiet. The rooms are clean but a little on the aged side now, the bar and restaurant are both very good with lots of character. I was unhappy to find that at 7.30am the restaurant closed and reception deserted.
Breakfast starts at 8.30am...and guests are expected to fit in with that! No discount was given on requesting give the hotel did not provide th service I feel reasonable to expect.
I wont rush back if there are options available!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim_Ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Spent the weekend at the the Crown to celebrate my brother-in-laws 60th birthday after a recommendation from friends who had stayed there 3 years ago.
On arrival we felt that the place looked neglected,broken steps up to the inn and vines growing over the sign and the roof and some of the windows.
There were a couple of young people totally run off their feet trying to work behind the bar,man the desk and serve food.
The choice of meals in the evening were quite good but breakfast left a lot to be desired (even running out of white bread for toast on Sunday morning)
The rooms were dusty with cobwebs in places,although the bedding and towels were clean and white.
We enjoyed the area but should we return it will not be to the Crown.I think that the owners need to upgrade the property and lend a hand to help the overworked staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
9.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
20.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Property: The Crown At Hopton
Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing