We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People Who Care”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleobury Mortimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown At Hopton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“People Who Care”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here on a Monday and a Tuesday night. The room was lovely, clean and tidy and had everything I would expect. Also quiet. No complaints at all. In fact the whole place was clean and neat.
The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful from the moment we arrived. I know they read these reviews and try to put right any problems that occur (for example they now put on a food order the time it was taken so they can keep an eye on how long it takes). Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was also very enjoyable.

On the Wednesday morning the staff had changed shifts and a different team were working and it fell apart a little. At breakfast one of the team didn't seem organised and delivered tea to a newly seated couple, apologising for the wait, while we had to ask 3 times for ours. She may be new and still learning but the breakfast service was the only blot on an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

However I would certainly recommend this place as in general we had a lovely stay and it is very obvious the staff care and are working to resolve any problems that may occur. I wish them all the best. This a lovely location and worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinStonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    332
    206
    91
    76
See reviews for
49
693
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband & I bought a voucher for a 3 night break at the Crown Hopton Wafers. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very welcoming & our room was clean & very comfortable. The food was excellent & breakfast was extremely good wit fresh fruit salad, prunes & grapefruit as well as a selection of cereals. Then a full English breakfast with as much toast as you wanted plus fruit juice & tea or coffee. The breakfast arrived promptly 2 mornings but we had to wait a bit the 3rd day as they were so busy, but we weren't in a rush so no problem. We ate in the hotel twice & again food was average price but beautifully cooked & well presented. King size very comfortable bed in the newer part gave us both a great nights sleep. We would definitely stay here again if in the area!

Room Tip: The newer part had better rooms no 16 was lovely. Only downside no radiator in bathroom and no waste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked this via Wowcher, the room for the cost of the voucher £39 bed and breakfast, was a fair price, however how this place gets away with charging anything more is beyond me. It was not clean, in the rent room, hardly a bulb worked on the wall lights, they had cobwebs inside and the skirting boards filthy, the tables had either a salt pot, or a pepper pot rarely both, the menu pricey, we had the plaice, which was not filleted, and had many bones in it, we did complain and got a simple, I will tell the chef, from the waitress, we checked out an hour later, not bothering to spend the night, I had read reviews prior to booking, the website photos nothing like the reality

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beckyboosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

Sheffield
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

As per another recent review we were taking up a KGB voucher booked some time ago and having monitored reviews we were anticipating a cold scruffy hotel manned by friendly but inept staff.

Our room was warm and clean and had clearly been rewired, redecorated and given a new bathroom. The only negatives, apart from it being extremely small, were that the carpet needed cleaning or changing, mould was starting to appear on the shower ceiling and there was no hairdryer.

The staff were friendly throughout, but the younger members of the restaurant staff still need some training and improvement. Our first nights restaurant reservation didn't get from the receptionist to the restaurant - a full 6 feet. There were 3 attempts at getting the cost of the meal right as nobody seemed to know which voucher deal we were on. Breakfast was a bit of a lottery. The first morning the coffee was like dishwater, the toast would have been better had it seen the toaster and the food that arrived didn't match the order. The second day it was exactly right.

Be aware that if you want to eat anywhere else, you will need to drive.

We estimated that a fair price for B&B here would be around the £60 per night mark. On that basis the deal we were on was good value - but I wouldn't recommend anybody to pay the rack price of £125.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Having booked last Dec when reviews were good, we were dreading coming after reading the more recent reviews, so we were expecting the worst.
We were shown to room 10 in the old part of the building, but it looks to have a new carpet, it is very nice, quirky with lots of beams, and clean (which we did not expect). We even went out of our way to play the hotel inspector role and look for problems, but could only find niggly little ones.
We can see exactly why this place has a wide spectrum of reviews, because over our 2 days, service varied from speedy to very slow (wait for breakfast), and staff knowledge varied, but almost invariably the attitude was excellent, and when staff didn't know something they went to find out.
Food in the restaurant was good pub grub, not fine dining (this review is coming from a couple who have eaten in 3 different michelin star restaurants and we tend to be on the critical side but we found this food very acceptable).
Staff are aware of trip adviser ratings and are really trying to improve, and as previous reviewers have commented on they can't do much about the creaky floors or thin walls (not as bad as we expected), but I believe the tide may be turning, and if these staff stay, the place will regain the reputation it seems to have had in the past.
We had a bet between us as to whether or not the bill was going to be correct on departure, and it was way out, not in our favour, but to be fair they just accepted without question the amount that we said we owed. We know that had our stay been problematical this may have been the icing on the cake, but as our experience had been mostly positive we laughed it off. Just make sure you know exactly what you should be paying on departure.
Finally, we met 2 other couples, both in their 60's who also had a very enjoyable and mostly fault free stay, but neither do trip adviser reviews, so really if you are reading this you can count this as 3 positive reviews!

Room Tip: Room 10 has character. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here on a two night KGB deal, which turned out to be excellent value. Fortunately we arrived on the bank holiday when the weather was great, so we were also able to take advantage of the beer garden. We were able to take our dog with us and were shown our room in the new annex of the hotel. The room was clean and the bathroom was compact and had everything but a bath. We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the first night. All the food we had while we were there including the breakfast was excellent. The prices for dinner were on the high side, but they also have an early bird if you want to keep the cost down. Nearby there is Cleobury Mortimer with a few pubs, cafes, restaurants and shops. There is also a common nearby to give the dog a good walk. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose the annex/newest building if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just returned from a two night KGB deal.What can I say? The room was in the old part of the building and was clean and very quaint. don't expect luxury though but if you like old worldy 'sloping floors,and creaks then enjoy. needless to say I do so for me it was a pleasant change. The shower however fell off the wall on night one and couldn't be repaired. The food was good on night one so we decided to book again for night two. Sadly although the management knew the hotel was full, and they were a chef down they still accepted walk in trade. Needless to say we waited 45 minutes for our starter. I spoke to a couple sat near me who had recently moved to the area and they said they would'nt return. I told them the food the night before had arrived quickly and was very good. I hope they do return as the staff were very nice and tried their best. If you like quirky then go but do expect Fawlty Towers . The surrounding areas are lovely and Ludlow worth a visit.

Room Tip: Old but quirky above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lil1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
9.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
20.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Property: The Crown At Hopton
Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing