We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown At Hopton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

just had a lovely weekend, Amanda , Ryan, and Tatiana do a fab job. In fact all the staff are good brilliant chef . Bit tired inside and out could do with sprucing up The manager will be very lucky to hang on to his staff give them a rise and a day off they deserve it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    329
    203
    90
    76
See reviews for
48
683
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and myself stayed at the Crown Inn in Hopton Shropshire for a couple of days in September. The room was clean and tidy, but very basic for a fee in excess of £100.00 a night for a double room. No complimentary toiletries, the bathroom carpet was very worn and grubby. There was a shower head in the bath, however, there was no shower curtain and as you were almost unable to stand up in the bath I think it was there for rinsing you hair possibly. There was a TV in the room, it looked like it was from the "eighties" and you needed binoculars if you wanted to watch it whilst in bed. We ate at the Crown Inn on the two nights we were there. The food was well presented and very tasty, including the caterpillar in my broccoli, I was given a replacement meal, however, I declined the new side plate of veg. I followed this with a sweet. At the end of the meal I was not charged for my main meal, however, I feel under the circumstances that the entire meal should have been complementary that evening. On the plus side I had a voucher for the two nights which cost me well below the asking price and there a some interesting attractions to see in the local towns and villages, especially the Castle in Ludlow, well worth a look.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms available first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Highlights: exemplary staff friendliness (especially the restaurant staff) which for us made up for pretty well all other shortcomings. Food was good enough to tempt us to eat in all three evenings of our stay and was (amongst our party of four) richly praised. Breakfast: unfussy, generous and very sustaining. High marks therefore to the kitchen staff too.

Whilst the roadside location means that it's not immune from some traffic noise (the locals seem to enjoy noisy motorbikes more than most) The Crown is not cramped, with good parking and clearly a lot of appeal to the local community, since the bar was busy throughout our stay.

Marks dropped not for cleanliness or amenities (though I've seldom seen a tinier TV) but really only for the size of (a) the bedroom and (b) the bed itself. Sleep quality, however measured, wasn't the stand out feature.

But book with confidence. Enjoy the stay. You can always catch on a bit of sleep once you're home again.

Room Tip: If the size of your bed matters to you, ask about that first. Choose your room accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hell-Ville, Antsiranana, Madagascar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

After not having a holiday or a break for 9 years I was so looking forward to a weekend away with my partner of 2 years, It was our first break away together & what a let down. Everything written by others its 100% true. Dirty disgusting place. Rude staff, poor set up & complete joke of a business. Manager was rude, aggressive, use bad language & had spent most of the night getting drunk at the bar - very professional. I only paid £80 for this break & what a waste, anyone who stays & pays the £220 has more money that sense. You'd have a better break sleeping or staying in a barn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We got a really good deal on mighty deals and had a two night stay with breakfast. We stayed in room 23 which is not part of the hotel but an annexe. It was more than adequate, though a bit dated and i didnt have a bedside table which was annoying and the mirrors in the room have clearly been put up by a man as applying make up and doing your hair required thought. The light above the mirror in the bathroom didnt work and the eco light bulb in the bedroom didnt throw off much light. The television didnt work and the bathroom extractor fan didnt work and neither did the towel radiator. So in my vain to be eco we didnt get the towels changed which meant that when we came back in the evening for a shower they were still damp. Not all that pleasant drying yourself with a damp towel. However, the shower was brilliant.

All in all the room was ok, i think i would be miffed if we had paid the full tariff for this room as it needs to go a long way before it can realistically start charging these prices and i guess why so many of the reviews are from people who have been able to secure a deal of some sort.

The great thing about the Crown is that the locals use it so there are a diverse range of people in the bar and restuarant and chatting to locals meant we picked up some handy tips of where to visit.

We ate in the resturant both nights and this is their forte the food is fab and at the right price. If the belly of pork and the creme brulee are on the menu than i cannot recommend this highly enough.

The staff were great and so helpful and cheery despite never seeming to go home. Amanda and Ryan are credits to the Crown and they clearly take their roles seriously and want guests to enjoy their stay.

We would definately stay again, if another deal came up, The Crown is in a beautiful part of England and the countryside is stunning. A visit to Ludlow is a must as is a visit to the Ludlow Food Centre, where all local produce is available. I just wish we could have bought more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just left this inn that we booked through Amazon Local so we were getting a good deal. We too were surprised by some of the negative reviews as Fern made as feel very welcomed and we found our room to be lovely and cosy with beamed ceilings and the food good value. However there is limited mobile signal and whilst they do have wifi it's only available on the ground floor. The only negative from us was in the bathroom there were cobwebs between the beams in the ceiling and also in the restaurant, pointing the Hoover upwards would be a good idea and there was a number of flies in the restaurant when we had breakfast and dinner. That aside all the staff were very friendly and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrosvenorFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Crown, Hopton Wafers. With us was our 5 month old puppy Harry and we stayed in room 23 in the cottage. It was on the ground floor and had a side door straight out into the garden which suited us very well. The decor was a little dated but the bathroom had been newly refurbished and everything was very clean.

We got a good deal through Amazon Local which was for two nights bed and breakfast & a three course dinner from the Early Bird menu on the first night, all for £99 which we thought was real value for money. We also had dinner there on the second night. The food was excellent. well presented, beautifully cooked and a diverse menu to choose from.

The staff were really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. It looked to us as if there had been a 'new broom' sweeping through the place, and it turned out we were right. Ryan & Amanda became managers three weeks ago and it's clear they have youth and enthusiasm on their side and have already made some positive changes.

Hopton Wafers is an ideal location for exploring Shropshire, which is reputed to be the last real farming county in the U.K. We visited the Severn Valley Railway, starting from Kidderminster, going through to Bridgnorth and back again, stopping off at Highley to visit the railway museum. We would have explored more, but Harry was taken ill which restricted our movements slightly.

Despite Harry's indisposition, we enjoyed our stay at the Crown and wish Ryan & Amanda the very best of luck in their endeavours. We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in the cottages suffer from noise from the floor above, as they are 'new buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyAndJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
9.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
20.6 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
24.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Property: The Crown At Hopton
Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing