We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm, great food and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here Friday 1st November 2013 after purchasing a wowcher deal, was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews. However, this Country Inn has lots of old world charm made even more lovely by the warm and friendly staff that work there. If you're expecting four or five star quality place then this is not for you but if you looking for a character getaway set in a nice location with yummy food then this is the place for you. The bedroom we stayed in was clean and basic, a little bit old and dated with a damp smell but perfectly fine for an evening or weekend getaway. The food, welcome and service was great. If you like it posh then this is not for you but of you are happy with old charm that has perfectly adequate accommodation then look no further. Overall not bad at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natsi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

After a shaky start of our two night break we were delighted with our choice.
The room we were originally given was a very small grubby room with a broken chest of drawers and three wire coat hangers. We asked for another room as it was not suitable for the two of us plus our dog. The receptionist didn't hold out much hope as they were full on one of the nights but said she would do her best. Ten minutes later she offered us a replacement room that was very good. It was much bigger, cleaner with all the facilities you would want in an Inn.
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant offered above average food with a wide choice of dishes and specials at reasonable prices. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful.
We will return but not to room 9 (our original room).

Room Tip: Avoid room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldandnackered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a wowcher voucher for the crown.We really enjoyed our stay.The staff were helpful and polite.We stayed in room no 7 it was very clean,with plenty of tea and coffee for our use.There was a good little bar downstairs were the locals also use so it was quite lively which was good,and we enjoyed out breakfast on the morning of our departure.The crown is situated on the A4117 between Ludlow and Cleobury Mortimer.We visited Ludlow before going to the Hotel and it was very good The shops were very individual with plenty of different gifts ideal for Christmas or special occasions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just arrived back from spending 3 nights at the Crown, after the first night there we wished we had booked the minimum of 2 nights. We paid £145 for 3 nights which included a meal on the first night. The information in the room stated the double rooms start from £125'''''''''''''''''''''''I was amazed at this as my own thoughts were we were overcharged at £50 a night even with the breakfast.
The entry was dirty, walls, doors and carpets and 2 very grubbier settees which I refused to sit down on.
The reception if that is what you could call it was a desk at the bottom of some stairs which had a dirty horrible blue carpet and a even dirtier red carpet up which led up the stairs.Where a Henry hoover had his home on the landing the 3 days we stayed.
Glass doors in the property were always full of finger marks.
The room was very basic a king size bed with limited pillows, broken furniture which was also stained and grubbie, dirty light shades,
The bathroom had no heating or heated towel rail in it, the shower only came on if you turned the hot tap on over the sink. there was no toilet brush to clean the inside of the pan. Just very basic things were missing from this "Hotel".
We ate on the first night as it was included, the meal was ok but not spectacular and decided we would not eat there again during the stay.
We found a fantastic Balti restaurant in the village in Cleobury Mortimer, about a mile away which was excellent value for money.
Breakfast was a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, full English or continental, tea coffee and fruit juices.
I asked for a poached egg and they said they didn't do poached eggs, I had just bought some poached egg bags from Aldi and nearly offered to go to my room and loan them one.
Sausages were uncooked and any extra requests such as black pudding were just ignored.
Most of the staff were friendly but the guy who was on this morning was the most miserable person I have ever met.
The dining room was cold and no heating was put on.
We purchase this through Wowcher and most of the other guests were there on a special offer as I doubt anyone in their right mind would pay the full price. I know the saying is you only get what you pay for but there are so many offers around I think they could have made a bit of an effort.
We will certainly not be saying or eating at the Crown again and I would not recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 618Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of October. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and spacious with period features. The food was wonderful. Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a warm and friendly greeting on our first arrival. The room was warm and cosy, complete with a Super King bed with a well appointed bathroom. Our deal included a first night meal and the choice was amazing and the food matched it, I had partridge that was cooked to perfection together with 9 vegetables. The food was so good and so reasonably priced despite driving out and about through our following 2 days we always went back to eat dinner and was not dissappointed on either night, it maintained its high standard. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Would recommend to anyone and will hopefully return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just arrived home after an excellent weekend break at the Crown. We dined in the restaurant on Saturday night and had an excellent meal. Staff are friendly and the room was lovely. We would certainly recommend it and hope to visit again next Summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
10.2 mi away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
913 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
944 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Price Range: £47 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing